We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
SURREY
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
Reviewed 16 November 2010

I picked this hotel as My son is at Kent University and didn't want to drive back to London after taking him out for lunch. We booked the £ 99.00 room, dinner in the tavern and english breakfast. Which seemed like a good deal.

On arrival at the hotel on Sunday lunchtime, the reception area was extremely busy, however our wait was not too long and I found the reception staff to be incredibly helpful, friendly and efficient, we left our bags at reception and went for a drink in the champagne bar before having lunch in Michael Caine's restaurant.

Lunch was very good value at £ 20.00 per head for three courses, the portions are very small but delicious and it was ample for me. I found all of the restaurant staff to be equally as proffessional as reception.

After lunch we went to our room to change before walking around a rain soaked Canterbury and found that our bags had been dropped off for us.
The room was clean and comfortable and perfectly adequate although the bathroom was a little on thr cramped side.

The two course evening meal in the Tavern was simple well cooked pub fayre all cooked very well and again service was friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was very nice and check out was also a pleasant experience.

The only negative I had was being charged £ 5.00 for a parking spot, when you are spending what was in the end nearly £ 300.00 for a night in a hotel, itseems harsh to be charged for parking in a car park that the hotel own. I have only ever come across that at Heathrow Airport or central London when the hotel doesn't have it's own car park.

Apart from that I was happy with our stay and thought the staff to be the Hotel's real asset.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HERSHAMBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 11 December 2010
Thank you taking the time to post your review, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and pleased that you enjoyed both lunch and dinner within the restaurant and Old Brewery Tavern. Best regards Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    563
    326
    182
    79
See reviews for
273
1,073
65
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We have stayed at the Abode Canterbury a number of times but this was the first time we had managed to get one of their special price deals. For £99 we had B&B and a two course meal in the Tavern.

Directly on the high street, the location is superb. If you are shopping it is so easy to return to the room and get rid of the bags or take a break and put your feet up. The Cathedral and other sights are a few minutes walk away. The standard rooms are fine, nothing special but clean and well appointed. The heating was a bit difficult to regulate with air blowing directly onto the bed and it can be a bit noisy (street sounds and neighbours if you are unlucky) We found the staff friendly and helpful though the cooked breakfast did take a long time to arrive. That said there was a large selection of cold and hot items and when the English breakfast arrived it was very good.

We enjoyed our meal in the Tavern. We had a choice of 2 courses from a fixed menu and a bottle of wine. Not all the mains were available as it had been a busy weekend but we still ate well.

We visit Canterbury fairly regularly and prefer the Abode to the other hotels we have tried. If you can get one of their regular deals it is great value as well.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MugoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 11 December 2010
Thank you taking the time to post your review, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for your kind comments relating to the team. We have special promotional prices available throughout the year it is always best to check our website for availability or call the hotel direct. Best regards Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW UK
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Daughter still at Uni in Canterbury so we are regular visitors. Abode was up to the usual standard but we choose a cheaper pacjage this time and the best deal was with Asda travel which was the cheapest deal at £117 incl Breakfast for a standard double room. We have previously stayed in the more expensive rooms which are v nice but this time we choose a double which was very comfortable. We were in a room on the front which overlooked the main street and it was noisy early sat morning when the clubs chucked out but this is a central hotel and not unexpected. Breakfast was excellent and overall a very good stay. Parking is the usual hassle as only a few spaces and first come first get a space. Overall we will return again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter51964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 11 December 2010
Thank you taking the time to post your review, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay. Best regards Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Pros - Ideal location; excellent reception/porter staff; great bar/staff, good food
Cons - Stained carpets in the rooms; automatic flush opertated at he most inopportune moment! - Wafer thin walls in rooms led to a poor night's sleep. Discourteous restaturant staff. A restaurant management culture problem originating from the restaurant manager himself, who needs a very big lesson in customer service. Decent customer service pays your wages and brings back customers! You just lost eight plus their recommendations. 30 minutes to deliver a pot of tea, "not hotel policy to allow tables to be moved to allow friends to sit together (contrary to reception staff agreement to request). Not worthy of four stars, or even two for that matter - not acceptable for a £100 plus/night hotel. A shame, this was supposed to be the icing on the cake for a twenty year university anniversary reunion, which was spoiled by an unfriendly restaurant experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_denbigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
Thank you for your kind comments relating to the team. We did change 30 carpets in June and July this year and plan a soft refurbishment in January at which time we will replace the remaining carpets.
I can assure you their was no cultural problem within the restaurant on the Sunday morning, your request for a table of 8 was not possible as we did not have the requisite number of tables available as it was during the busiest period within the breakfast service you wished to dine.
Its very disappointing that you did not enjoy your breakfast, in order that we do not disappoint future guests who wish a large table we now advise that tables of 8 or more can only be taken at 8.30am on a Sunday to ensure the guests can be accommodated.
Best regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Firstly I should say that if you want a hotel that is slap-bang in the middle of Canterbury, and you don't mind paying a premium for the location, then maybe this is the hotel for you.

If, however, you believe that paying well over £100 a night for a hotel room suggests the hotel should reach a certain standard, then look elsewhere.

Actually, the hotel itself (excluding the rooms) probably does reach this standard. The hotel is clean and modern throughout, staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good quality (though the portion sizes are stingy: think starter in a smart restaurant both in terms of size and quality).

But the rooms are simply not of a high enough standard to justify the price. Our first night was spent in a "comfortable" room. The bed was not at all comfortable (soft and lumpy), and the soundproofing poor. Our room faced a nightclub which closed at 2am, and a market which was set up at 6am meaning we got hardly any sleep. Neither of these are the hotel's fault, but my point is that I've stayed in Travelodges next major roads that have been quieter.

The reception staff, to their credit, took our complaints the next day seriously (possibly because they were aired in front of other paying customers) and moved us to a "desirable" room (no extra charge) that faced an inner courtyard. The room was much quieter, but I still felt it was not value for money even though I paid only the standard rate. For £150 a night you expect a decent shower (this produced a tiny trickle of water) and better toiletries (e.g. shower gel and shampoo, not a 2-in1 bottle). Yes, the latter is a very small point, but isn't it the small points that make the difference?

I wish I had saved the money and stayed in a generic budget hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan65536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry that you did not feel the stay value for money. Our beds are hand made vi-spring beds soft by design. The toiletries are bespoke to ABode and produced by Arran aromatics.

We do take all comments from guests extremely seriously I am pleased the reception team were able to assist you.

Best regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flintshire
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

stayed 2 nights on the hot summer nights deal.found hotel ok with the correct post code on the sat nav.nice gentleman opened the garage for us to park our car.he turned out to be the manager who like all the rest of the staff was very friendly and efficient..this guy runs a good team and a good hotel.first night we ate in the tavern and the meal well exceeded our expectations.breakfast was exceptionally good and was included in our package but would still be great value with the half price vouchers they dish out.second night we ate in michael caines and had table d' hote at £25 for 3 courses.absolutely divine.we have eaten several times at M C in chester and the food is always superb.the lunch grazing menu ,the early bird or the table d'hote are super ways of enjoying exquisite food at reasonable prices.only downer bathroom small. scrap bath put in walk in showers in the cheaper rooms and move the pesky door stop .how many times can you bang your toes in 2 nights.to sum up this is a great old hotel superbly modernized in a fantastic position in canterbury with the aded bonus of excellent managememt and staff.well done everyone .keep it up

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritchieFlintshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2010

First, the good news. The hotel is very centrally located. It is a nice-looking hotel: clean, modern decor. There is a champagne bar and restaurant on the ground floor. We stayed in one of the more expensive rooms as a treat. On entering the room, you get that nice excited feeling - the room was large with a big bed, a sofa, and a decent bathroom.

However, we experienced some problems during our stay. That is not to say that everybody would necessarily have the same experience but the way the problems were dealt with by the hotel were equally bad.

First of all, we had planned to watch the England match in the room. By a cruel twist of fate, the channel that the match was on (ITV) did not work. All the other channels did. I called reception, and was told I would get a call back. After fifteen minutes of not hearing anything, I called again and spoke to someone else who explained there was a problem with their sky box which she thought had been resolved a week ago. She said she would look into it. The problem was not fixed during our two night stay.

This was only a minor problem but I don't think the hotel did anything to fix it. How hard can it be?

We also had an issue with the bathroom. First of all, there is no door to the bathroom. The toilet, bizarrely, is in a transparent glass enclosure within the bathroom. This is sort of a cool feature although my wife was not impressed with the lack of privacy.

The shower was appalling. It ran at a gentle dribble and was stone cold. Turning the temperature up was a slight improvement although this affected the power even further. So you could have luke warm and weak or cold and slightly less weak. We mentioned it after the first night but nothing was done about it. We were told that "it was probably because the hotel is full". That explains it then - you can't have a shower because there are other people in the hotel!

That brings me onto the final complaint which was the reception staff. They were all very young and seemed inexperienced at customer service. They did not resolve any of our complaints, although on check-out they did knock £20 off the bill. My favourite line was when the receptionist was explaining to the customer in front of us why a credit card had to be taken at the outset: "it is in case you leave without paying which, you know, could happen"!

Given the amount we had paid for one of the "enviable" rooms, I was not impressed with the (admittedly minor) problems and the way they were dealt with. I would not recommend the hotel to a friend unless the customer service has improved.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edcracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
275 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.1 mi away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#9 of 16 in Canterbury
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Property: ABode Canterbury
Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), ABode Canterbury is the perfect base to explore this historic city. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy fine dining in The County Restaurant, contemporary pub food in the The Old Brewery Tavern, or relax with a drink in hand in our Champagne Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing