We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reputation Proved... not good reading!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Reputation Proved... not good reading!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

Well where do you start for your £170 a night, dirty room, threadbare carpet, but I will say beds are very comfortable. Once you have cleared your mind from the superficial chintz of the reception and main bar you get to see really just how bad this place really is. Poor finishing of all surfaces, especially in the bathrooms. Over the years this place has always had a reputation of shocking service by people who really have no idea how to look after people. My visit proved this with bar staff who "forget" you ordered and drink and serve someone else. You have a duty manager who thinks he is always right and when questioned over a few issues could offer no apology as he truly believed he was correct. The staff in teh brewery tavern decided to have a 20 minute break on new years eve just before midnight...!! Apparently its the "Abode" way... its lazy and unprofessional.


In a nutshell, its a tired old carthorse trying to be a racehorse... Its certainly charging racehorse money. The staff dont really have any idea and are not comfortable with people but they can take your money. I would recommend this place as a very last resort as you will get similar service and standards from hotels half the price in the city. So do yourself a favour and go elswhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjw073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 19 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I cannot agree with your observations relating to the style, décor or finish within the hotel and I am extremely surprised and very disappointed with your statement relating to the service.

We did close the bar in the Old Brewery Tavern from 11.55 for 10 minutes to allow the staff a short break and a glass of champagne at midnight. This was communicated via the DJ on numerous occasions to make sure all our guests were aware.

We set our room rates according to demand and as the demand for accommodation on New Years Eve was high guests were charged full price, our rates do change daily from £99.

Best regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    537
    315
    178
    75
See reviews for
255
1,028
62
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights 2 weeks ago on the indulgence package in a "desireable" room. Came to visit daughter who is studying at Canterbury Christchurch and hotel was a short 5 minute walk away. Very comfortable room overlooking the High Street, though I thought the bathroom could have been decorated better (white tiles with dirty looking grouting). We were very lucky and managed to secure a parking space which made a big difference to our stay. Reception staff were marvellous, very efficient and friendly, and some of the best I have encountered. Enjoyed our complimentary champagne in the bar and then had dinner in the restaurant. Dinner was ok,but very small portions which suited me, but left the men wanting more. Service was not very good, not everybodys meal turned up at the same time and I waited 5 minutes after others had been served. Left feeling somewhat disappointed with the meal. Had the same feeling about breakfast. Service was shambolic at times and the portions tiny. Overall I really liked the hotel and the reception staff more than made up for the service in the restaurant. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyMabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 22 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the wonderful feedback relating to the front office team. I am sorry for errors in the service and I have discussed your feedback with the restaurant manager and executive chef. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

I went with my boyfriend a couple of weeks ago for an anniversary break. He paid £260 for a night BUT this included a 2 complimentary glasses of champagne on arrival, a la carte 3 course dinner, and a gorgeous bunch of flowers.
Our room was amazing, situated on the corner of the hotel, it had windows in both directions, grogeous en suit bathroom with a free standing bath and the biggest bed I'd ever seen! The room in general was very big with a lovely selection of free snacks and mini auderves to nibble on. Our dinner was dilicious and our breakfast was brought to our room the following morning.
The only "problems" were
1) The shower did take awhile to heat up,
2) Being a sat night the street was busy and even our double glazing windows couldnt cut out all the noice from the street
3) the wrong main course was bought for me but we got a free glass of wine each to compensate.
Overall though we had a lovely time and the above points had very small affect on what was a fantastic hotel. We will deff be returning if in canterbury again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicadiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 22 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the sheer indulgence package.

Best regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SURREY
Level Contributor
143 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

I picked this hotel as My son is at Kent University and didn't want to drive back to London after taking him out for lunch. We booked the £ 99.00 room, dinner in the tavern and english breakfast. Which seemed like a good deal.

On arrival at the hotel on Sunday lunchtime, the reception area was extremely busy, however our wait was not too long and I found the reception staff to be incredibly helpful, friendly and efficient, we left our bags at reception and went for a drink in the champagne bar before having lunch in Michael Caine's restaurant.

Lunch was very good value at £ 20.00 per head for three courses, the portions are very small but delicious and it was ample for me. I found all of the restaurant staff to be equally as proffessional as reception.

After lunch we went to our room to change before walking around a rain soaked Canterbury and found that our bags had been dropped off for us.
The room was clean and comfortable and perfectly adequate although the bathroom was a little on thr cramped side.

The two course evening meal in the Tavern was simple well cooked pub fayre all cooked very well and again service was friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was very nice and check out was also a pleasant experience.

The only negative I had was being charged £ 5.00 for a parking spot, when you are spending what was in the end nearly £ 300.00 for a night in a hotel, itseems harsh to be charged for parking in a car park that the hotel own. I have only ever come across that at Heathrow Airport or central London when the hotel doesn't have it's own car park.

Apart from that I was happy with our stay and thought the staff to be the Hotel's real asset.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HERSHAMBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 11 December 2010
Thank you taking the time to post your review, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and pleased that you enjoyed both lunch and dinner within the restaurant and Old Brewery Tavern. Best regards Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

We have stayed at the Abode Canterbury a number of times but this was the first time we had managed to get one of their special price deals. For £99 we had B&B and a two course meal in the Tavern.

Directly on the high street, the location is superb. If you are shopping it is so easy to return to the room and get rid of the bags or take a break and put your feet up. The Cathedral and other sights are a few minutes walk away. The standard rooms are fine, nothing special but clean and well appointed. The heating was a bit difficult to regulate with air blowing directly onto the bed and it can be a bit noisy (street sounds and neighbours if you are unlucky) We found the staff friendly and helpful though the cooked breakfast did take a long time to arrive. That said there was a large selection of cold and hot items and when the English breakfast arrived it was very good.

We enjoyed our meal in the Tavern. We had a choice of 2 courses from a fixed menu and a bottle of wine. Not all the mains were available as it had been a busy weekend but we still ate well.

We visit Canterbury fairly regularly and prefer the Abode to the other hotels we have tried. If you can get one of their regular deals it is great value as well.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MugoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 11 December 2010
Thank you taking the time to post your review, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for your kind comments relating to the team. We have special promotional prices available throughout the year it is always best to check our website for availability or call the hotel direct. Best regards Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW UK
Level Contributor
189 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

Daughter still at Uni in Canterbury so we are regular visitors. Abode was up to the usual standard but we choose a cheaper pacjage this time and the best deal was with Asda travel which was the cheapest deal at £117 incl Breakfast for a standard double room. We have previously stayed in the more expensive rooms which are v nice but this time we choose a double which was very comfortable. We were in a room on the front which overlooked the main street and it was noisy early sat morning when the clubs chucked out but this is a central hotel and not unexpected. Breakfast was excellent and overall a very good stay. Parking is the usual hassle as only a few spaces and first come first get a space. Overall we will return again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter51964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 11 December 2010
Thank you taking the time to post your review, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay. Best regards Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

Pros - Ideal location; excellent reception/porter staff; great bar/staff, good food
Cons - Stained carpets in the rooms; automatic flush opertated at he most inopportune moment! - Wafer thin walls in rooms led to a poor night's sleep. Discourteous restaturant staff. A restaurant management culture problem originating from the restaurant manager himself, who needs a very big lesson in customer service. Decent customer service pays your wages and brings back customers! You just lost eight plus their recommendations. 30 minutes to deliver a pot of tea, "not hotel policy to allow tables to be moved to allow friends to sit together (contrary to reception staff agreement to request). Not worthy of four stars, or even two for that matter - not acceptable for a £100 plus/night hotel. A shame, this was supposed to be the icing on the cake for a twenty year university anniversary reunion, which was spoiled by an unfriendly restaurant experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_denbigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
Thank you for your kind comments relating to the team. We did change 30 carpets in June and July this year and plan a soft refurbishment in January at which time we will replace the remaining carpets.
I can assure you their was no cultural problem within the restaurant on the Sunday morning, your request for a table of 8 was not possible as we did not have the requisite number of tables available as it was during the busiest period within the breakfast service you wished to dine.
Its very disappointing that you did not enjoy your breakfast, in order that we do not disappoint future guests who wish a large table we now advise that tables of 8 or more can only be taken at 8.30am on a Sunday to ensure the guests can be accommodated.
Best regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Property: ABode Canterbury
Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABode Canterbury is a stylish boutique hotel that has been beautifully designed and refurbished, maintaining the old wooden beams and traditional fabric of an ancient and historic building while adding contemporary design features and modern comforts, with understated British style. With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), Abode Canterbury is the perfect place to visit the city and enjoy the shops, historic sites and traditional architecture.There are 72 bedrooms, rated Comfortable, Desirable, Most Desirable, Enviable, Most Enviable and Fabulous. Bedrooms have been designed with a sense of luxury and relaxation so the guest can enjoy an ideal night's sleep, and wake up refreshed and rejuvenated. Bedrooms at all levels are well-equipped: trademark ABode features include Vi-Spring beds; luxury toiletries; personal DVD players and state-of-the-art LCD televisions. Some rooms have imaginative wet rooms and baths integrated into living areas; the Fabulous suite has a rooftop terrace with stunning views over the roofs of Canterbury across to the Cathedral.Michael Caines MBE and his talented team of chefs offer an incredible range of dining and drinking experiences, from superior room service or a drink in the stylish Champagne Bar to a pint and a pie or char-grilled fish or steak in the traditional Old Brewery Tavern. The Michael Caines Restaurant offers the ultimate dining experience, with delicious modern European cuisine accompanied by an exceptional wine list, served with professional yet not too formal style. ABode Canterbury is the ideal place for weddings, private parties, private dining and meetings, and any and all special occasions, whether for business or pleasure.We even have the facilities to make you feel absolutely fabulous. Why not join us for a workout in our well-equipped and comfortable residents' gym.ABode Canterbury, in the very heart of an ancient and historic city, is your home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing