We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Greyfriars Chapel and Franciscan Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.93*
and up
45-Minute Punting Tour in Canterbury
Ranked #21 of 108 things to do in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Tricky to find if you don't know how to get there but at least that means it doesn't get too packed! We went on a sunny day which always helps but this is a lovely garden with beautiful flowers. It is very peaceful and in a lovely setting with the river and the chapel. Try it, you will like it, there is a nice coffee shop near the bridge as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SazzaTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    51
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A little hard to find but worth the journey
Lovely garden area on a little canal
Prison room very interesting

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ReluctantReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1,035 reviews
882 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 588 helpful votes
“I "FOUND" IT!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Traveling SOLO has its advantage - I was able to go/ visit other attractions most Group Tours do not generally go. While walking towards the Canterbury Heritage Museum, I saw the sign in a small alley about this Garden. Not seeing anyone walking in its direction and not knowing how far it is from the main road, I decided to visit the Canterbury Heritage Museum first. After my museum visit, I asked my questions to the Museum Staff who highly recommended that I should proceed and see it.

The short walk from the Museum to the Greyfriars' House and Garden took about 3-5 minutes. As I crossed the short bridge, I saw the ducks swimming in the river, noted the beautiful flowers in the Garden, and then the old Chapel. There is an altar on second floor for those wanting to say their prayers.

I'm glad that I "found" the Greyfriars Chapel and Garden. It's so quiet and peaceful there, felt like I was in a farm, away from the "busyness" and noise of the tourists/crowd.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaGo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely tranquil place”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This little garden is very tucked away, it is a lovely tranquil space in the busy city. The chapel was sadly closed while I was there. There are no information boards to expand your visit, just lots of lovely space, roses and calm

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very peaceful space”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Very peaceful space amid the noise and bustle of Canterbury. The Chapel is only open from 2 - 4 but the gardens are open daily. Access to the island site is not obvious off Stour Street..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ROG44_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greyfriars Chapel and Franciscan Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Greyfriars Chapel and Franciscan Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing