We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best fish and chips all trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Griffin

The Black Griffin
Ranked #92 of 361 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Black Griffin is known as "The pub with a personality"! The outside of the building is beautiful and inside it is cosy, warm and welcoming. The bar staff like to make sure everyone is enjoying there visit as well as enjoying themselves whilst at work. We have recently built heated seating which is perfect for when you are enjoying a warm, home cooked, hearty and delicious meal. The staff fit quirky things around the pub for entertainment and are sure to keep an eye out on how they can better every customers visit! Our restaurant menu is designed to suit those who would like to enjoy the log fire and have a warm filling meal or even those who just need a quick bite to eat! We have a range of food- succulent and thick steaks which have been purchased from our local butchers, to fish pies, sandwiches and nachos which are incredible with pulled pork! Our ratings on TripAdvisor have pleased all of us as we are one of the highest rated restaurants and night life places to go to! On a Monday evening from 9pm-11pm we have a different band that plays each week. Wednesday is our "Real Ale Club" day which means that you can have any ale for 50p less the whole day! Thursdays have become a big night for us too as we have many talented singers that come in and play between 9pm-11pm too. Our Fridays and Saturdays are always busy and buzzing- we are worth paying a visit! Every night of the week we have at least one deal but Mondays, Thursdays and Sundays we have lots! If you would like to see a few photos we are on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter and Flickr. Click on any of these for photos. "Trust me you can dance" - Jack Daniels We hope you have a lovely visit and enjoy the rest of your day! Thank you for taking the time to look us up and hopefully see you soon! -BG Management
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
224 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips all trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I've had fish and chips 4 times between my husband and I on this two week U.K. Journey and this place had the best fish and chips of them all! Bangers and mash were nice here as well. Large portions, good prices, Large drink selection.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kate408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    36
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A reasonable place for a bite to eat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We dropped in to the Black Griffin for Sunday lunch after a stroll through Westgate Gardens nearby. We both ordered beef and ale pie at £7.50 with chips and vegetables.. The lady behind the bar was very polite and we were served quite quickly. The pie had clearly been heated in the microwave and it was only just warm in parts but it was quite tasty. The vegetables were carrots, broccoli and French beans but the carrots were slightly al dente which wasn't to my liking but maybe some people like them that way. The chips were chunky and were fine. The pub was quite empty and there was only one other couple eating and whilst it was perfectly OK I have been in more attractive pubs with a more homely feel. The Black Griffin is a good choice for a drink and a low cost meal but personally I don't think it's that special and I doubt we will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ideal for a Steak & a Pint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We visited The Black Griffin after the theatre.If you want a decent meal and a drink (beer or wine) for not very much money then eat here.If you want Cordon Bleu cooking go somewhere else in Canterbury and pay a lot more.This place serves honest to goodness pub grub,from bare tables and little refinement,but in my opinion the food is good.The young lady that served our table was polite and efficient,offering to get condiments and any further drinks,what more can you ask for.Admittedly it was a quiet time when we visited,and I am sure that it gets a little lively,but choose your time if you want to eat in peace.Overall very satisfied with the quality of food and the price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeBaldwin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Black Griffin a wonderful find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Despite having lived in Canterbury for many years, we had never eaten here. We found one of our usual haunts was full so we thought of having a final drink before heading home. Glancing at the menu we noted the use of local produce. Then seeing meals arrive at other tables; as well as asking what diners thought of their food, we decided to order the steak pie and the sirloin steak. Both of these were beyond our expectations of pub grub, the steak melted in the mouth and the pie was truly rich and delicious. The prices at £7.50 for the pie and £9.25 for the sirloin were extremely reasonable especially for Canterbury.
Finally, the beers were good and our only regret was the lack of puddings on the menu.
This shows you can still be surprised, even in your home city!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cantpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Proper pub surrounded by trendy eateries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

What a relief to find such a pub after the depressing range of coffee-shop and burger/pizza chains in central Canterbury. Friendly bar staff, very good-value food, excellent atmosphere - almost like going back in time and not what is to be expected in such a trendy place. Warmly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nickypritc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Griffin also viewed

 

Been to The Black Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing