We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect British Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect British Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

This was as good as it gets for us. We were delighted when we arrived to find this gorgeous hotel on the edge of Canterbury. We opted for a cab from the Canterbury West train station which takes you though the lovely old town of Canterbury. The hotel is situated on a couple of acres in a nice neighborhood. The hotel is the perfect combination of old and new. The decor is alternately subtle combination of Victorian and contemporary. Our room (number 6) was spacious with a 4 poster bed, loveseat, and desk. The bathroom was roomy and was appointed with big fluffly towels and Crabtree and Evelyn products. The closet offered coffee/tea service and thick terry robes. The bed was large although a bit hard. The linens were the same quality as everything else provided. The breakfast provided in the dining room was served at tables set with linens and silver was very good. The service was top notch. The staff was not overly visible, but always available when needed. The grounds are lovely gardens with blooming hydrangeas.
We would love to stay another night, but predictably the hotel is fully booked for the weekend. This is a no-brainer, you get what you pay for and this is worth every penny.

Room Tip: Our room, number 6, was situated on the front of the house. It was large and sunny. When windows are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank athena22in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    166
    65
    9
    4
See reviews for
92
200
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London,UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

This is really a B&B rather than a hotel. You might imagine sweeping in to a wide drive from some reviews / photos, in fact it's right on a busy road with only a small area separating it from traffic. The rear garden is lovely, however, very wide and well maintained. I would not say it is 10 mins walk to the city - more like 15 to the real centre with shops etc.

Someone wrote that you come in and 'go wow' - well, only if you live in a tiny house or flat! The entrance is that of a comfortable Victorian house. Nothing wow-inducing at all.The lady at reception is rather frosty, and the staff not very well trained - of which more later.

The house is well decorated, not too fussy, and our room was well equipped and comfortable, if really too small to take a 4 poster and a z bed. Honestly, this is not a grand hotel but a very nice B&B in a modest 'Victorian Gentleman's' house. The bathroom was pristine. One might feel that £170 a night is a bit steep.

The food is fairly good, one might say very good for an hotel restaurant (fresh tomato soup & basil, pork medallions, pot au chocolat) but the service is very poor. We waited 20 minutes before we could order, and there were other long waits. The waitress poured our half bottle of wine into our glasses so that it reached the brim each time, leaving about half an inch in the bottle. The wine (white) was lukewarm. Honestly, when did anyone last experience this kind of poor wine service? 1979?Surely it's the most basic thing to only half fill glasses & put the bottle in a cooler? She did do the latter, but with a thimbleful left there wasn't much point.

Overall in terms of service we felt that everyone else's needs were put above ours, with quite deliberate and at times elaborate attempts to do everything except serve us. At one point, two staff were fawning over one lady just one table away from us, to such an extent that we laughed.

We are very well travelled, we stay and dine in hotels all over the world, and I used to be a senior inspector for the 'Good Food Guide' so I know what I'm talking about.

If they could employ a receptionist with a friendly attitude and train their waiting staff, this would be a great place to stay near (not exactly in) Canterbury. A big plus is that they are dog friendly, and the pool is a welcome addition.

Room Tip: All the rooms are probably comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harvey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

On arrival at the hotel the owner/manager informed us that the cottage was not ready, we had just made a long drive to the hotel and was not offered a drink or use of the garden/lounge whilst we were waiting, instead we had to walk 15 mins into town and amuse ourselves for over an hour. He was very unfriendly which is a shame as the rest of the staff were really good. We were given cottage number ten which was on the front of the hotel and had no patio so nowhere to sit outside which was a shame as the weather was ideal. The cottage was lovely with everything you need and very comfortable beds.

Room Tip: The best cottage is proberbly number 6 which has a patio and ajoins the rear garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lychnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

my briefing: lovely hotel, room and nice garden
The English humour of the restaurant staff is very exciting. We enjoyed it and by the way, the butter is magnificent. ☺ Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enrico0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level Contributor
234 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times. The rooms are all different but this time was the best; spacious and very quiet. The evening meal is well worth a try as the French cheff does good things with local produce. Staff are helpful without being in your face and everywhere is very clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greyfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

My husband booked online for us to stay at this hotel for our wedding anniversary as it looked lovely on the website and the reviews were excellent. Sadly, the day after he booked it we were contacted by the hotel to be advised that there was an error in the websites booking system and our accommodation was actually not available after all. Unfortunately, this meant that we were unable to stay overnight in Canterbury as we were unable to find a decent hotel with availability. We would try and use this hotel again as it does look fabulous, but would book over the telephone in future. We would recommend that when booking, to consider booking on the telephone rather than online. The hotel did offer their apologies and we know that technology let's us all down at times, but this did hinder our plans somewhat.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkkestrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

We asked when we booked, for a room with a shower, when we arrived and were shown to our room, it only had a bath, the guy on reception changed us to a shower room without a fuss, but we had to move again for night number three, because of previous booking arrangments, not a good start, and not very efficient.
Its a very old lovely buliding, set back off Dover road, it retains a lot of original features, which is nice, including all the original opening sash windows.
The Rooms were nice, We slept well, very good breakfast.
The pool was ok, at least we could swim a length, although the jacuzzi seemed dirty, it had cloudy water, we avoided it
We had dinner in on our last night, and it was surprisingly good, we both really enjoyed our meal, which was apparently cooked by a resident French chef, if I stayed here again, i would eat in rather than battle with the hoards in the citys restaurants.
The hotel is not 5 minutes from town, and was quite a trek, even for our sort, who are used to walking, we used taxis late at night, rather than chance the horrible subway half way to town,
Overall, Good

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are a lot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterCrudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.8 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
1.0 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments

Property: Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Address: 65-67 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ebury Hotel is located a short walk from Canterbury city centre and the cathedral, this 15 bedroom elegant Victorian building is situated in its own gardens. All bedrooms are ensuite, and have Freeview tv channels, flat screen tvs, free fibre optic wi-fi, and welcome trays. The double rooms all have kingsize beds. Family rooms are available. Facilities include a large free carpark, indoor heated pool, Henry's Bar,the sun terrace and gardens. Two bedroomed serviced apartments located in the hotel grounds are also available. Self-catering cottages are available on weekly lets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ebury Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing