We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“One night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

This is a pleasent hotel, good food and relaxing surroundings. I spent some of the evening in the lounge. Quiet, warm and relaxing. My bedroon was large, warm and well equipped. I am one for cleanliness and the Ebury didnt let me down. The brakfast was excellent and I had no complaints. I see some have commented that it is noisey. I can understand why that is the case but nothing exessive. Happy to stay again and no doubt I will.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    166
    65
    9
    4
See reviews for
93
200
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cowdenbeath
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed for one night on a business trip, very clean and comfortable, food great, but beware of the full English in the morning too much for me.
Staff first class very helpful will use it again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexhanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I am always a little apprehensive when not staying in a "chain" hotel - only because you know exactly what you are getting with a Travelodge, Holiday Inn etc etc.

Check in was very polite - we were shown to our room which was at the top of hotel, there is no lift so be prepared to lug your suitcases up two flights of stairs. When we opened the door to our room we were delighted, it was a the back (so can't comment on previous comments about traffice noise at the front) with a wonderful view of the gardens. The room was done to a fantastic standard and was very roomy. The only bad point was the water pressure in the shower which was non-existent - as soon as you held the shower head higher than your ankles the waterflow stopped! I haven't had a bath since I was kid and as I am not the smallest person in the world at 16 stone it wasn't the most comfortable experience.

Breakfast was good - you order your hot food but buffet for cereal etc.

It takes a good 10 mins to walk to the main shopping centre.

All in all a very nice stay and would certainly recommend......

Room Tip: Rooms at the back away from front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainlad2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Charming hotel and very good value for money ..lovely breakfast ...cannot comment on dinner as we dined out...We had a room at the front and it's a little noisy on a morning which didn't bother us as it only gets busy when it's time to get up for breakfast! ...There's a very pretty garden to the rear with a indoor pool and hot tub ...There is also a bar which was a little pricey and a delightful lounge with various board games and local information......Overall we were very impressed with the value for money the Ebury Hotel offers considering the high standard and the location to Canterbury City centre ...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We had only one day in Canterbury and picked this hotel for location and facilities. After going to evensong at Canterbury Cathedral, we found our way to the hotel - easy to find. It was late and we did not want to walk back on the busy road into town in the dark, so we opted to eat at the hotel, They were very accommodating since we only wanted soup and a sandwich and not a full dinner. We had booked this hotel because of the whirlpool and a chance to unwind at the end of a busy vacation. The decision to eat at the hotel was also based on having some time to use the whirlpool before it closed. Our room was clean and spacious and quiet. The whirlpool was not a hot as usual and we were told is being replaced soon.

Room Tip: Room #1 is spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bd45whp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Having studied the hotel website and read other reviews I had high expectations and I'm pleased to say we were not disappointed.
Very well maintained, excellent staff and superb food. Our room was at the back with a view over the gardens so despite the hotel being on a main road we did not hear any noise.
Canterbury city centre is an easy 10-15 minute walk away. We did not use the pool as we only stayed one night.
This hotel is good at being what it is. A comfortable, clean and unpretentious traditional hotel that does the main things very well.
So why not a 5 rating? Minor things really but the bed was a bit hard and the pillows were very lumpy and needed replacing. Also, the shower door over the bath was a very poor fit so it was easy to flood the bathroom floor. However these are minor points and may well not apply to other rooms.
Recommend this hotel unreservedly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel. It is a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Friendly staff & room was clean but a bit small. Very good breakfast. Lots of parking space. Only a short walk to the city centre.

Only downside was room was noisy & you could hear everything that was going on in the hotel, not a problem until you want to go to sleep.

Room Tip: Room 1 looked big, ours was room 2 and not that big
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giles_littlefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.8 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
1.0 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments

Property: Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Address: 65-67 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ebury Hotel is located a short walk from Canterbury city centre and the cathedral, this 15 bedroom elegant Victorian building is situated in its own gardens. All bedrooms are ensuite, and have Freeview tv channels, flat screen tvs, free fibre optic wi-fi, and welcome trays. The double rooms all have kingsize beds. Family rooms are available. Facilities include a large free carpark, indoor heated pool, Henry's Bar,the sun terrace and gardens. Two bedroomed serviced apartments located in the hotel grounds are also available. Self-catering cottages are available on weekly lets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ebury Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing