We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

We were lucky to stay in the purpose built cottages in the grounds of the delightful hotel and could not find fault at all. We had the best of both as we could use all the facilities of the hotel,yet have the privacy and flexibility of the self catering cottage. The location is fantastic it is within a short walking distance to the vibrant city centre. Restaurants in the city are plentiful and extremely enjoyable. We are definately going back for a very relaxing yet busy break.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stillgame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    166
    65
    9
    4
See reviews for
93
200
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2010

The staff were lovely and the welcome perfect, but as a solo traveller I got the fuzzy end of the lollipop! The room was at the top of the hotel (no lift). I had to pay for internet acceess, almost unheard of now.

The room was OK, but the bathroom pokey with only a bath and no shower. This coupled with a very slow running sink meant that the stay was at best quirky and at worst inconvenient.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radioheadkiduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliCanterbury, Owner at Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 16 February 2010
Thank you for your review, and amusing title, Firstly I am pleased you found the staff attentive and that you received a warm welcome. We have rectified the slow draining basin, and are now offering free WiFi to all our hotel guests. I am sorry you found the single room "pokey" however single rooms are single rooms because they are not big enough to be double rooms. We are always happy to accommodate guests specific requirements, and if you let us know in advance, we will endeavour to make sure that we allocate a room to suit individual needs. As no-one should have to suffer the "fuzzy end of the lollipop" We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ebury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

Fantastic hotel and a very enjoyable stay for 3 days. Our room was a good size and very clean, with an excellent bathroom and comfortable bed. Very helpful and friendly staff, breakfast was superb and the location is ideal for all the sights in Canterbury as just a 10-15 minute walk. The indoor pool and jacuzzi was a real bonus, and a great way to relax and get warm after sightseeing on a cold winter's day! Would definitely stay again if visiting the area in future.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQ2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

I can't really fault our one-night stay at the Ebury. Our top-floor room was nicely decorated in keeping with the period style of the hotel, with a comfy bed and what looked like brand-new towels. It was also spotlessly clean and very quiet. The icing on the cake was a lovely view over the rear garden. The staff were helpful and friendly and the English breakfast was filling and very tasty. If you held a gun to my head and forced me to make a criticism, it would be that the coffee tasted like instant, rather than filter, but that really is a very minor niggle.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinklady022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

Enjoyed this hotel very much. Room was large and comfortable. Walking distance to the sights and sounds of canterbury. Breakfast excellent, food very tasty, service very good. We had a misunderstanding re the breakfast on 1st morning and it was solved within a few minutes and with a smile.....we will certainly recommend this hotel to our friends and we will be booking another visit next year and staying with Ebury Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candu51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

The rooms were perfect for our need. Family of 5, three children. We had 1 double bed and second room with 2 single beds and a sitting room with a all facilities, can seep up to 2 more. with everything from kettle to dishwasher!
It felt like a private pool, a bit small but enought to have a few more families in. Very clean.
5 minute walk to the centre. enoughparkig. vry good breakfast with good vegitarian options.
The onlysmll point, the sofa could havedone with a good hoovering.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank headache123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

We found the hotel very clean if rather old fashioned. It is in easy walking distance of the city and has good parking. It was value for money but the restaurant let it down. There was one other diner, and a decidedly staid atmosphere. We could only think the french chef was on holiday because we were served good pub grub but nothing like we had been led to believe we would have from reading the menu.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.8 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
1.0 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments

Property: Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Address: 65-67 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ebury Hotel is located a short walk from Canterbury city centre and the cathedral, this 15 bedroom elegant Victorian building is situated in its own gardens. All bedrooms are ensuite, and have Freeview tv channels, flat screen tvs, free fibre optic wi-fi, and welcome trays. The double rooms all have kingsize beds. Family rooms are available. Facilities include a large free carpark, indoor heated pool, Henry's Bar,the sun terrace and gardens. Two bedroomed serviced apartments located in the hotel grounds are also available. Self-catering cottages are available on weekly lets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ebury Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing