We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap cafe!”
Review of Panteli's

Panteli's
Ranked #128 of 369 Restaurants in Canterbury
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
North Cyprus
Level Contributor
345 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Cheap cafe!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have eaten cafe food here before and it has always been adequate. Today we just stopped for a couple of coffees and take a seat outside in the sun. A latte (large) and a Cappuccino (large) at £1.75 each or £1.40 for a small this place is much cheaper than the places on the main "drag". They have quite an extensive menu of cafe food, including things like egg on toast for £1.80. Their fish and chips are very good. Cod, chips and peas are £4.60.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magwii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    24
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best breakfast”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I've had any number of breakfasts in cafes and carvery type places.
but this was probably one of the best, £6.35 gets you 3x tomato halves, 1 saus, 1 bacon, mushrooms, beans, fried egg, 2 rounds of toast and tea/coffee
you can get more for you money in a carvery granted, but not the quality, surprisingly the bacon was not only smokey bacon, but crispy!! just how i like it!
everything was freshly cooked and delicious.
Note this is a proper cafe, it's diy there is no table service

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McRatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Level Contributor
619 reviews
352 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips Hit The Spot!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We ate here with a tour group before touring The Canterbury Cathedral. We had the fish and chips with apple pie. The food was pretty good although we felt a bit rushed. Not because of anything that the restaurant did, but because we were excited to get to the cathedral and we were on a schedule. We ended up taking the apple pie with us. They have pretty good local beers but no draughts or cask ales. We experienced great service and the staff was friendly. Not a bad place, but not as classic as a pub. The food was good. Perhaps we needed more time to eat and see the cathedral which I noted upon my review of the tour. Good family dining.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Piseu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for fish and chips”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were on a tour of the Canterbury Cathedral and our tour guide suggested this place.  We had the fish and chips with the apple pie. This place was very quaint and family owned. The fish and chips were crunchy and flaky. A good choice for someone looking for a quick bite with the down home feel.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kuku25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal
Level Contributor
141 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Predictable over the years but I keep returning!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Panteli's is a 160 seat café run by second generation of Greek Cypriots. It is close to the main street so gets a lot of passing trade. Open from 7am-4pm except Sundays, with a lesser used waitress service upstairs. You can run up a bill with home made soup, Steak pie and vegetables and the best sweets (up to £4.50) with Solleys real Kentish ice cream. Wines, beer and spirits are available on both floors, but most downstairs opt for beverages, or perhaps Kentish apple juice. There is a page of 35 snacks on the menu including sandwiches, a breakfast menu and a child's menu. I cannot comment on the chips, but had a choice of boiled or roast potatoes. The fresh cream trifles are a regular feature. Cooked meals are announced by tannoy for you to collect, elderly disabled excepted. The same standard maintained over many years .Can be busy in tourist season which begins in January and ends on New Years eve!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panteli's also viewed

Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to Panteli's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing