We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I have stayed here a number of times. On previous occasions in a room at the front of the hotel. This time I had a room at the back overlooking the garden. Not only was this a nicer room the view over the surprisingly large and well kept garden was a bonus. I have not eaten in the hotel in the evening, preferring to walk into Canterbury. There is a good range of breakfast options. The staff are pleasant and helpful and there is parking at the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here at Christmas in 2013. We stayed in the top room with a four poster bed and the coolest jacuzzi bath (noisy jacuzzi bath)
The room itself was really nice. TV and all what you'd expect from a hotel room. The four poster bed was really squeaky. Downside for when rolling around (in your sleep! You Filthy minded trip advisor reader you!) Then I found the jacuzzi bath. Hehe! Now that was fun!! Hotel has nice food, walking distance of around 25mins to the city centre. 1 hour if you've had a cheeky one at the bar before you set off. Also has a little swimming pool. All in all it's a nice hotel. Staff were nice too. So that always helps at Christmas time.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B3NG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel at a convenient location. Very nice gardens good service and very traditional restaurant. An old building with few cottage type apartments surrounding it is something different and quite convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geeclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Loved staying at the Ebury - it's so peaceful and beautiful even though it's walking distance from Canterbury. Lovely garden in which we saw a rare white squirrel. The self catering cottages are lovely and it also has a pool. Would highly recommend this hotel and have already booked another visit.

Room Tip: Wish I had taken a photo to add as the garden is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed as a family in one of the two bedroom apartments. The hotel is very well decorated and there is a lovely garden at the back which is a bit of a sun trap. There is an indoor pool and sauna which was a bonus. As we arrived quite late the first night we ate at the hotel and had a lovely meal. Would highly recommend. It far exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian190798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Hotel is a lovely old building in a good location - only about 10-15 minute walk to town. The staff were very nice and helpful. A few stairs to climb to our room, which wasn't a problem really, especially for my 19 month old daughter who loves going up and down stairs! The rooms were nice but the layout wasn't great for us as we had to put our daughter's cot right underneath the TV (in the cupboard - with the doors open!) so we went to sleep very early! In saying that, when you stay at hotels there isn't any guarantee that there will be a good place for a cot. The bathroom was fine, except the flusher on the toilet needed a bit of force to work. The shower was over the bath which was fine, although it didn't have much pressure. The hotel has a very big garden which was lovely, and would be so nice in Summer. We didn't go in to the building with the Pool but did peer inside the window and it was a good sized pool etc. Overall very nice and if I go back to Canterbury I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21December
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Beautiful period building, well maintained, good parking, good staff. We stayed in a large family room on the top floor at the front of the building. Beds were ok but a bit lumpy (spring mattresses). Nice size bathroom with shower over the bath. Everything was spotless. Cooked breakfast was served nice and hot. We had no issues with noise from traffic but in the summer time, if you had the windows open, the noise from the road could be a bit bothersome (even though the hotel is set slightly back from the road). The city centre is a 10-15 minute walk. Waitrose, Tesco Express and Sainsbury Street local are all within a short walk. Excellent stay and we would certainly stay here again if we went to Canterbury again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZARDelft_Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.8 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
2,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
1.0 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
463 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
750 reviews
0.8 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments

Address: 65-67 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £69 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ebury Hotel is located a short walk from Canterbury city centre and the cathedral, this 15 bedroom elegant Victorian building is situated in its own gardens. All bedrooms are ensuite, and have Freeview tv channels, flat screen tvs, free fibre optic wi-fi, and welcome trays. The double rooms all have kingsize beds. Family rooms are available. Facilities include a large free carpark, indoor heated pool, Henry's Bar,the sun terrace and gardens. Two bedroomed serviced apartments located in the hotel grounds are also available. Self-catering cottages are available on weekly lets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ebury Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing