We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding night hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding night hotel”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed at the Ebury for one night. On arriving at reception in our wedding finery we were very nicely upgraded to a four-poster room (room 6). The room was large, clean, and the bed was very comfortable, but we were surprised that it didn't have tea and coffee making facilities.

Breakfast the next morning was good, with lots of choice, and the breakfast room was lovely with a nice view over the gardens.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    167
    65
    9
    4
See reviews for
94
201
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The hotel provides a personal touch which is a nice change from the 'bed factory' approach. Staff were pleasant and warm.

We had a double room towards the back of the hotel - not massive but very comfortable and had all the facilities with everything clean and tidy. The bed was a good size, firm and comfortable.

Breakfast was good and very relaxed.

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the town and the safe hotel parking gives you the opportunity to leave the car behind.

All in all a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_CT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

After a 6 hour drive (stuck on the M25 for 3 hours!) I arrived just after 11pm. I had to ring the Hotel whilst stuck in traffic as I remembered reading the doors were locked at 11pm. When i arrived at about 11:10pm the door was indeed locked and my key was under the door mat.

I had been allocated Room No1. If you want a 'good' shower when you arrive you should avoid this room. The room itself was clean and warm as was the bathroom. But the shower was just a period type mixer hose attched to the top of the bath taps. There was no shower curtain and no shower door. I'm not sure what I was supposed to do? Hold the shower over my head with one hand whilst trying to wash with the other? Without flooding the bathroom.....? This is my only gripe really.

Breakfast was very good. It was hot, plentiful, and everything was spotless.

One of the staff on the front desk was very helpful too, photocopying a few documents for me free of charge.

One the whole it was a very short one night stay and the only disappointment was the shower. Other than that it was a decent older Hotel. Having said that, being clean and having a good breakfast is the least i'd expect. Without doubt there will be plenty of other options in the area not as good as this.

Personally I prefer a more modern Hotel. Places like this take a lot of keeping together and as far as I can see they're doing a decent job of that.

Would I stay again?.......... Probably.

Room Tip: Avoid Room No 1 if you want a good shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NPP62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliCanterbury, Owner at Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for your comments, the reason that you were unable to have a good shower in room 1 is that this is a room with a bath only, hence no shower curtain or shower door. The hand-held shower attachment is for guests wishing to wash their hair whilst having a bath. We have two rooms with bath only, two rooms with shower only, and the majority of rooms have both. If you have a preference please let us know in advance and we will allocate you a room with your preferred option.

I glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay, and that you found the hotel clean and warm, and the staff attentive. Let us know when you are next in town, and we will supply with a room with a lovely shower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hockley, essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We have recently returned from a 2 day break at this Hotel. The Ebury is a small sized family hotel. The Staff are nice and helpful without being over the top. The rooms are comfortable and the Dining Room and Lounge are lovely. The breakfast is very good and there is no rush to finish. We did not take advantage of the swimming pool.
The Hotel is about 10/15 minute walk from the centre of Canterbury ( down hill a bit ) A taxi cost about £5. The Cathedral is magnificent and well worth the admission charge.

Room Tip: If you are less able a room on the 1st floor might be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisHockley_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thamestrader
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

The large room was warm and comfortable, the pool adequate despite its compact size and the breakfast generous, let down by dreadful coffee. The lounge was pleasant. The trees are spectacular. I would be delighted to stay again.

Room Tip: the rear garden has specimin trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thamestrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Swimming pool water cloudy and sand in the pool, couldn't see our feet! Something not right? Jacuzzi out of action.
Hotel attractive however, with nice gardens and near to city centre, parking not a problem.
If pool and jacuzzi up to standard this would be a place to visit again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank yoursisbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliCanterbury, Owner at Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
We do apologize, we have renewed the pool and plant and installed a new filter, this had apparently suffered damage in transit and thus under pressure when installed, it exploded internally and sent all the sand from within the filter into the pool, and made the water cloudy. This had been rectified, and now the pool is running properly smoothly with clear water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilford , Essex United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This hotel is charming and stylish with spacious rooms, and the staff were so friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was delicious, and I enjoyed using the pool. My only complaint was the low water pressure in the shower, otherwise my visit was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.8 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
1,795 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
1,061 reviews
1.0 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
407 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
1,105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments

Property: Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Address: 65-67 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ebury Hotel is located a short walk from Canterbury city centre and the cathedral, this 15 bedroom elegant Victorian building is situated in its own gardens. All bedrooms are ensuite, and have Freeview tv channels, flat screen tvs, free fibre optic wi-fi, and welcome trays. The double rooms all have kingsize beds. Family rooms are available. Facilities include a large free carpark, indoor heated pool, Henry's Bar,the sun terrace and gardens. Two bedroomed serviced apartments located in the hotel grounds are also available. Self-catering cottages are available on weekly lets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ebury Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing