We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great location - if you can get a deal”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good value and great location - if you can get a deal”
Reviewed 4 June 2009

We stayed at the Abode in Canterbury for two nights over a bank holiday weekend in early May. We had seen mixed reviews about the hotel but my brother who had been there for a wedding reception advised us to try it so we gave it a go. We were able to get a good deal on the stay by shopping around and we ended up with a deal that included a complimentary cooked breakfast. Things got off to a bad start when we tried to navigate to the hotel. Whilst the location of the hotel, slap bang in the center of Canterbury, is fantatstic, trying to drive there is a nightmare. Even with the help of Sat Nav this finding the hotel was no mean feat. On arriving at the hotel car park (eventually and with a few curses along the way) we found it full. A quick dash to the recption was required to get directions to a public car park. I guess this isn't the hotel's fault but they should do as much as they can to provide adequate information to guests about this "issue" to avoid guests having a pretty uncomfrtable experience navigating around the old, narrow, pedestrianised one way streets of Canterbury.

Check in was efficient and unproblematic. The room was small but big enough for what we required. I can see what other reviewers mean about the stained carpets. Cream probably seems like a poor choice for a hotel carpet. The room was clean and well furnished. TV reception was a bit hit and miss and the bathroom was a bit pokey. The air extractor in the bathroom was also exceptionally noisy.

We ate a late meal in the Tavern and this was very enjoyable. The staff were chatty and courteous and we would recommend a meal here. The cooked breakfast the following morning was nothing out of the ordinary. I wouldn't have fancied paying full whack for it but was happy to eat it as part of our hotel package. Had we been paying we would probably headed out for breakfast. On the second morning I had the corned beef hash which was disgusting. It was barely cooked and horribly stodgy.

The champagne bar was very good. A great selection of drinks and attentive service. The drinks are on the expensive side but when were champagne bars ever catering for the cheap end of the market?

Our room was at the back of the hotel and on the Friday night the noise from a nearby pub / club meant that it was very difficult to sleep. The single glazed windows don't help much here, neither did the fact that it wouldn't close proerly due to a broken catch.

The last comment about the room is that although it had "climate control" it was pretty uselesss. We had the air conditioning on the lowest setting and the room was still uncomfortably warm.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay here but would not recommend paying full price. Get yourself a deal and this hotel becomes better value.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikey_sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 9 June 2009
Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at the ABode. With regards the issues you had finding the hotel: I have amended our postcode under our map & direction information to give the postcode of the car park to assist guests with sat nav. As a standard we issue directional maps and address details to all guests that book direct with the hotel or via our website. I cannot comment on the information you may receive from 3rd party websites.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the Tavern and Champagne bar. I can confirm the comfort cooling in the room has been repaired. I am disappointed to read your comments relating to the corned beef hash which I have discussed with my executive chef.

Remember to look at our website for the best deals available!

I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards Declan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    543
    318
    179
    76
See reviews for
259
1,037
64
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Perfectly located in the heart of Canterbury - this is a light, stylish hotel.

We arrived at about 8pm - check -in was quick and the room did not disapoint - very clean, huge comfortable bed, sofa, lovely bathroom. Car parking is limited (as you would expect in a large historic city centre) however there is public parking just a few minutes walk away so don't be put off!

The room itself had a whole array of nice 'extra' touches - great filter coffee (no fiddly nescafe sachets!) dvd player, good selection of magazines...fresh flowers in the bathroom and truly comfortable bedding...

The only drawback was the breakfast. It was a Sunday bank holiday so I imagine it must have been busy - however we arrived 45 mins before the end and there was hardly anything on the buffet left....2 tiny pieces of cheese, a solitary bread roll and some pretty unappetising looking cereal...if you could locate a bowl to put it in. I've worked in catering myself so understand things can get pretty busy - however the staff were mostly hanging around looking glum and and didn't seem to appreciate that 1/2 a can of tinned pineapple and a slab of brie does not a continental buffet make. ...I'm afraid it just really took the edge of an otherwise good stay.

Otherwise this is a lovely hotel - would stay again but might pop out for breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou1533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 2 June 2009
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments. I am greatly concerned to read your comments with breakfast I can assure you that this is not indicative of the high standards of food and service we deliver at the hotel. I will discuss your comments with the team. If I can be of any further assistance please contact me directly. Regards Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harwich
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

It's an old County Coaching Hotel with a facelift, nothing wrong with that but it has a sense of self importance about it not really backed up with quality service. The Car Park issue is an annoyance but is balanced by the Hotel's excellent location. Room was small but OK, however the bathroom (and bath) were tiny, it was problematic turning round in it. The room was warm yet it was impossible to open the window as the catch was broken and the windows had been nailed shut !. Service in the Champagne Bar was slow however The Tavern food was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterharwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 19 May 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment I am disappointed to read the comments relating to slow service which I will share with my champagne bar manager. With regards the bedroom temperature all our rooms are fitted with comfort cooling to allow the guest to set their desired temperature. I am delighted you enjoyed your meal in the Old Brewery Tavern. Regards Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

The ABode is situated in the centre of Canterbury, ideal for exploring the sights of the city. However we found it initially difficult to find a nearby long stay car park and had to drag our cases through the busy shopping centre to the hotel.
I already considered the hotel pretty overpriced (145GBP per night, not including breakfast), and this was further confirmed on entering our second floor, which was large enough but had a strong musty/damp smell - we reported this to reception and presumably something was sprayed in the room and the smell temporarily disappeared. The major negative about the hotel was the lack of hot water - we complained to reception and were told they were attempting to fix it, although they told us there did not appear to be a problem with the boiler (we heard other guests speaking about the same problem). We did not have much choice since we left it late to book our Canterbury hotel, I wish I had booked elsewhere earlier!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunbornBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 19 May 2009
I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your recent stay, we did indeed experience a boiler problem that weekend. Please accept my apologies that you were not given the correct information at reception. Our contractors could not resolve the problem until new parts for the boilers were received which regrettably could not be sourced over the weekend. Thank you for your comments relating to the bedroom which I have resolved. We do have a small car park at the hotel should that be full you can check your bags in at reception prior to parking in the nearby 24 hr car park. If I can be of any further assistance please contact me directly at the hotel. Regards Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

I stay in hotels all over the country for work and this has easily been my WORST experience. I arrived to find no car parking spaces so had to pay for parking. Fine, ok I thought. These things happen. My first impressions were, nice modern hotel, until I got upstairs where clearly this is an old crumbling hotel which has been given a poor modern veneer. I arrived late so went straight to bed... All I could hear was a door sliding noise followed by a whizzing noise. I investigated and it was the lift, which I could hear ALL night, no matter what floor the lift was stopped at. I could hear the TV next door, I could hear every footstep above me and every word of people in the corridor. As I say, it's an old delapadated Hotel with a splash of modern decor. Due to the noise I didnt sleep a wink. I also could hear everything on the street (old single glazing windows). Then sunrise was met with 100's of noisey pigeons on my window sill.
I got up at 6am with breakfast ordered for 7am. After two phone calls I finally received my breakfast at 8.10am. No apology, not a word. The breakfast itself was a joke... one slice of bacon in a dry white role. Laughable!
I then take a shower and no hot water... it eventually came on after approx 6 mins.
My room was also awful. An old hotel room with TINY ensuite. The carpet looked as if it was NEVER cleaned, the TV had several stations not working and the iron didnt work. By this stage I was laughing to myself (either that or cry eh?). It just felt like Fawlty Towers on speed. To think I paid £120 per night for this absolute joke!!
I did complain and said that I was too busy to change hotel but that I wanted to move room due to the appalling noise. They said they had none available. I anjoyed another sleepless night. Abode Canterbury - THE WORST HOTEL I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED BY A MILE!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djanto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Stayed in this hotel as part of a package deal for my Mums 50th. For £165 we got a desirable room, bottle of champagne in room, 2 course meal and bottle wine in The Old Brewery Tavern, full English breakfast and massage treatment each. I don't think a written review will do this justice. It was AMAZING! Room was brilliant - beds were VERY comfy. Staff were very friendly and professional. Food was great. Location fab! I would certainly stay in this hotel again and I would like to try out the other Abode hotels too!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2009

Stayed here for 1 night whilst attending a family gathering at a nearby restaurant. Arrived just after 2 pm and had great difficulty finding the hotel let alone the car park, which was already full and had we been lucky enough to find a space would have had to pay for! Leaving the car outside on a yellow line had to dump the luggage in reception whilst then driving the car to a public car park and paying £7.50 for an overnight stay which was not what I would have expected to. Then had to walk back to hotel about half mile whilst my wife checked in.

Staff were very helpful and polite and had no problems with them however the room, for £145.00 per night, was expensive considering no breakfast was included and although modern in style looked like it needed some attention, carpets were deeply stained.

We had a light snack and a drink in the bar which was fine and in the morning opted for a continental breakfast but for £10.50 each was rather expensive.

For a one night stay it was o.k. but not brilliant considering the overall cost and the parking issues would I stay there again.........?

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J1myd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Property: ABode Canterbury
Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABode Canterbury is a stylish boutique hotel that has been beautifully designed and refurbished, maintaining the old wooden beams and traditional fabric of an ancient and historic building while adding contemporary design features and modern comforts, with understated British style. With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), Abode Canterbury is the perfect place to visit the city and enjoy the shops, historic sites and traditional architecture.There are 72 bedrooms, rated Comfortable, Desirable, Most Desirable, Enviable, Most Enviable and Fabulous. Bedrooms have been designed with a sense of luxury and relaxation so the guest can enjoy an ideal night's sleep, and wake up refreshed and rejuvenated. Bedrooms at all levels are well-equipped: trademark ABode features include Vi-Spring beds; luxury toiletries; personal DVD players and state-of-the-art LCD televisions. Some rooms have imaginative wet rooms and baths integrated into living areas; the Fabulous suite has a rooftop terrace with stunning views over the roofs of Canterbury across to the Cathedral.Michael Caines MBE and his talented team of chefs offer an incredible range of dining and drinking experiences, from superior room service or a drink in the stylish Champagne Bar to a pint and a pie or char-grilled fish or steak in the traditional Old Brewery Tavern. The Michael Caines Restaurant offers the ultimate dining experience, with delicious modern European cuisine accompanied by an exceptional wine list, served with professional yet not too formal style. ABode Canterbury is the ideal place for weddings, private parties, private dining and meetings, and any and all special occasions, whether for business or pleasure.We even have the facilities to make you feel absolutely fabulous. Why not join us for a workout in our well-equipped and comfortable residents' gym.ABode Canterbury, in the very heart of an ancient and historic city, is your home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing