We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good selection and fairly priced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CJ's

CJ's
Ranked #168 of 361 Restaurants in Canterbury
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good selection and fairly priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I go here quite often, there is a good selection of sandwiches, baguettes, jacket potatoes and drinks. In the Winter it's cosy with heat lamps and magazines inside and in the Summer there's a small amount of outdoor seating in the street or you can takeaway.
They also accept the tastecard which is great and gives you 50% off, for the quality of the food and service this is really great value!
Worth a visit for something quick, tasty and easy!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Curlybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    30
    10
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Had a nice stop here. Good quality coffee and tasty flapjack. Nice laid back environment to feed my baby.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daisy_d1p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice grub, but expensive.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I feel compelled to write this because, whilst having the option of artisan sandwiches is great, paying £20 for three (with crisps and cans of drink) is not fantastic.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DickSizemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stale Baguette - No Butter - Overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I went to CJ's to grab a baguette and was shocked that it cost me £10.00 for two cans of lilt and two sweet chilli chicken baguettes. I got back to work to tuck in to find there was no butter on the baguette (I wasn't even asked I wanted any) and that the bread was stale. Not impressed. Certainly will not be going back to this place, there are far better and cheaper places to get a great baguette and for a better price!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great quality food & chilled setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Ate in at CJ's for the first time yesterday. It looked appealing from the outside- very casual and with decor that has a sense of originality. There was a choice of baguettes, sandwiches and hot potatoes and you could pick a filling and accompany it with a broad selection of salad and relish. I ordered a prawn cocktail baguette with various salad items and it was truly delicious. The baguette tasted home baked, the salad was crisp and the prawns tasted fresh. Although this place is a little more expensive than other sandwich shops you have to remember that it's not Subway, you are getting fresh homemade quality food. I upgraded my baguette to a meal deal which in total cost £5.50 and included a drink and a snack. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful in offering suggestions for my baguette filling and even offering items which were not on display. I also noted that the staff were very hygienic with frequent use of sanitiser between handling different foods.
I would definitely eat here again and would recommend it to all my friends, this place is a little gem.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemmykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CJ's also viewed

Canterbury, Kent
 
Canterbury, Kent
Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to CJ's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing