We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice tearoom in a great location.”

Number 12 Tearoom and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
EAST SUSSEX
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice tearoom in a great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We popped in here after looking around the Cathedral and with its great position outside the main gate it was ideal. We were seated quickly and then introduced to all the lovely cakes. We both chose the Victoria Sandwich which was scrummy and the coffee was lovely too. The staff were very friendly and I would definately return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    26
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't miss the doorstep sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Good range of food on the menu including vegetarian. Fab cakes and superb choice of drinks both hot and cold. But their highlight must be the doorstep sandwiches. I had prawn and it was stuffed full of prawns and sauce, served with salad and crisps. Great value for money too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HelAst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cracking location, yummy cake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

What more to say? Friendly staff, quick service, reasonable prices and a smashing cup of tea. Will return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A break for coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

What a great find, well furnished tea room, was great for my handicapped step mother, space for mobility scooter. Very friendly and helpful staff - coffee good, very nice scones. Will go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwaysablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent afternoon tea in the heart of canterbury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just came home from the tea room and have to say we were blown away by the high tea! We got the groupon voucher too and paid £12 for two, the staff were especially lovely, really attentive and seemed to genuinely enjoy working there. The young lady who served us talked us through the three tier stand and we especially loved the tasty sandwiches ( the chutney was delicious!) the scones were beautiful too and despite being starving when we arrived we practically waddled out with doggy bags full of little cakes and a gypsy tart that we just couldn't manage! We opted for earl grey which was beautiful and they happily gave us a second pot for no extra charge, all in all this was a fab experience- we will definitely be back :) oh and we say upstairs with beautiful views of the cathedral and the buttermarket, if your in Canterbury for the day I'd really recommend visiting here for the views alone :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cevanslondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Number 12 Tearoom and Restaurant also viewed

 
Pett Bottom, Canterbury
 
Bishopsbourne, Canterbury
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing