We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful woodland walks.”

RSPB Reserve Blean Woods
Ranked #41 of 109 things to do in Canterbury
Attraction details
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful woodland walks.”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We visited Blean Woods today and enjoyed a very peaceful
Walk in the woods. There were spring flowers in bloom including primroses, wood anemone and marsh marigolds. The sun was shining, the paths were not too muddy and there was a chorus of bird song. It was a lovely visit and we even saw a green woodpecker fly across the path in front of us. We walked the well signed red trail, but would like to go back to walk the longer (8 mile) black trail.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely walk”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Sadly we only saw 2 pigeons when we went! Having said that, the lack of wildlife was really not an issue as we followed the 7 mile marked route and it was a lovely walk in a beautiful and very varied woodland. It was lovely

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AKBHCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overgrown and unkempt”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We did the whole Blean 25 mile circular walk over a weekend. We had great weather which was a bonus but maybe it was the weather that caused the growth of all the brambles and nettles along the way. In parts the path was squeezed in between a hedge and a e.g. a fenced off sports pitch and there was a fair bit of bushwhacking / skin stinging & scratching. Parts of the path seemed unused, unkempt, unmaintained. Surprisingly for a waymarked path, I felt obliged to use my map and compass on a very regular basis which is fine for me but others might have difficulties. There was a locked gate on part of the indicated route (where it joined the North Downs Way by a communal orchard) forcing us to climb over it p, very strange. The Blean Walk brochure was very informative and was a great help for my planning of accommodation / food stops etc.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kwosimodo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
286 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Peaceful place to be...”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I felt safe, being a long way from home!
Hugging trees and walking miles, great for adventures with little ones and teenagers, soooo big you wouldn't have to listen to them moan!
Dogs would love it too.

I went alone away from kids and grandkids, didn't even take the dogs.
Great for reflecting, people watching and re-energising self...
Loved it, very similar to Crickley Hill in Gloucestershire.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhiacrewe t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Delightful walks”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Very lucky to live near these woods. Routes are marked out short route about half hour, then red route about 3 miles, I often run this in the summer. Then a black route about 7 miles. Not a bird watcher but just wonderful to loose your self in the woods. There is route also for dog walkers so they do not disturb the birds.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SunshineSally007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RSPB Reserve Blean Woods also viewed

 

Been to RSPB Reserve Blean Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing