We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent independent pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bell & Crown

Bell & Crown
Ranked #139 of 364 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
canterbury UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent independent pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Very cosy in the winter, but also outside seating at the front for those warmer days, which is actually onto one of the nicer side shopping streets of Canterbury. Good selection of beers and can get busy of an evening so really vibrant atmosphere at times although not rowdy like some city centre pubs can be.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank justin4772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My New Local!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

My husband and I went into the Bell & Crown after our normal local changed hands and lost all it's charm and we wasn't disappointed! This is a proper English pub that has a lovely atmosphere where you could easily waste away the hours!! They also have real Ales and fab wine, which is the perfect combination for us hence this will now be our local!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Whenever we go to Canterbury this Pub isn't only our meeting point, but also a very nice place to be. Friendly staff, great beers and ciders. The food was good too, nothing fancy, but good honest food. We def are coming back in summer.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneHeslinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect English pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Had a lovely meal with my boyfriend plus a couple of beers each. Very reasonably prices, my ham and eggs was basic food but tasted divine! The barman Nathan was born to be a publican. Great banter hilarious manner. In all a very enjoyable lunch time. Will most definately be going back sometime.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PumpkinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great quirky pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Busy oddly shaped pub. Great beer - I've never eaten there. Nice open fire in winter. Outside tables in summer. Return often.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bell & Crown also viewed

 

Been to Bell & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing