We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good sleep, good food, good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good sleep, good food, good staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Location:
Easy to find and a 5 min walk to town. Free parking at the hotel is spot on.

Staff:
Helpful and polite, answered any questions.

Food:
Great breakfast and three course meal, plenty of choice for breakfast.

room:
Spacious ,clean, TV, free internet - job done.

All you need from a hotel - better food and nice change from a chain hotel. We got a great deal including the three course meal - look out for this.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    168
    65
    9
    4
See reviews for
96
201
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by a sad-looking receptionist. The interior was abit oldy-worldy. It was also abit disappointing when the receptionist took us up to the room and left my dad to carry his heavy luggage. She didn't even ask to help and was abit rude. We decided to ignore this as we tried to carry on happily with our stay. We later went down to the pool where we nearly fainted with the heat of the indoor pool room. The pool itself had no tiles but a strange wallpaper tipe thing, which was peeling at the sides. There were also pipes all round the side of the pool which I found quite dangerous in some ways.

As we went to have our dinner the waiter took ages to give us our table then took quite a while to give us our dinner. The dinner itself was quite nice, which was surprising.
When we later went up to our room we realised there was one double bed, for two of us. The receptionist put up a camp bed for me and as soon as I got into bed the bed flew up and I came crashing off onto the floor. This was funny, but not a very good quality bed. I then had to sleep the rest of the night in the double bed with my snoring dad.

The bathrooms weren't the best either and my dad ended up smashing his head on the low ceiling. The breakfast was disappointing, too.

At the end, Our stay wasn't great but we only had one night there, Luckily.

Room Tip: It is rather near the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoMoreMrNiceGuySorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliCanterbury, Owner at Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Thank you for your review, I would like to take this opportunity to respond.

We make every endeavour to greet our guests with a smile, and offer assistance with luggage, and show you personally to your room, if this did not happen in your case I can only apologise, I'm sure the receptionist was smiling on the inside.

We have just rebuilt and redesigned the reception area, and added a new bar overlooking the gardens, so I disagree with your comment about looking dated. The hotel building is 170 years old, with original features, this could have possibly given you your "oldy-worldy" impression.

I am pleased your were pleasantly surprised by the quality of your dinner meal.

I am slightly bemused that you did not notice the room had a double bed when you were initially shown to your room, and that it took you until after dinner to notice, you did book a double room, and not a twin room thus, that is the room you were allocated. The extra beds have all recently been replaced, and are now very sturdy. They are designed for children up the the age of eleven.

The swimming pool air has to be kept warm/hot otherwise the condensation is unbearable, something most people appreciate in February, the temperature is reduced as we enter spring then summer. The stange tiles are a swimming pool liner, something the majority of indoor pools of our size have, the "dangerous pipes" are indeed a hand rail, put there to assist the swimmers, and for health and safty reasons. I can only imagine the fuss a guest could make if there was no hand rail!

I can't believe you thought the breakfast was disappointing, as we have a very complete cooked to order English breakfast, supplemented with cerials, fresh fruit, yoghurts, juices, hot beverages croissants, toast etc.

I appreciate you probably wont return, but didn't want your incorrect views to put off future guests.

I rate this review as 2* for accuracy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

From the moment we arrived the staff were helpful, friendly and courteous. Our room was clean, well decorated and comfortable. The breakfast menu is as comprehensive as you would want and the food is excellent as is the dinner menu.
With only a 10 minute walk into the centre, and it's own ample car parking, this is a very convenient hotel for visiting Canterbury.
Room rates are excellent value and we would recommend this hotel to anyone. Brilliant!

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank janandmartinbognor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

We stayed for just one night at the Ebury. It was extremely pleasant, great food and extremely spacious room. We made full use of the indoor pool and great lounging facilities that they offered. The breakfast was unbelievable we had it delivered to our room and the quantity of food was amazing. A great night overall and would highly recommend a top quality experience at the Ebury! We got a full 3 course evening meal, access to indoor pool, free wifi, sky television, huge bedroom, great breakfast and clean and up to date facilities all for just £135 pounds, the room with breakfast only costing £90... stunning value

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C00kie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

We've just got back from a delightful week-end stay at the Ebury Hotel. Approx 10 min walk to city centre, the hotel is comfortable and spotless. We had dinner in the restaurant on both nights and I must say it was the best food I've ever experienced in a hotel. Menu was interesting and varied - excellent.

The staff were all very friendly and the breakfast was just as good as dinner.

Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenproe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

A family run, welcoming hotel. Everyone from the owners to the cleaning staff were first class - nothing was too much trouble for them - all done with smiles. We had a 2 night stay and my mum's little dog was welcomed with a smile too !! We had meals in our rooms - and dinner especially was wonderful - try the smoked salmon and crayfish starter , it was like a mini dinner !! All in all a terrific experience.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsT_HaroldHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

I wasn't sure what to expect as we booked last minute and didn't have a lot of time to do our homework on the city and surrounding area. The hotel was very cozy with a nice fire place right when you walk in on the right. I felt like I was at home! The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. We had a big room with a nice view of the back garden. The breakfast in the morning was spot on and the pool & jacuzzi were perfect to chill-out in after a day of walking the city.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arennerisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.8 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
1.0 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments

Property: Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Address: 65-67 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ebury Hotel is located a short walk from Canterbury city centre and the cathedral, this 15 bedroom elegant Victorian building is situated in its own gardens. All bedrooms are ensuite, and have Freeview tv channels, flat screen tvs, free fibre optic wi-fi, and welcome trays. The double rooms all have kingsize beds. Family rooms are available. Facilities include a large free carpark, indoor heated pool, Henry's Bar,the sun terrace and gardens. Two bedroomed serviced apartments located in the hotel grounds are also available. Self-catering cottages are available on weekly lets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ebury Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing