We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service with staff who did everything they could to help make your stay enjoyable”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service with staff who did everything they could to help make your stay enjoyable”
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Very good value for money hotel. From the moment we stepped inside, the staff were so helpful. Excellent location for staying in the centre of Canterbury, with the added luxury of parking available. Very good choice of breakfasts, and good champagne bar in hotel. For those who don't want to eat in the hotel, the hotel is ideally located for dining out in the evening. Would definately recomment this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tefalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 29 May 2010
Thank you for kind comments relating to the team. I am delighted you had a wonderful stay.

Best regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    563
    326
    182
    79
See reviews for
273
1,073
65
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the ABode hotel. The room was modern and very pleasant, quiet with a large bathroom and lovely toiletries. We had a lovely drink in the stylish bar and breakfast was in the wonderful restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 29 May 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review. I am delighted you had a wonderful stay.

Best regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scaftworth
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

stayed for one night late april. Excellent location in central area. staff very helpful. Room excellent

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidrboyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 29 May 2010
Thank you for your positive review I am delighted you had a great stay.

Best regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Our stay at Abode Canterbury had all the right ingredients for a superb weekend but one single element ruined it for us. Rather than allow emotion to get the better of me I will state the facts. Room OK (Enviable) but not exactly a suite - sofa was close enough to the TV to rest one's legs on top of it. Bath was lush. Shower superb. Views - rubbish. Bed - huge and comfortable. Restaurant - the only reason we stayed here and the jewel of the hotel. The best resturant we've visited in Kent and we only live 20-miles up the road so wish we'd never stayed the night.......

Our overnight stay was ruined by the hotel allowing a resident with obvious problems take up long term residency (~3-months). Our night was spoiled by the resident of our neighbouring room waking us up early on the Sunday morning with shouting, swearing, spitting and noises akin to someone being assaulted. On ringing reception it appeared this resident's behaviour was well known as she had been resident for a number of months and was "loopy". On checking out, the full picture regarding this resident became apparent as the check-in desk staff were only too willing to inform us of the difficulties they faced with the resident in question along with many details. They provided us with an immediate £35 discount which we accepted (less than 10% of our total bill for one night).

On writing to the Manager Mr [-], who appears ever present on TripAdvisor, we received a reply over a week later stating he was satisfied with the <10% reduction which incidentally matched our room rate to that of the troubled neighbouring guest (rate as informed by reception). A second letter resulted in a further £15 reduction on the bill giving a £50 reduction on a bill approaching £400. A letter to the Ops Director of the hotel chain went ignored.

It's sad that Premier Travelinn can offer a good night's sleep guarantee or your money back but a hotel charging £200-00 per night fails to get anywhere near that. We will not be returning and will not recommend. Mr [-] should spend less time on TripAdvisor patting himself on the back and more time ensuring his hotel matches the superb resturant he hosts.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freedonkeyrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 1 May 2010
Thank you for your comments. I am unable to make comment on your views relating to another guest as I explained in previous letters to you. I do have to say that I would not allow a guest who was disruptive to stay within the hotel.

I am disappointed to read your personal comments relating to me, I do view TripAdvisor as in important communication tool and will continue to respond to all guest feedback.

Regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We stayed in the Adobe last week for a wedding we had in Canterbury. Great little hotel in the centre of Canterbury. You couldn't ask for a better location. The hotel was lovely, although our room was a little pokey and small. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom clean and modern.

If i was to come back Canterbury, I would definitely think about staying in the Abode again. But at c.£150 a night, it is quite steep and would expect more amenities and larger rooms for this price. But a lovely hotel all the same.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misslcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 1 May 2010
Thank you for posting your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Best regards Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Nice old building with beams right in the centre of Canterbury. The interior has been tastefully modernised. Very pleasant reception, restaurant and bar areas.
As it was low season we were upgraded to a suite at the front of the hotel which had trendy wooden floors, flat screen tv and a large comfortable bed. The rooms seem to vary a lot as another room we saw looked rather tired.
We got a really good value winter package rate which included a two course meal with wine (NB not in main restaurant) and full English breakfast. A complimentary basket of drinks and snacks was thrown in with the suite.
One or two other reviewers have mentioned noise issues. All I can say is that on a cold Tuesday night in winter, the town centre was deserted so this was not a problem for us. Staff were friendly and helpful.
It's only fair to point out that the room upgrade contributed significantly towards my positive impression of this hotel. Having said that, I would choose this hotel again if I returned to Canterbury at a future date.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buenasvacaciones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 6 March 2010
Thank you for posting your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the complimentary upgrade! We do offer a sheer indulgence package which includes dinner in the restaurant, with a glass of champagne and flowers. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funky town
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Despite the fact that the Abode car park is tiny, always full and that its hard to find the only road into the back streets to the rear. This hotel is very well located. (unfortunately we drove down the high street itself only to meet a dead end)!
The Cathedral and shops are right there literally on the doorstep.You are spoit for choice for dining and bars which are all a small walk back to the Abode.
Handy on a bitterly cold night but here lies the disadvantage of being so close to the nightlife. Noise!
If it kept us awake till 2AM on such a cold Friday night, what must it be like in mid summer?
Hordes of drunken youth in seemingly syncronished waves swept passed us (we were on the 2nd floor) every 15 mins or so.
Having sampled the cocktails (Monkey Shoulder)? in the relaxing Champange Bar downstairs you would have expected this not to have bothered our sleep but sadly it did.
Our Elegance rated room was just that.
Pity LCD TV's havent been installed yet though but the DVD player proved handy for playing our music cd's. The lighting was excellent and a welcome warmth in the air. Soft giant size bed with big fluffy pillows.
What was going on with the designer of the bathroom?
A clear glass door to the loo? This must be a man without a partner methinks!
Big stand alone bath and big shower room size if not that powerful a shower itself.
Staff were friendly. Caines (no its not him) was pleasnt for Breakfast . We had a 50% discount voucher and wished we had used it for dinner perhaps.
All in all recomnded if you can get a room not overlooking the high street.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diamondgeeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 6 March 2010
Thank you for posting your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Best regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
275 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.1 mi away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Property: ABode Canterbury
Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), ABode Canterbury is the perfect base to explore this historic city. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy fine dining in The County Restaurant, contemporary pub food in the The Old Brewery Tavern, or relax with a drink in hand in our Champagne Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing