We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, quite good hotel, excellent value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, quite good hotel, excellent value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2009

Hotel location is incredible. We loved Canterbury, and the hotel and its location are a good part of the reason. The hotel isn't as posh as the restaurant. Nor as clean; the carpet in our room (a 'desirable') was badly stained. Even so, we would gladly return. Very quiet. Excellent value. We tried one supper at pub, one breakfast at hotel. For breakfast, we preferred Boho's, which is nearly next door. Wish we could breakfast there every day. For a quiet moment, ask for directions to Greyfriar's Garden. Beautiful spot. We loved Canterbury area and plan to return, especially to wander around nearby villages. Loved garden at Gudnestone. We didn't have opportunity to eat at pub in the village there but would definitely like to.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fielding-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 26 October 2009
Thank you for your review. Regarding the carpets we are planning to change the carpets in the bedrooms in the first quarter of next year. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    525
    307
    174
    73
See reviews for
250
1,002
61
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

I had read many of the reviews for this hotel and was somewhat apprehensive about staying there. It's possible that people who have less than ideal experiences may post more, but it's incomprehensible to me that they are referring to the same facility I experienced. The location was perfect, the staff could not have been more warm, friendly or helpful and the room was lovely. It was spotless, including the carpet, and while the bathroom was small, it was more than adequate. The air conditioning worked well and I have no complaints about the quality of the bed or room amenities. Although the full Engish breakfast was included in my room rate, I chose to eat from the buffet. I enjoyed the fresh rolls, meats, cheese and the fruit compote. Prices in the restaurant were a bit more than I wished to pay, so walked a very short distance to the Old Weavers House and loved it. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryKayFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 26 October 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We do have an informal dining offer in our Old Brewery Tavern which you may want to try should you return to Canterbury. It champions local suppliers and real Kentish Ale! Best regards Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

My husband and I booked this hotel to attend our daughter's graduation from university, and we mistakenly booked one room, when we needed 2. Being graduation week, the city was booked solid, and they had no other rooms. The staff at Abode jumped through hoops to make space for us, rearranging furniture from another room to give us extra sleeping space. They even brought glasses of champagne to our room to start off the graduate's celebration, a very nice touch, considering how busy they all were with a packed hotel.
The room itself was really nice, I'm not sure which class it was, but the bed was comfortable, and we had plenty of space for four adults to prepare for the day.
I thought the staff here did a marvelous job of accomodating us under quite a bit of pressure, and when the mistake was ours and not theirs, they made it right for us. I highly recommend this hotel. :-)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbfrazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 26 October 2009
Thank you for your kind comments relating to the staff. I will share them with the team. I am glad you enjoyed the champagne. Best regards Declan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

Not only cozy and charming, very well located as well, the best street of the city
Nice & good sized roms, good breakfast, very helpful staff.
Worth.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 24 October 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your review I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

upon arrival the front of house receptionist was friendly, but for nearly £200 per night i at least expected my bags to be taken to the room. when entering the room i quickly realised our room, which was an "enviable junior suite" was nothing more than a basic room with en suite bath and wc, i checked the floor plan of the hotel and found our room was one of the smallest, nothing about it said "suite". but not prone to moaning we unpacked and noticed a wicker bowl with a range of 7-8 items such as crisps at 85p per bag (payable when leaving), what a cheap and nasty effect this gave an already overpriced room?
air conditioning was useless,and the secondary double glazing only allowed for half the window to be open to catch any breeze,
complimentary towelling robes were not used as they were as stiff as a board, complimentary slippers never materialised.and we expected a rather upmarket hip type bath "open plan" as in the adverts but instead got a bulk standard premier inn £29 per night type room , cant fault the location, on a lighter note i left the do not disturb sign on the outside of the door, so that my wife who has been very poorly could try and lay in, but then got a phone call from the house staff asking when they could do the room ? what a pointless exercise that was. champagne bar very nice, but we ate out as we thought the prices were stupidly expensive !! if i was staying longer i would have without doubt got this room changed to a bigger one ( i actually believe that this was not actually an enviable suite) i was going to take the top floor garden suite (nearly £400 per night) but it was taken at the time of booking, very pleased i didnt as i dont think this hotel justifies the expensive prices of its rooms. cant fault the staff but i had a word with them about the room and they already knew as it was not the first time they had heard the comments i gave,

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank malwoodColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

We stayed at the Abode for 2 nights from 23rd June. We were not told when booking that there were different grades of rooms so we booked a basic 'Comfortable' This was very basic for a 4 star hotel not as good as Premier Inn & the carpet was filthy, soiled all over with black marks & coffee stains & there was only one chair.. Storage facilities were poor & the safe was bolted to the floor which meant you had to kneel down. There was nowhere to put your own toiletries in the bathroom which was small.
We too were asked for our pin number for preauthorisation but not told how much for. When we paid the bill we had been charged for a better room & £400 had been preauthorised which we complained about & were told this was standard practice & it should not show on our account. Don't bother with breakfast. We went in just before 9.00am. They had run out of croissants & cold meats. When we asked we were told they would ask the chef. We were told there wasn't anymore ham. I asked for 2 bananas. We were brought the " chef''s last one"! We walked out. We had planned to dine there that night but cancelled following this experience. The reception staff were pleasant & helpful & the parking reasonablly priced at £5 per night but very few spaces. We would not return.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 25 August 2009
Thank you for your review. I am pleased I had the opportunity to discuss your stay with you prior to your departure.
With regards the carpet as discussed the carpets are not filthy, the carpet within your room is stained. I have the carpets cleaned on a regular basis but regrettably the stain within your bedroom cannot be removed. We are planning to change our bedroom carpets very shortly.

As we discussed it is our practice to preauthorise your credit card on check in for the amount of the accommodation plus an additional charge for any extras you may charge to your room. I apologise for the £20 your where overcharged. I am disappointed to read your comments relating to breakfast that morning breakfast had been exceptionally busy when you arrived we were in the process of replenishing the breakfast buffet this should have been explained to you and I apologise that this did not occur. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me. Regards Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

We stayed here last night as we had a concert to attend at nearby Kings School. The hotel is conveniently located for the school and for all the historic areas of Canterbury and is adequate for a short stay.

We had an 'Enviable' category room which is one of the best rooms. It was comfortable enough and made an attempt at looking stylish but the overall effect looked a bit cheap. It had terrible looking double glazing and a view over a roof into another room.

The main feature of the room was a large bathroom area with the sink and a freestanding bath on a raised area off the bedroom with a toilet and shower room in a separate room. A flaw in design meant that the toilet light could not be turned on without turning on the lights in the rest of the bathroom so I was woken up in the night when my husband had to turn on all the lights just to use the toilet.

My main issue with this hotel was the service and the lack of interest from the staff. The hotel advertises itself as having a car park which is a bonus given there is limited car parking in Canterbury. Despite indicating in my booking that I would require a car parking space, when I telephoned from the car a few minutes before arrival to check where the car park was I was told it was full and directed to a public car park some distance away. No apology was offered. Valet parking was not available nor was there anywhere to drop of the bags before parking the car.

The front desk staff were not particularly welcoming (it was too much trouble for them even to smile) and did not create a good first impression. When I handed over my credit card at check-in, I was asked to enter my PIN number into the machine without any indication as to the amount I was being asked to authorise. I was assured that I was pre-authorising £235 (the room rate of £185 plus £50 for 'extras') but there was nothing that showed this. When I checked out and paid my bill in full I asked for the pre-authorisation slip back as the hotel had no further need for this. This was only handed over after a lengthy debate.

I had to give up waiting for the directions that I asked for as the person dealing with my request turned away to help several other guests in the middle of serving me.

Breakfast was fine for £6 per head for a full English but was nothing special.

In summary, this hotel is absolutely fine for visting the historic city of Canterbury (where there is limited good quality accomodation) but don't expect too much. In my opinion it is a good 3* rather than a 4* hotel. At £185 per night (so nearly London prices) they should work on the service / front of house aspects.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoLo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 25 July 2009
Thank you for your recent review. With regards the car park, as we only have11 car parking spaces we are unable to reserve any spaces for our guests in advance, we do inform our guests this when booking but are unable to advise guests should they book via an agent or 3rd party website. When the car park is full our concierge does offer to take guests luggage prior to the guests parking at rosemary lane car park.

I am disappointed with your comments relating to reception and can assure you this is not indicative of the very high standards of hospitality we consistently deliver at the front desk. We do preauthorise all credit cards prior to check in and explain to the guest the charge as the card is being authorised. I apologise that the slip was not returned quickly when requested. If I can be of any further assistance please contact me at the hotel. Regards Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Property: ABode Canterbury
Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABode Canterbury is a stylish boutique hotel that has been beautifully designed and refurbished, maintaining the old wooden beams and traditional fabric of an ancient and historic building while adding contemporary design features and modern comforts, with understated British style. With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), Abode Canterbury is the perfect place to visit the city and enjoy the shops, historic sites and traditional architecture.There are 72 bedrooms, rated Comfortable, Desirable, Most Desirable, Enviable, Most Enviable and Fabulous. Bedrooms have been designed with a sense of luxury and relaxation so the guest can enjoy an ideal night's sleep, and wake up refreshed and rejuvenated. Bedrooms at all levels are well-equipped: trademark ABode features include Vi-Spring beds; luxury toiletries; personal DVD players and state-of-the-art LCD televisions. Some rooms have imaginative wet rooms and baths integrated into living areas; the Fabulous suite has a rooftop terrace with stunning views over the roofs of Canterbury across to the Cathedral.Michael Caines MBE and his talented team of chefs offer an incredible range of dining and drinking experiences, from superior room service or a drink in the stylish Champagne Bar to a pint and a pie or char-grilled fish or steak in the traditional Old Brewery Tavern. The Michael Caines Restaurant offers the ultimate dining experience, with delicious modern European cuisine accompanied by an exceptional wine list, served with professional yet not too formal style. ABode Canterbury is the ideal place for weddings, private parties, private dining and meetings, and any and all special occasions, whether for business or pleasure.We even have the facilities to make you feel absolutely fabulous. Why not join us for a workout in our well-equipped and comfortable residents' gym.ABode Canterbury, in the very heart of an ancient and historic city, is your home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing