We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ABode Canterbury
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Pilgrims Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Castle House Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Victoria Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,164)
Filter reviews
2,164 results
Traveller rating
852
630
385
202
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
852
630
385
202
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne barhigh streetenviable roomdesirable roomtuck boxcar parklovely hotelstandard roomcentral locationsat navfront of houseexcellent locationone night staycentre of towneggs benedictlovely rooma lovely stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,981 - 1,986 of 2,164 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Our stay at Abode Canterbury had all the right ingredients for a superb weekend but one single element ruined it for us. Rather than allow emotion to get the better of me I will state the facts. Room OK (Enviable) but not exactly a suite - sofa was close enough to the TV to rest one's legs on top of it. Bath was lush. Shower superb. Views - rubbish. Bed - huge and comfortable. Restaurant - the only reason we stayed here and the jewel of the hotel. The best resturant we've visited in Kent and we only live 20-miles up the road so wish we'd never stayed the night.......

Our overnight stay was ruined by the hotel allowing a resident with obvious problems take up long term residency (~3-months). Our night was spoiled by the resident of our neighbouring room waking us up early on the Sunday morning with shouting, swearing, spitting and noises akin to someone being assaulted. On ringing reception it appeared this resident's behaviour was well known as she had been resident for a number of months and was "loopy". On checking out, the full picture regarding this resident became apparent as the check-in desk staff were only too willing to inform us of the difficulties they faced with the resident in question along with many details. They provided us with an immediate £35 discount which we accepted (less than 10% of our total bill for one night).

On writing to the Manager Mr [-], who appears ever present on TripAdvisor, we received a reply over a week later stating he was satisfied with the <10% reduction which incidentally matched our room rate to that of the troubled neighbouring guest (rate as informed by reception). A second letter resulted in a further £15 reduction on the bill giving a £50 reduction on a bill approaching £400. A letter to the Ops Director of the hotel chain went ignored.

It's sad that Premier Travelinn can offer a good night's sleep guarantee or your money back but a hotel charging £200-00 per night fails to get anywhere near that. We will not be returning and will not recommend. Mr [-] should spend less time on TripAdvisor patting himself on the back and more time ensuring his hotel matches the superb resturant he hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freedonkeyrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2010

Thank you for your comments. I am unable to make comment on your views relating to another guest as I explained in previous letters to you. I do have to say that I would not allow a guest who was disruptive to stay within the hotel.

I am disappointed to read your personal comments relating to me, I do view TripAdvisor as in important communication tool and will continue to respond to all guest feedback.

Regards

Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We stayed in the Adobe last week for a wedding we had in Canterbury. Great little hotel in the centre of Canterbury. You couldn't ask for a better location. The hotel was lovely, although our room was a little pokey and small. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom clean and modern.

If i was to come back Canterbury, I would definitely think about staying in the Abode again. But at c.£150 a night, it is quite steep and would expect more amenities and larger rooms for this price. But a lovely hotel all the same.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misslcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2010

Thank you for posting your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Best regards Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Nice old building with beams right in the centre of Canterbury. The interior has been tastefully modernised. Very pleasant reception, restaurant and bar areas.
As it was low season we were upgraded to a suite at the front of the hotel which had trendy wooden floors, flat screen tv and a large comfortable bed. The rooms seem to vary a lot as another room we saw looked rather tired.
We got a really good value winter package rate which included a two course meal with wine (NB not in main restaurant) and full English breakfast. A complimentary basket of drinks and snacks was thrown in with the suite.
One or two other reviewers have mentioned noise issues. All I can say is that on a cold Tuesday night in winter, the town centre was deserted so this was not a problem for us. Staff were friendly and helpful.
It's only fair to point out that the room upgrade contributed significantly towards my positive impression of this hotel. Having said that, I would choose this hotel again if I returned to Canterbury at a future date.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buenasvacaciones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2010

Thank you for posting your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the complimentary upgrade! We do offer a sheer indulgence package which includes dinner in the restaurant, with a glass of champagne and flowers. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Despite the fact that the Abode car park is tiny, always full and that its hard to find the only road into the back streets to the rear. This hotel is very well located. (unfortunately we drove down the high street itself only to meet a dead end)!
The Cathedral and shops are right there literally on the doorstep.You are spoit for choice for dining and bars which are all a small walk back to the Abode.
Handy on a bitterly cold night but here lies the disadvantage of being so close to the nightlife. Noise!
If it kept us awake till 2AM on such a cold Friday night, what must it be like in mid summer?
Hordes of drunken youth in seemingly syncronished waves swept passed us (we were on the 2nd floor) every 15 mins or so.
Having sampled the cocktails (Monkey Shoulder)? in the relaxing Champange Bar downstairs you would have expected this not to have bothered our sleep but sadly it did.
Our Elegance rated room was just that.
Pity LCD TV's havent been installed yet though but the DVD player proved handy for playing our music cd's. The lighting was excellent and a welcome warmth in the air. Soft giant size bed with big fluffy pillows.
What was going on with the designer of the bathroom?
A clear glass door to the loo? This must be a man without a partner methinks!
Big stand alone bath and big shower room size if not that powerful a shower itself.
Staff were friendly. Caines (no its not him) was pleasnt for Breakfast . We had a 50% discount voucher and wished we had used it for dinner perhaps.
All in all recomnded if you can get a room not overlooking the high street.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diamondgeeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2010

Thank you for posting your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Best regards

Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

This is the second time we stayed here within 4 months, 1st time in dec 09, had comfort room (cheapest) bathroom very small but overall very nice room at the front overlooking town etc. This time, spent more, upgraded to enviable room which was huge, had double bath and walk in shower, HUGE bed, but at back of hotel looking at a brick wall, windows did not open and very very noisy at night. Lots of unexplainable crashing and banging around, (beware if you are under a posh room, they have wooden floors and you can hear every footstep) Having said all that, i would def go back, but i would just get a comfort room. Champagne Bar is fantastic, breakfast very nice (not so good for us as we are vegan, but if you are too get room only rate and get breakfast at the veggie/vegan cafe behind the hotel) Great location, 1 minute outside the hotel door you are in the thick of canterbury shops and pubs etc.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuitcaseStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2010

Thank you for posting your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews