We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£109
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
No prepayment needed
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Natasha White

Luxurious stay at a wonderful hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
My Mum and I absolutely loved ABode Canterbury, and have no negative feedback or complaints at all. It has the feel of a luxurious 5* hotel, whilst still being reasonable. Location is ideal for everything there is to do in Canterbury, situated in the middle of the pedestrianised high street but still quiet. Really impressed by the food in the restaurant, lots of options for vegans and vegetarians which was a bonus too. Rooms were amazing, really clean, lots of amenities/extras, stylish but all individual and very comfortable beds! We were upgraded because we booked directly through the hotel website. All the staff were so welcoming, friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to our next stay!
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Barker, General Manager at Abode Canterbury, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear A3138BDnatashaw

Thank you for sharing such a glowing review of your recent stay with your mum at the ABode. The team will be delighted when they read your wonderful testimonial and we certainly look forward to having you stay with us again in the very near future.
You are so welcome and thank you again for submitting such a glorious review.

With very best wishes
Simon Barker
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£121
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £121
0.1 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Room service
Tripadvisor
£101
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £101
0.1 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£123
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.2 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Tripadvisor
£160
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £160
0.2 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
£163
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £163
2.2 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£81
  • Expedia.com
    £88
  • Hotels.com
    £88
  • Priceline
7.4 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre
PremierInn.com
£46
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Agoda.com
0.4 miles from Abode Canterbury
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £96
  • Expedia.com
    £104
0.2 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £93
  • Algotels
0.7 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • HIExpress.com
    £76
  • Expedia.com
    £76
  • Hotels.com
2.9 miles from Abode Canterbury
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Canterbury
Reviews (3,310)
Filter reviews
3,311 results
Traveller rating
1,383
912
561
298
157
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,383
912
561
298
157
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne bar high street enviable room desirable room car park lovely hotel central location excellent location centre of town one night stay enjoyable stay afternoon tea a lovely stay cooked breakfast old building full english parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 3,311 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked for my parents 55th Wedding Anniversary following a theatre trip to the Marlowe. On booking the receptionist asked if it was for a special occasion. When told what it was for he made no promises but said he would make a note and upgrade the room if possible.
Room was upgraded and a lovely welcome basket of snacks and chocolates was waiting. Very large bed and comfortable room. Also a lovely hand printed card to my parent’s congratulating them both - lovely touch.
Next morning a great breakfast was had and they both left very happy. For what I think is probably the best hotel in the centre of Canterbury the price was very reasonable and the service excellent.
Definitely recommend.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Deanquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Barker, General Manager at Abode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Deanquinn

So many thanks for your superb review of your parents recent 55th wedding anniversary stay at the ABode.
Thank you for highlighting the attention to detail that the team went to to ensure that your parents had a stay worthy of such a magnificent occasion. Our team wish them every happiness for the past and even more years to follow. Tremendous milestone.

Do pop in again when you are next in the city.
It willl be a pleasure to be of service to you all again.

Very best wishes
Simon Barker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2024 via mobile

Only had cocktails here prior to seeing The Full Monty but a lovely bar area and very nice staff. Would thoroughly recommend if staying over in Canterbury. Also barman didn’t expect credit card to be left when we popped outside which is a nice touch in this day and age

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Trek42181443345
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Barker, General Manager at Abode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Trek42181443345

Thank you for taking the trouble to complete a review of your recent visit to the ABode. I shall take great pleasure in sharing your delightful observations with my entire team so that they can see that their efforts are being appreciated by our guests. It makes such a difference for them. Thank you.
Hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards
Simon Barker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2024

A lovely hotel to stay at. Top quality throughout. The staff are friendly, taking the time to chat and get to know their guests.
We had the tapas as our evening meal. It was excellent and very filling. Again, the restaurant staff took time to chat and made sure everything was as it should be.
Breakfast was exceptional. Cooked to order. While you wait, warm croissants and toast are brought to your table. That was a really, really nice touch.
The bar is lovely. However, to my astonishment, they don't do draft beer. What there is, is also expensive. And so, after one drink, we left to enjoy one of the many pubs nearby.
I would definitely recommend this hotel. The standard is first class. But I'm sure the bar would be far more successful if they introduced draft beers at reasonable prices and removed the service charge.
Anyway, thank you to the staff for a wonderful stay.

Room tip: The hotel has a very small car park around the corner. Time your stay to arrive between 11:00 and 12:00 to maximise your chance of a space
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Barker, General Manager at Abode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2024

Dear JohnM584

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the ABode. I shall share your comments with my entire team who will be thrilled with your observations. Our beverage prices have been recently adjusted and provide even greater parity with the city centre. The bar is a wonderful venue in which to sit.
Hope to see you again very soon.

Very best wishes
Simon Barker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2024

First time at the revamped Abode restaurant. Although we're going to miss the lovely beef wellington they used to do this menu is much better. The menu has a selection of delicious dishes which are served when ready . We really enjoyed our selection, particularly the trio of mini burgers, the halloumi & chia seed fries, roasted octopus & the scrumptious chocolate gnocchi.
I look forward to returning & trying a few other dishes.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinum1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Barker, General Manager at Abode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Dear vinum1920

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your superb review of our NEW restaurant concept - Brasserie Abode. It was only launched a few short weeks ago but we have been receiving rave reviews from our guests who, like yourself, prefer the new offering.

Looking forward to seeing you again very soon to try some new dishes. Although the mini burgers are superb (and by the way, they go great with the Truffle & Pecorino chips) you must try the Pearl Barley Ragout and the Smoked & Scottish Salmon Tartare - absolute stunners!

With very best wishes
Simon Barker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2024 via mobile

Great Easter break very welcoming staff,
We arrived early and our rooms were not ready left our luggage and went off for Easter lunch, on our rooms checked in and pleasantly surprised how lovely the rooms were both facing the front and clean and bright,
Dinner was included for our first night so went down at about 7.30 for drinks and champagne bar was great excellent staff great cocktails, we went through for dinner and staff were very friendly and efficient, food was small plates which although were well cooked nothing was really hot.
Breakfast both mornings were good but again nothing was hot even the porridge lukewarm .
Overall excellent stay great staff, great bar, and definitely stay again but will probably not eat in the restaurant.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank FoodtasterFoodtaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Barker, General Manager at Abode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Dear FoodtasterFoodtaster

Thank you for taking the trouble to leave your feedback on your recent visit to the ABode Canterbury. It is greatly appreciated. I do apologise that your food experiences fell short of our usual high levels of service delivery. I have already shared your comment with my Executive head chef and asked that he discusses your observations with his team. They will want to correct this very quickly.

I do hope that you will try us again and dine in our new restaurant.
Hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards
Simon Barker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews