We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£91
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
Hotels.com
£91
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£85
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 Jun
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
proger950318

Underwhelming

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Jul 2021
The location and area was great and the entry hall and restaurant really felt luxurious but the moment I walked in the room I was extremely disappointed. Very basic and dated and certainly NOT worth the hundreds of pounds it cost to stay there per night. To then have to pay additional 20 per day for parking that is a 5 min walk away is a bit much on top of what is already an expensive hotel. Not worth the money in my opinion.
Date of stay: July 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Barker, General Manager at Abode Canterbury, responded to this review
Responded 28 Jul 2021
Dear proger950318

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you found our bedroom product underwhelming. As a relatively new General Manager to the ABode property, I have been visiting each and every bedroom to understand how best we can meet the expectations of our guests and have some ideas how we can achieve this.
I am sorry that you thought having to use a city centre car park was an inconvenience but I hope that you allow us the opportunity to be of service again and be in a position to make amends. I am sure that like many, many reviewers prior to you, our team can exceed your expectations.

With kind regards
Simon Barker
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£92
  • Hotels.com
    £100
  • Expedia.com
    £100
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
£104
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £104
  • Expedia.com
    £112
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£101
  • Hotels.com
    £101
  • Tripadvisor
    £101
  • Hampton
0.1 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£117
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £127
  • Agoda.com
    £90
  • Expedia.com
    £127
0.2 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£250
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £250
  • Expedia.com
    £250
  • Tripadvisor
    £250
0.2 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Exterior
Booking.com
£71
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £84
  • Expedia.com
    £84
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Free parking
Travelodge
£35
  • Vio.com
  • Algotels
  • Lol.travel
0.3 miles from Abode Canterbury
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£125
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £163
  • Expedia.com
    £163
  • Priceline
2.2 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£141
  • Hotels.com
    £170
  • Expedia.com
    £170
  • Priceline
7.4 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Free parking
PremierInn.com
£46
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
  • Algotels
0.4 miles from Abode Canterbury
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Canterbury
Reviews (3,312)
Filter reviews
3,313 results
Traveller rating
1,385
912
561
298
157
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,385
912
561
298
157
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne bar high street enviable room desirable room car park lovely hotel central location excellent location centre of town one night stay enjoyable stay afternoon tea a lovely stay cooked breakfast old building full english parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
519 - 524 of 3,313 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2021

Great position. Great staff. Spotlessly clean. Excellent bar and restaurant. Superb potential.Let down by room decor and bathroom layout. Youthful and enthusiastic staff. The 'desirable' room was not desirable. It was just depressing to enter - good bed but that is all. Bath/shower arrangement in our room was to my mind dangerous. Solid glass screen meant that you had to stand in the slippery area at the end of the bath both to get under the shower and get out of bath. Still have bruise to prove the point. To show my age - very commercial traveller chic.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Barker, General Manager at Abode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2021

Dear John P

Thank you for sharing your review. I shall certainly look into your observations regarding your bedroom. I am sorry that the room layout slightly marred the enjoyment of your stay. I will though, take great pleasure in sharing your superb feedback of the team. That was very kind of you and will mean a great deal to the team.

I hope to see you back again.
With kind regards
Simon Barker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2021 via mobile

Thos is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The rooms are amazing and the staff are all very friendly and can not do enough for you. Andre, Radu, Josh, Rachael, Johnathan, Laura, Tom, Sonia, Ryan and all the other staff are so amazing they make the whole experience at The Abode worth while. Simon the manager is very friendly and accommodating. The food is out of this world. The beds are very comfortable, always get a great night sleep.
Can not recommend this hotel enough.

Room tip: Nothing bad at all to say about this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Scenic05822686085
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Barker, General Manager at Abode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2021

Dear Scenic05822686085

Thank you for sharing such a fabulous review and for even including me in it! You get extra brownie points for that one. I sincerely appreciate the fact that you have taken the trouble to point out so many of the team, who are doing an amazing job in these very difficult times. It will mean a great deal to them. Thank you Scenic05822686085.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
With very best wishes
Simon Barker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2021

We used to live opposite the hotel, so knew it when called The County Hotel, many moons ago. Our stay at Abode was superb from beginning to end. The location could not be any better, in the middle of the shops , pubs and restaurants, pretty quiet just now without as many tourists..We were thankful for the air con in our room and the mattress was really good. The staff , without exception, all made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived. Our deal,including breakfast and evening meal, was definitely worth doing . Beautiful Villeroy and Boch crockery for meals, waiter service and yet not too formal, they have the balance just right. The evening meal was WONDERFUL every course beautifully presented like a masterpiece. One of the best meals I have had for years. The amuse-bouches all added to make the meal total perfection The building is hundreds of years old and so it's an experience to dine there and feel part of the history of this wonderful city. We shall definitely return. Definitely recommend.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kimnphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Barker, General Manager at Abode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2021

Dear kimnphill

Thank you for sharing such a tremenous review of your recent stay. It is such a pleasure to know that we have still managed to exceed your expectations despite it being some years since your last visit. I am particularly pleased that the team have all stood out in making your return such a memorable experience.
We all certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

With grateful thanks and very best wishes
Simon Barker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2021

Price reflects the hotel very high standards but first class
Never stayed at a hotel like this before and we where made to feel at home and not at all out of place
Seen the hotel many times on previous visits and fullfilled a dream

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robinplatten35
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Barker, General Manager at Abode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2021

Dear robinplatten35

Thank you for taking the trouble to share such a beautiful and heartfelt review.
Our team do an exceptional job of taking care of our guests and treat each one with kindness and try wherever and whenever possible to exceed their expectations. I am throughly delighted that they made such a long standing impression.
Please do not leave it too long before returning to spend another evening with us.

With very best wishes and kind regards
Simon Barker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2021 via mobile

We arrived at reception and was welcomed by an extremely friendly young man we later found out to be named Radu. We checked in and was able to pull up next to hotel to off load our bags before parking at a council car park about 5-6 minute walk away. A negative is the hotel has its own car park but is only big enough for 13 cars so it is 1st come 1st served basis and is £18 per day/night. We didn’t even bother to try to get on it as we knew we would most of the time be out all day sightseeing and it would be full by the time we got back. It was fine and wouldn’t put us off using the hotel again. It is a lovely hotel in an excellent position right in the centre of Canterbury only a few minutes walk from the Cathedral which is stunning and well worth visiting . We used the hotel for visiting Kent never having been here before. It was easy to get to most places in Kent which we did over several days of staying here. The breakfast was good and although there was a menu they would try and do other requests not listed. We stopped on a B&B basis. The room was a good size and adequate bathroom although on the small size but fine, good shower over bath. We had an issue with the air conditioning but was sorted once we reported it and also a bulb in the bathroom had gone which they also replaced promptly. There is a nice bar but unfortunately not beer on tap , all bottled so as my partner is a Guinness drinker we have given 4/5 for this reason and also parking which may be a problem for some people.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Susanelaine53
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Barker, General Manager at Abode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2021

Dear Susanelaine53

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had such a great stay enjoying all that the great city of Canterbury has to offer. We have purposely avoided providing draught beers and lagers as it is an opportunity that allows us to stand out amongst the many pubs and bars across the city. I am sorry that this may have slightly left your husband disappointed but hope that you enjoyed the delightful ambience of our Champagne Bar. Regarding parking, none of the city centre hotels have any degree of car parking but the city council provide many pay and display facilities for all visiting guests.

Hope to be able to welcome you back again Susanelaine53.

With kind regards
Simon Barker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews