We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Lovely hotel with great garden .the room was clean and comfortable .breakfast was good .you could choose from several items . The lodges in the garden also looked very nice .Did not use pool facilities as only stayed for 1 night .It was a short taxi ride into city centre .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pool-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    168
    65
    9
    4
See reviews for
96
201
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Warmly welcomed on arrival and offered the four poster room but opted for back room overlooking the garden. Lovely room with a really comfy bed. garden lovely and both lunch and meal in the evening excellent. A gentle stroll easily undertaken into Canterbury to see the Cathedral even on such a hot day. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solar1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here 3 nights.

We used this hotel as a base to visit Canterbury and see the surrounding towns, e.g., Margate, Ramsgate and Kingsgate. The walk from the hotel to central Canterbury, say, the cathedral took about 20 to 25 minutes. It's not a pleasant walk because it's along a busy road.

We stayed in room 2 which is on the first floor, it's large with high ceilings and a very pleasant outlook over the large backyard with a beautiful Cedar of Lebanon tree the highlight.
There is only one seat and no coffee table but there is a desk with a seat.

The shower was good with uniform water flow and temperature. There was a large sash window that could be opened which was fortunate because there is no vent with an extracting fan.

The towels rate more than a pass mark on the size & thickness scale. The toiletries supplied were shampoo and a bath gel.

There was no air conditioning, safe and no bar refrigerator.

Breakfast was good

The guest areas are very comfortable.

The hotel is family owned and managed. Henry is the owner and he is very friendly as are the rest of the staff.

Would we stay here again, PROBABLY. However, I'd do some more searching for accommodations closer to the city centre, e.g., the Travel Lodge is the closest.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelbalaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Arrived quite late at the hotel, and greeted by a very nice employee. Decided to stay to get a quick meal (bar food) which was good. The room was a little small, but very quiet with view on the garden... Very relaxing experience, and only a 10 minute walk to Canterbury center. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zlobizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

A really lovely building with charming traditional decor. Clean and quiet and located an easy 10 mins walk from the heart of Canterbury.Rooms were fine, bed and linens super. Yes, there are quirks with plumbing and the location of outlets, but all easily tolerated if you can enter in the spirit of staying at an older, family-run establishment. That said, the wi-fi was great on my Android phone. Breakfast buffet offerings were average. Those who ordered something hot seemed happy with the generous portions, even if the orders were sometimes mixed up slightly. Unfortunately didn't have a chance to use the pool.
We were a group of 32 and, I believe, the only residents over a weekend. It always felt as though there was perhaps one person short on staff. Long waits were the rule rather than the exception at the reception, in the breakfast room and at the bar. Another note on the bar, last call came rather abruptly well before midnight on the first night. While our group wash't exactly sipping white wine and quietly discussing Chaucer, we were also certainly not a rowdy group. Or maybe that is only my perception... Nonetheless, it did feel as though our presence was not exactly appreciated, which did unfortunately sour our overall experience in an otherwise nice getaway weekend. I think, had one of the owners greeted us during our stay, we might have felt more welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biba_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Within a short walking distance of Canterbury this is an excellent choice for those who prefer to stay in a hotel of character. Our room was big (4-poster bed) and whilst situated to the front of the hotel traffic noise was negligible. Clean, comfortable and an excellent breakfast this hotel is well worthy of consideration.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForsetiGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We booked two nights online. Anticipating that we would be very late arriving, we called and were given courteous instructions of what to do if office was closed when we arrived. This is a charming, family owned hotel. We found the hotel to be warm and friendly with a large clean room and a huge Victorian bathroom. Breakfast is included in the price of the room. The breakfast room was large and pleasant and here we had a 'proper English breakfast' as we were told. It was a beautifully served, enormous meal. We found the wait staff to be pleasant and accommodating.

Hotel was within walking distance of the old city of Canterbury. We found it to be a beautiful, charming city. Enjoyed Evensong at Canterbury Cathedral one evening, and afterwards had a lovely dinner at The Old Weavers Pub close to the Cathedral. This was our last stop on a two week trip, and it was very relaxing and pleasant. Hope to visit Canterbury and the Ebury Hotel again

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eliza52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.8 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
1.0 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments

Property: Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Address: 65-67 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ebury Hotel is located a short walk from Canterbury city centre and the cathedral, this 15 bedroom elegant Victorian building is situated in its own gardens. All bedrooms are ensuite, and have Freeview tv channels, flat screen tvs, free fibre optic wi-fi, and welcome trays. The double rooms all have kingsize beds. Family rooms are available. Facilities include a large free carpark, indoor heated pool, Henry's Bar,the sun terrace and gardens. Two bedroomed serviced apartments located in the hotel grounds are also available. Self-catering cottages are available on weekly lets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ebury Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing