We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable and comfortable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable and comfortable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

We were one of three couples staying here as part of a family reunion, and all thought that the hotel was a bit of a "find". Not expensive, small enough for personal attention (completely unlike more expensive and less welcoming big name chain hotels), but large enough to have good facilities (for example, the swimming pool and jacuzzi). Dinner excellent when the regular chef is on, breakfast freshly-prepared and also very good, as was the service generally. We would stay again. On a busy road, but set back so still peaceful. Easy, flat 15 minute walk into the city centre, and buses and taxis if legs are tired after a day's sightseeing.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank R_and_S_from_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    166
    65
    9
    4
See reviews for
93
200
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

A beautifully grand Victorian house. We stayed for 5 nights and our room was very, very spacious and clean (with a gorgeous original fireplace - which left us tiny puffs of soot on the hearth after a particularly windy day....). All staff were efficient, helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent, with wonderful choice and the service was faultless - we stayed one evening for dinner (as the rain had been relentless and we didn't fancy the short walk (10 mins) into Town to find a restaurant) Dinner was wonderful with each table well spaced and ambiently lit. The garden was large with a huge lawn and under a giant tree, we came across a grassed over air raid shelter. The pool was relaxing and private. We'll certainly be returning.....

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem ask for a room on the ground floor (there are only two floors but as with mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hurstys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south east
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

A lovely looking building and very clean. Staff efficient and friendly. Stayed for two nights and ate in the restaurant for both nights. Food excellent, plenty of choice.
Ideally situated for Canterbury old town appx 10 minutes walk.
Room was at the back of the hotel. This was somewhat of a letdown although clean it was small for a double, no bath but a very good shower, although bathroom was very modern. Room unfortunately was also above kitchen so there was noise and cooking smells. Also there was astore cupboard next to room which was used before 7.00am every morning. Still it enabled us to be up and out early.
All in all an excellent hotel in all ways just do not get room 5. Next time we will know not to have this room. Very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Back of hotel. Ask for full garden view not room over kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank euniceSouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here in May 2012.

The hotel is easy to find, the parking ample and the overall first impression is good.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

The rooms are basic but adequate and clean. Don't expect too much though. We were given an ensuite room with a tiny shower. The breakfast could be better.

Having gotten the boring information out of the way I should say something about the atmosphere. The gardens are large and the communal areas like the dining room and snug are also quite grand. The wallpaper is extraordinary and floral. The dining room is filled with antique clocks and the furniture is straight out of the 1890s.

The only thing that could be classed as disappointing was the total lack of murder mystery. Where was Miss Marple? Why was she not sitting in the snug awaiting my untimely death? I can imagine my parents going there on holiday in the 1950s and having EXACTLY the same experience (minus the WiFi). I'm not saying it was bad. Far from it. The hotel is stuck in a post-war time warp. I imagine that most Americans believe that we (the English) still live this way and to be honest coming from London where courtesy is a rude word it was a breath of fresh air to drive in to the 1950s and experience what can only be described as good old fashioned hospitality.

As I said, the service, cleanliness, food and overall experience were very good. The only thing that could possibly upset a person who came to stay here is the lack of modern decor and comforts. It is was it is and it does what it does as my father would say. It is an English Country Hotel and it behaves quite well for an English Country Hotel. Do not expect bells or whistles.

The swimming pool was also excellent in so much as it was relatively large and extremely quiet.

Room Tip: Take a swimming costume. The indoor pool is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corneredmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a golfing trip with 7 others . We stayed 3 nights and hired 5 rooms

The hotel has large bedrooms, has all amenities and friendly helpful staff all seemed to be well trained. Breakfast was excellent, plentiful and served quickly and efficiently. The garden was large and tidy and there was no problem parking with all free parking and free Wi Fi etc. personally I hate all these add ones which other hotels and chains use to bolster up the price

The price for the 3 days was I consider reasonable being £95 for twin occupancy and £75 for single occupancy

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Molland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

I stay here fairly frequently with work.
It's a basic hotel, but it's clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and the food is very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

A very comfortable hotel, within close walking of the centre of Canterbury. Warm welcome by all staff, with clean, smart bedrooms. Provides a full restaurant and a separate lounge and bar. Breakfast was full English and well cooked, along with a good dinner selection. Stayed 2 nights with a room overlooking the back garden, which was quiet and offered good views. Hotel provides a pool, which we did not use, but saw other guests utilizing the facility and commenting on the cleanness of the pool. A great place to stay if visiting Canterbury and surrounding area.

Room Tip: Back rooms overlook garden and good garden views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KEJA58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.8 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
1.0 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments

Property: Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Address: 65-67 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ebury Hotel is located a short walk from Canterbury city centre and the cathedral, this 15 bedroom elegant Victorian building is situated in its own gardens. All bedrooms are ensuite, and have Freeview tv channels, flat screen tvs, free fibre optic wi-fi, and welcome trays. The double rooms all have kingsize beds. Family rooms are available. Facilities include a large free carpark, indoor heated pool, Henry's Bar,the sun terrace and gardens. Two bedroomed serviced apartments located in the hotel grounds are also available. Self-catering cottages are available on weekly lets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ebury Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing