We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Comfortable traditional English hotel. While the decor is possibly a bit dated, the hotel is warm, very clean and very comfortable. Thee breakfast is cooked to order and is outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    170
    65
    11
    4
See reviews for
97
204
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Professional, if not particularly warm, welcome at this nicely presented, traditional, hotel about 10 minutes gentle stroll from Canterbury City Centre. Our bedroom (number 4) was beautifully clean, and a spacious room with decent sized bathroom, looking out over attractive gardens and the swimming pool at the rear of the hotel. Plenty of hangers in the wardrobe, which also offered a trouser press, basic hospitality tray, spare blanket and pillow. The shower was efficient, with good hot water and water pressure, the bath a little small, but perfectly adequate. Crabtree and Evelyn soap and bath products were a nice touch, as was the jar of cotton wool in the bathroom. A flat screen TV was available in the room, although picture/reception wasn't fantastic. Two real criticisms of the bedroom - very low wattage bedside lamps; it was impossible to read in bed without the overhead light on - and the truly dreadful mattress/divan. The bed itself was a good size, with nice, crisp, bed linen but the mattress felt distinctly tired - as did we, after two nights trying to sleep on the creakiest divan base I have ever had the misfortune to lie on. The slightest movement of any limb produced ear shattering creaking from both sides of the bed - which was a shame, because whilst the hotel looks over a very busy main road at the front, it was quiet and peaceful at the back ... as long as we were lying completely immobile, that is.
Good cooked breakfast available, although the choice of cereal and fruit was limited. We ate dinner in the hotel on one night of our stay, which was reasonable value for money ~ a pleasant, rather than an outstanding, dining experience. A comfortable lounge with books to borrow is available for guests; again, service was efficient and professional, but not a lot of atmosphere. Overall impression - not fantastic value for money at £130 a night including breakfast, (but Canterbury is expensive during peak season) ~ but if we had been able to get a decent night's sleep our perception might have been quite different.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeachF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliCanterbury, Owner at Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 23 September 2010
I am sorry you experienced a dreadful bed, every effort is made to check the working order of the rooms on a daily basis, however the devans had not been checked, and yes yours was creaky. This has now been replaced, as have three others, so we thank you for your comments. We have now also put brighter bulbs in the bed-side lamps. I am glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope that we may accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Rooms are clean and spacious, with flat screen TV, but quite hot, and there is road noise if you open the windows. Furniture is a little dated, but the staff are friendly and helpful. Evening meal was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mifccak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Our stay at the Ebury was perfect in every way. The room was large, light and airy with a view over the large garden. The, cooked to order, breakfast was excellent as was dinner. The staff were polite and attentive but not overbearing.
The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the cathedral which was no problem.
There is ample parking in the drive.
We would not hesitate to book there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freelance60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We stayed at this hotel last week with my mum and Nan whilst on a short getaway. The hotel was very accommodating, the food was excellent, both in the evening and breakfast. The pool was slightly tired looking, but other than that the hotel was excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiny0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Eifel
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Clean, somfortable, tasteful, all details attended to from the parking place to the final checkout after a wholesome, full breakfast. 'Would visit again gladly.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank From_South_Eifel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

We had two great days in Canterbury this week and were very happy with our choice of hotel. We had room 4 on the back overlooking the lovely gardens. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated in keeping with the elegance of this fine old house. Having the room at the back was very peaceful, can't comment on rooms at the front ~ it is a busy road. The service was very good and the breakfast and evening meal in the restaurant were good. The pool area is a little 'tired' looking but served the purpose. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.8 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
1.0 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments

Property: Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Address: 65-67 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ebury Hotel is located a short walk from Canterbury city centre and the cathedral, this 15 bedroom elegant Victorian building is situated in its own gardens. All bedrooms are ensuite, and have Freeview tv channels, flat screen tvs, free fibre optic wi-fi, and welcome trays. The double rooms all have kingsize beds. Family rooms are available. Facilities include a large free carpark, indoor heated pool, Henry's Bar,the sun terrace and gardens. Two bedroomed serviced apartments located in the hotel grounds are also available. Self-catering cottages are available on weekly lets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ebury Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing