We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant B & B in walking distance of Canterbury town centre”
Review of Augustines B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Augustines B&B
Ranked #29 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant B & B in walking distance of Canterbury town centre”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We had a weekend break in Canterbury and stayed for one night at this B & B. It is a charming house that is beautifully decorated and we were impressed by our spacious room and warm bathroom. Breakfast was delicious and cooked to order. The area is very quiet (the only thing you could hear first thing in the morning were the birds singing) but only a 10 minute walk from town with a large Waitrose nearby. Louise was friendly and welcoming. All in all we enjoyed our stay here and would definitely choose this B & B again if returning to Canterbury.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
24
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Augustines. Louise is a gracious host and the rooms are huge and thoughtfully decorated. Breakfast was also lovely.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I stayed one brief night in Canterbury arriving late and leaving early. My host Louise Duff was both welcoming and charming. I was given a comfortable room, an excellent early breakfast for a Sunday morning of fresh fruit salad and yoghurt I could not have wanted for more.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I stayed just one night. I could leave my car at the front the house, so i could walk into town(10 minutes walk). Mrs Duff is very understanding and helpful. The room and the bathroom were very clean and the rooms very nice.Good beds,tv and wifi. i'ts a quiet area, close to the schools.
A good adress to stay when you visit Canterbury.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pieterpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nord
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We were delighted by our stay (one night) at 11, Augustines Road. Mrs Duff is very friendly, and she gave us several adress (restaurants, places to buy good foodstuff, picturesque places in the country...).She was understanding of our bad english...
We could leave our car next to her house. The centre of Canterbury is just a 10-minute walk away. Our room was pleasant and clean as well as the bathroom, and our bed comfortable. The breakfast was varied and we coud choose what we desired.
A very good accommodation to visit Canterbury !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We have stayed at Augustines three times in the last couple of years and have always received a warm welcome. Each time we've enjoyed large, comfortable rooms, charmingly decorated with attention to detail and thoughtful homely touches. The attentive service and the superb breakfast left us wanting for nothing. The B&B is just a short walk from the City centre and very handy for the City's universities. We would recommend Augustines as an ideal 'home from home' for anybody exploring this part of Kent, or for parents doing the university run.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The B&B is located in a quiet residential street with a short walk (15mins) to the city's attractions. The B&B itself has a very homely feel with spacious and nicely furnished rooms. The delicious breakfast is worth a mention!

Louise was a great host and we appreciated the advice and tips she gave us on Canterbury and the surrounding area.

Looking forward to returning...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatzi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.7 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#10 of 16 in Canterbury
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.1 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Millers Arms
The Millers Arms
#4 of 75 in Canterbury
500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kipps
Kipps
#1 of 19 in Canterbury
199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bijou Abode - Chaucer House
Bijou Abode - Chaucer House
#55 of 75 in Canterbury
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augustines B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustines B&B

Property: Augustines B&B
Address: 11 St. Augustines Road, Canterbury CT1 1XP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning 18th-century family run B & B situated in a quiet residential street in the heart of Canterbury. Within easy walking distance of Canterbury Catherdral, St. Augustines Abbey and the city centre. Beautiful walled garden ideal for enjoying summer drinks and relaxation. Fantastic home cooked English breakfast or continental alternative is provided. Free off road parking, Wi-Fi and all modern amenities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing