We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT B & B”
Review of Augustines B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Augustines B&B
Ranked #32 of 74 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 May 2013

A fantastic B & B. We were looking after by Louise with great kindness and friendliness. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and well equipped and the breakfast was delicious. We will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gumbootannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

We spend a long week-end in March. The place is conveniently located to the center of Canterbury, just 10 minutes walk. The place is an oasis of peace and quiet, and very relaxing. The room was big, comfy and nicely decorated. Louise is a lovely host and makes you feel welcomed, she offers good tips to visit around too, if you ask her. And breakfast is really excellent. Very recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We booked to stay at Augustines for a post Christmas break. Louise made us feel incredibly welcome and her house and our room were a delight. Everything we wanted; warm, comfortable with lots of space to sit and read and rest. Louise strikes exactly the right balance as a host. She is exceptionally friendly, offers advice about what to see and do but never intrudes. It was a great break.

Room Tip: Our room with the bay window overlooking the garden was very spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We booked relatively last minute through Louise who was more than accommodating. She offered us valuable advice on visiting Canterbury, yet also gave us the space and privacy which we were so looking forward to. Our room was simply fantastic. Warm, spacious and with a beautiful en-suite bathroom as well as being very reasonably priced. Louise arranged breakfast- what and when- around us, which we found very liberating. Breakfast itself was a special affair- a plethora of fruit, yoghurts as well as a full english on offer certainly set us up for the day. All in all, we felt very looked after and a trip back to Canterbury wouldn't be the same without Louise (and her two gorgeous poodles who are simply divine). We will be back...

Room Tip: Ask for first floor room- back bay window overlooking garden- gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hats21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I work in the marketing department of a large local language school, and our group clients often ask for us to recommend B&B for their VIP Group Leaders. We personally visit and inspect any B&Bs beforehand, and have a strict policy of impartiality and making no money whatsoever from any recommendations we make.

I have recently compiled their feedback, including that of three Japanese Group Leaders who stayed here this summer. These people come from a culture and country where customer service includes dedicated personnel whose sole job it is to bow low when someone enters a shop.

The Group Leaders gave St Augustine's five stars.

Says it all, really.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kbaughan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Booked to stay here for 1 night in August with my husband for our anniversary and was not disappointed. Such a lovely place to stay. From the moment we arrived Louise really did do everything to make us feel welcome and was a fantastic friendly host. Our room was absolutely beautiful, spacious and luxurious and was best nights sleep i've had in a while (night off from the kids so was very happy!!). Breakfast was plentiful from cereals to big english. Should we be returning to Canterbury will definately be staying here again, very reasonably priced and much nicer than the usual standard hotels with Louise's personal touches and only a short stroll from the city centre. Thank you Louise, we had a fantastic anniversary break!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wright_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We planned our one night trip to Canterbury on the spur of the moment and were delighted that Louise could fit us in - what a fabulous place to stay. From the minute we stepped through the door, Louise was so welcoming, our room was delightful, bright and airy ,overlooking the beautiful garden. Louise provided us with a very welcome pot of tea and we immediately relaxed into a fab Canterbury weekend. Leaving our car as we were so close to town and walking everywhere - we thoroughly enjoyed exploring the local cafes and hostelries! Do try Cafe Mauresque - lovely! Thankyou for everything, Louise, I had such fun playing with your cute dogs in the garden after our scrummy breakfast! Jane T

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101JaneT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.2 mi away
Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 74 in Canterbury
148 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Retro B&B
The Retro B&B
#8 of 74 in Canterbury
104 reviews
1.7 mi away
City of Canterbury B&B
City of Canterbury B&B
#9 of 74 in Canterbury
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
755 reviews
3 mi away
Evenhill
Evenhill
#1 of 2 in Littlebourne
201 reviews
2.5 mi away
Howfield Manor Hotel
Howfield Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chartham
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augustines B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustines B&B

Address: 11 St. Augustines Road, Canterbury CT1 1XP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning 18th-century family run B & B situated in a quiet residential street in the heart of Canterbury. Within easy walking distance of Canterbury Catherdral, St. Augustines Abbey and the city centre. Beautiful walled garden ideal for enjoying summer drinks and relaxation. Fantastic home cooked English breakfast or continental alternative is provided. Free off road parking, Wi-Fi and all modern amenities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing