We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly, Perfect family rooms, excellent pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
colchester
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Friendly, Perfect family rooms, excellent pool”
Reviewed 29 November 2009

The rooms were perfect for our need. Family of 5, three children. We had 1 double bed and second room with 2 single beds and a sitting room with a all facilities, can seep up to 2 more. with everything from kettle to dishwasher!
It felt like a private pool, a bit small but enought to have a few more families in. Very clean.
5 minute walk to the centre. enoughparkig. vry good breakfast with good vegitarian options.
The onlysmll point, the sofa could havedone with a good hoovering.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headache123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    170
    65
    11
    4
See reviews for
97
206
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We found the hotel very clean if rather old fashioned. It is in easy walking distance of the city and has good parking. It was value for money but the restaurant let it down. There was one other diner, and a decidedly staid atmosphere. We could only think the french chef was on holiday because we were served good pub grub but nothing like we had been led to believe we would have from reading the menu.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

After ten days in France we spent one night here before driving 350 miles north. We were welcomed most warmly on arrival, and we were assured that our car would be very safe in the hotel car park. Our bedroom (number 2) was charmingly decorated and well furnished and we had a lovely view of the large garden . Our bathroom was sparkling clean, with a nice selection of Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries, and the shower was excellent. Dinner that evening was delicious and we wished we had been staying longer so that we could have tried some of the other dishes available. The wine list was quite extensive for a small hotel and the prices were reasonable. The large dining room contained a selection of very interesting clocks and some attractive pictures. Afterwards coffee and drinks were served in a well furnished and comfortable lounge. Breakfast the next morning was extremely good value, with a good choice and ample quantities. We then met Charlie, the hotel's Labradoodle Receptionist. He was more than willing to go into the garden to be photographed (he is obviously used to this as he 'posed' perfectly), and both he and his owner were very pleasant and friendly. After paying our bill (very reasonable - we felt) we were able to leave our car in the car park and walk the short distance to the city. After an hour we returned to collect our car and bid our final farewells. I do hope that we will be able to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perfectambercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

This hotel is a typical old country house hotel located just south of Canterbury. The location is perfect for Canterbury and the surrounding areas, just far enough out of town to avoid all the noise of revelry. The staff were great with me extremely flexible and helpful especially the really tall chap (think his name is Henry?).

I was jet-lagged and busy and wanted one of the restaurant meals as room service and they obliged, also wanted an ice bucket for my bottle of wine (M&S) and this was delivered with a smile. I think as all country type hotels there was the downside of no mini-bar/aircon, but I found the room (11) and hotel great for my 3 night stay even though it was 30 odd degrees.

The bathroom was newly done and clean, however the bath only had a hand held shower which is OK for me (as I like baths), however if there had been 2 of us (it is a double room) then I think we would’ve struggled with; a) time for both baths and b) husband hates baths! So that could be a big improvement.

Think as in another review, the restaurant was very quiet and a bit formal, I didn't have dinner in there but did have breakfast and the waitress is a young girl who seemed to have her own time agenda, but by day 3 she got to know me.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singapore_Smiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

The accommodation was OK, simple and adequate, although there was only a bath, no shower. But I had arranged (and paid for) breakfast and dinner (3 courses) Breakfast was average, but dinner was disgusting. It appeared to be old meals from the day before heated up. The tarte tatin was particularly ghastly and still cold when it was served! Also the first night I was there, there was no-one else dining. I wonder why!

The staff was generally unfriendly, especially the fellow on the front desk, who 3 times walked past me when I was breakfasting without any greeting.

It is well situated and would probably be OK if you avoided eating there and walked into Canterbury for the meals.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SydneySerendipity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliCanterbury, owner at Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 1 December 2009
I can assure you we do not reheat meals, all dishes are cooked to order. I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal, but it is much more helpful if you draw this to our attention at the time.
I hope we have not put you off returning to our "simple and adequate" hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

I stayed here with my 2 year old son and aunt for one night in March - we shared a family room with one double and two single beds.

Room was lovely, looked newly decorated and charming - bearing in mind we had a dog with us the decoration was FAR better than some far more expensive hotels have had to offer.

Staff were helpful and welcoming - especially the receptionist dog!

Pool was warm and clean - a short hop from the hotel.

Breakfast was very nice - the restaurant looked lovely but we didn't eat there becasue we'd had a late lunch in the town's cuban restaurant - cocktails to die for!

Would highly recommend for a short stay as it's very short walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LONDONLASSIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

The hotel was very reasonable - not fantastic but pretty good.

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights for a break in Canterbury. The hotel was in a good location - not right in the centre but within a ten minute walk. The staff were very pleasant, informal and made us feel welcome.

Our room (No. 9) was lovely and large, bright and airy. The bed was comfortable although the springs were very noisy, as was the floor. Neither of us could roll over or walk to the bathroom without waking the other.

The gardens were lovely and if we had spent more time at the hotel would no doubt enjoyed a couple of drinks out there. The pool house was nice after spending all day walking around town although the jacuzzi needed more water and the changing rooms needed a clean.

We didn't eat in the restaurant except for breakfast and they were happy to cook to order. Like other rooms in the hotel - in need of redecoration and a little TLC.

Overall, the hotel was pretty good value for money. I would not recommend for a special occasion or romantic get away, however, ideal for a short city break.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPSBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.8 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,846 reviews
1.0 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
419 reviews
0.8 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments

Property: Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Address: 65-67 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ebury Hotel is located a short walk from Canterbury city centre and the cathedral, this 15 bedroom elegant Victorian building is situated in its own gardens. All bedrooms are ensuite, and have Freeview tv channels, flat screen tvs, free fibre optic wi-fi, and welcome trays. The double rooms all have kingsize beds. Family rooms are available. Facilities include a large free carpark, indoor heated pool, Henry's Bar,the sun terrace and gardens. Two bedroomed serviced apartments located in the hotel grounds are also available. Self-catering cottages are available on weekly lets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ebury Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing