We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cathedral Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Nice little hotel in the heart of Canterbury. Nice, friendly, welcoming staff. Nicely preserved rooms, clean and comfortable beds with flat screen TV. The hotel is in the middle of town, so no need to walk very far. Downsides: Some rooms face out on to the street, so is very noisy. The hotel provides earplugs, but not nice NOT to get any sleep. Not all rooms are on suite. The guests are usually very nice, so don't mind sharing bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dharm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Dharm P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your kind words.

We're sorry to hear you found your room noisy. All the rooms facing the street have secondary glazing which helps to block street noise very effectively, but as we're aware some people are lighter sleepers, we do also place earplugs in the rooms.

As you mentioned in your review, some of our rooms have shared bathroom and toilet facilities. This allows us to offer accommodation also for those traveling on a budget, giving them, too, a chance to enjoy the hotel's magnificent views and location.

We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

Kind regards,
Iida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    118
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
64
170
51
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel 2nights, and can not wait to return, a warm welcome from the owners on arrival, bags taken to rooms, which are warm cosy and immaculate , the owners have it just right.
Canterbury is a beautiful town , the view of the cathedral from the hotel is amazing, So to find this Gem of a Hotel was the icing on the cake. highly recommended,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.

We make every effort to ensure our guests enjoy their stay, so it is great to hear you had a nice time staying with us. We look forward to seeing you here again soon!

Best regards,
Iida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night short break at this most delightful hotel which has a very central location (the Cathedral can seen from many of the windows) and is full of character due to the age of the building but being brought up to 21st Century by incorporating modern facilities.

The welcome by Nick at reception was excellent helping us with our bags to the room and advising us on where best to park the car. The nearest car park is very handy only a few minutes’ walk away and very reasonable at only £6 a day.

Don’t be put off by the reception area the owners are refurbishing the hotel and have completed a great job on the bedrooms but are yet to get to reception area.

We stayed in a double room called Tranquillity the room was spacious spotlessly clean and very tastefully furnished. The bed was very comfortable and the linen was high quality and changed every day. The en-suit was very modern and the power shower luxuriant, high quality fluffy towels again changed every day.
Price includes a very substantial continental breakfast but can also recommend the full English option.

The owners and all the staff were very friendly and helpful and make you feel as a friend straight away.

We really enjoyed our stay at The Cathedral Gate Hotel and will definitely be going back so please don’t tell too many of your friends let’s just keep it to ourselves or we might not be able to get a reservation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noxof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Owner at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough and positive review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your break with us and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Canterbury

Kind Regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushmills
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous hotel. It's a real boutique experience in the center of the old town. Eating, shopping and the Canterbury Cathedral. Could it be any better? I wanted to read Canterbury Tales while there, but everything at the Gate was so beautiful, I decided to put that on hold. Thanks Debbie, Nick and Oliver.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanPhyllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Owner at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Canterbury

Kind Regards

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

The town has a cozy, old style theme to it and the hotel is no exception. Perfect place if you're looking for somewhere with a relaxing bed and breakfast feel. The hotel is booming with history st almost 600 years old and is located right next to Canterbury Cathedral and it's gate, giving an amazing view. The staff is friendly and cooks you a personal continental breakfast (or a more elaborate breakfast at your request). The hotel is very unique and right in the heart of the town and its top shops and restaurants.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tyero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Owner at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay with us. Feedback is always appreciated so that we can see how we are doing. We are delighted with your positive comments and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Canterbury.

Kind Regards

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at this fantastic hotel when visiting friends in Canterbury. It is full of character with fantastic views of the Cathedral to the rear and the Butter Market to the front. The floors are a little uneven but what else would you expect of a building dating back to the 14th century? The bedrooms have been tastefully decorated and furnished with quality products. Our room was absolutely immaculate, scrupulously clean and the bed incredibly comfortable.

The staff employed at the hotel could not have been more helpful and had an excellent knowledge of the city. Debbie, the owner, was happy to offer advice on shops, places of interest and even took the trouble to book us in to a fantastic local restaurant for an evening meal.

The full english breakfast was also excellent and the table service could not have been better. The meal was served in a room on the first floor, at the front of the building where you can people watch as you dine.

I stay in a lot of hotels for business and it was a joy to discover one of this quality, reasonably priced and full of charm and character. I will certainly be visiting again.

Room Tip: Debbie, the owner, advised but the front room that I stayed in was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Owner at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We always appreciate feedback and are delighted that you had such a positive experience at the Cathedral Gate.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next come to Canterbury

Kind Regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is the type of hotel you'll either love or hate. What's to love? The hotel is full of character, with winding staircases, nooks and crannies, and old fashioned windows with views of the old butter market or the cathedral. The floors are seriously sloping and you get a generous continental breakfast included in your room price. The hotel is located as close as it is possible to get to the cathedral and is not far from the Channel Tunnel by car. Our bedroom and bathroom (Twilight) were modern and tastefully furnished and included tea and coffee facilities.

What's to dislike? Access is along a busy pedestrians only street, although you are allowed to use it to drop off passengers and bags. You may then have to park some distance away, after obtaining a discount parking permit from the hotel. If your room overlooks the street, you will hear noise from late night, often foul-mouthed and belligerent passers-by. The main entrance is up a steep staircase and reception is in need of smartening up a bit.

If you like modern, chain hotels or are unable to negotiate stairs, you may not like this hotel. Otherwise I would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SherwoodSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Gate Hotel

Property: Cathedral Gate Hotel
Address: 36 Burgate, Canterbury CT1 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cathedral Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Gate Canterbury
Hotel Cathedral Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing