We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away With Friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here with friends for a 60th birthday.
Could not fault anything the owner and his wife were a breath of fresh air, bringing back good of fashioned service and making all our party very welcome indeed.

Breakfast was excellent with a good choice.

Will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

Very impressive if slightly old hotel on the edge of Canterbury. Plenty of parking and an indoor pool. Very friendly and helpful staff bar meals in the evening but limited tables for evening meals.

The room looked very well appointed, first impressions were very good but overtime one noted the tiredness of the decor and the need to repaint in places. The garden was large and looked fun to run in- but we didn't. Great location for walking into the city centre but you might be better off just staying in the hotel. The cathedral is fascinating and worth the entry price which is high but we counted 8 souvenir shops all selling souvenirs of London not Canterbury.
Overall enjoyed the room the food and the staff here and would definitely use the hotel again if I could only think of a good reason to come to Canterbury

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed in the Ebury a week ago and I have been telling everyone since how enjoyable and reasonably priced my stay was. From the moment I arrived I had nothing but great service. When I arrived I was greeted by a very pleasant and helpful young man at reception and was absolutely delighted with my room. Even though I was in room 1 which was at the top of the stairs and near to reception, I had absolutely no noise issues and was able to have a very comfortable and peaceful sleep. The room was extremely clean and tastefully decorated. I enjoyed a swim in the swimming pool. The garden was beautiful as was the breakfast room. The evening meal in the bar and my breakfast were very enjoyable. Cannot praise the staff there enough. I certainly intend on staying in the Ebury on all future visits to Canterbury and have advised my friends and family to do the same. Ps- the location was excellent too, a pleasant short stroll to the centre of Canterbury.

Room Tip: I had room 1 and it was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here so that we could meet up with old friends and visit Canterbury.
The location is very good, just turn right and walk for about 10 mins and you get to the city centre.
Parking is excellent and it meant a lot to be able to leave the car some where safe and to walk around the city.
Breakfast was very good, and the staff were friendly and efficient.
The hotel was also very quiet and nicely set back from the road.
We had room 4 which was very quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirbykx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed for one night in February to visit our nephew who is a university student in Canterbury. We found the hotel a convenient 10 minute walk from the town centre , with ample car parking. The hotel lobby had a classic interior with a lounge , dining room and bar. The children enjoyed the swimming pool and garden. The rooms were spacious with good decoration throughout. The staff were not over friendly but were certainly efficient at their jobs. My only question mark would be possibly slightly overpriced.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

4 friends stayed for 2 nights to see Canterbury. We had 2 really comfortable warm rooms with well fitted bathrooms. Really good showers,lots of nice towels.
Pleasant bar,lounge and breakfast room and really nice home cooked tasting breakfast.
Plenty of parking and an easy 10 minute walk into town.
Highly recommended!



Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Lesley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Just stayed here following my wifes Graduation Ceremony at Canterbury Cathedral. We got soaked and frozen at the ceremony and were thus delighted buy the huge bath in our room! Our welcome was swift and very efficient and we were shown to our room in minutes. The bar is small and cosy and you can take your drinks through to the comfortable lounge. I can recommend the current 'special' of Hendriks, cucumber and fever Tree tonic.
We had a good night's sleep in comfortable twin beds and enjoyed an excellent cooked breakfast. I was particularly impressed to be asked which sort of Gluten free bread I would like!
Next time we are in Canterbury we will definitely stay here

Room Tip: Room 1 had excellent views of the garden and a really nice stained glass window in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Bradfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.8 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
1,986 reviews
1.0 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
0.8 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments

Address: 65-67 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £77 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ebury Hotel is located a short walk from Canterbury city centre and the cathedral, this 15 bedroom elegant Victorian building is situated in its own gardens. All bedrooms are ensuite, and have Freeview tv channels, flat screen tvs, free fibre optic wi-fi, and welcome trays. The double rooms all have kingsize beds. Family rooms are available. Facilities include a large free carpark, indoor heated pool, Henry's Bar,the sun terrace and gardens. Two bedroomed serviced apartments located in the hotel grounds are also available. Self-catering cottages are available on weekly lets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ebury Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing