We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£109
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
No prepayment needed
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
robinplatten35

Wonderful stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Jul 2021
Price reflects the hotel very high standards but first class
Never stayed at a hotel like this before and we where made to feel at home and not at all out of place
Seen the hotel many times on previous visits and fullfilled a dream
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Barker, General Manager at Abode Canterbury, responded to this review
Responded 26 Jul 2021
Dear robinplatten35

Thank you for taking the trouble to share such a beautiful and heartfelt review.
Our team do an exceptional job of taking care of our guests and treat each one with kindness and try wherever and whenever possible to exceed their expectations. I am throughly delighted that they made such a long standing impression.
Please do not leave it too long before returning to spend another evening with us.

With very best wishes and kind regards
Simon Barker
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£121
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £121
0.1 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Room service
Tripadvisor
£101
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £101
0.1 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£123
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.2 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Tripadvisor
£160
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £160
0.2 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Exterior
Tripadvisor
£94
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.7 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£163
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £163
2.2 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£88
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £88
7.4 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre
PremierInn.com
£46
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Agoda.com
0.4 miles from Abode Canterbury
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £95
  • Expedia.com
    £104
0.2 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • HIExpress.com
    £76
  • Expedia.com
    £76
  • Hotels.com
2.9 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Canterbury
Reviews (3,310)
Filter reviews
3,311 results
Traveller rating
1,383
912
561
298
157
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,383
912
561
298
157
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne bar high street enviable room desirable room car park lovely hotel central location excellent location centre of town one night stay enjoyable stay afternoon tea a lovely stay cooked breakfast old building full english parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
521 - 526 of 3,311 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2021 via mobile

We arrived at reception and was welcomed by an extremely friendly young man we later found out to be named Radu. We checked in and was able to pull up next to hotel to off load our bags before parking at a council car park about 5-6 minute walk away. A negative is the hotel has its own car park but is only big enough for 13 cars so it is 1st come 1st served basis and is £18 per day/night. We didn’t even bother to try to get on it as we knew we would most of the time be out all day sightseeing and it would be full by the time we got back. It was fine and wouldn’t put us off using the hotel again. It is a lovely hotel in an excellent position right in the centre of Canterbury only a few minutes walk from the Cathedral which is stunning and well worth visiting . We used the hotel for visiting Kent never having been here before. It was easy to get to most places in Kent which we did over several days of staying here. The breakfast was good and although there was a menu they would try and do other requests not listed. We stopped on a B&B basis. The room was a good size and adequate bathroom although on the small size but fine, good shower over bath. We had an issue with the air conditioning but was sorted once we reported it and also a bulb in the bathroom had gone which they also replaced promptly. There is a nice bar but unfortunately not beer on tap , all bottled so as my partner is a Guinness drinker we have given 4/5 for this reason and also parking which may be a problem for some people.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Susanelaine53
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Barker, General Manager at Abode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2021

Dear Susanelaine53

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had such a great stay enjoying all that the great city of Canterbury has to offer. We have purposely avoided providing draught beers and lagers as it is an opportunity that allows us to stand out amongst the many pubs and bars across the city. I am sorry that this may have slightly left your husband disappointed but hope that you enjoyed the delightful ambience of our Champagne Bar. Regarding parking, none of the city centre hotels have any degree of car parking but the city council provide many pay and display facilities for all visiting guests.

Hope to be able to welcome you back again Susanelaine53.

With kind regards
Simon Barker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2021 via mobile

Myself & my husband stayed the 10th of July for our anniversary and we had an amazing stay! Our room was upgraded we even had balloons in the room saying happy anniversary!
The gentleman on the desk who checked us in and out (he had a accent) was so helpful and friendly he made us feel so welcome & also the lady in the breakfast hall with dark was lovely too!
The food was delicious and the bar in the evening was beautiful.
Couldn’t recommend enough & we will definitely be returning! X

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Companion43253313609
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Barker, General Manager at Abode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2021

Dear Companion43253313609

Thank you so much for sharing such a glorious review of your anniversary stay. Our team will be delighted with your comments regarding their service and attention to detail. Thank you for taking the trouble to highlight these qualities. It means a great deal to the team in these very trying times.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

With very best wishes
Simon Barker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2021

The hotel was well located.in central Canterbury. Unfortunately no parking was available for us and we had to use a public one not too far away, Spacious room, good amenities, attentive staff, very good food apart from 1 breakfast.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank surreyshredding
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Barker, General Manager at Abode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2021

Dear surreyshredding

Thank you for your very positive review of your recent stay with us.
I hope that we can be of service to you again the next time that you visit Canterbury.

With kind regards
Simon Barker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2021

The location is excellent in the very center, there is everything you need nearby. Very close to all the city's attractions. Everything is within walking distance.
There are no complaints about the service personnel at all. They do their job professionally and efficiently.
We got a good room, very clean. The score is definitely above average!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jevgenij R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Barker, General Manager at Abode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Dear Jevgenij R

Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us. I shall take great pleasure in sharing your delightful comments with my entire team who worl so tirelessly to provide a great stay experience for our guests. Thank you for recognising their efforts in your review.
I hope to be able to welcome you back to the ABode Canterbury very soon.

With very best wishes
Simon Barker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2021

Beds were comfy and staff were nice but everything else was awful very little complimentary stuff even have to pay for water which isn’t chilled and in a carton, Sainsbury’s is next door. Someone came into our room at 8am that wasn’t us so lock your door if you stay.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ascott643300
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Barker, General Manager at Abode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2021

Dear ascott643300

Thank you for your review. I apologise if you felt we lacked on complimentary items. We provide tea, coffee and biscuits which are on a try in your wardrobe. The tuck box items are all chargeable and there if you need the service. As a relatively new General Manager to the ABode, I am discussing the water offering with my direct reports to see if a change can be made to current company policy. I am unsure of your comment relating to someone entering your room at 8am. This may have been a member of our housekeeping team, believing that you had departed but we would always announce ourselves before entering any room.
I do hope that you consider using us again when next in Canterbury.

With kind regards
Simon Barker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews