We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, South Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a surprise ”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

If you in Canterbury and look for a lovely place to stay look no further :)

£80 for a night stay with breakfast, lovely room, nice staff and what a view!

We was told they had just taken over the business and refurbished the venue. Wish you good luck!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LeilaRose78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear reviewer,

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Cathedral Gate hotel.

You're quite right, the owners of the hotel took over the business only about a year ago, and have been refurbishing and updating the facilities since then -- while of course preserving the original features of the building. Majority of the rooms are nearly done now, and we hope our guests will like them as much as we do!

We look forward to welcoming you here again when you're next in Canterbury.

Kind regards,
Iida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    125
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
67
179
55
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had a really lovely weekend stay, very friendly and helpful staff, hotel was spotless, we had a good varied choice for breakfast, perfect location with stunning view of the cathedral, fully of history, we couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauladillon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to submit the review, and for your kind words - we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We fully agree with you about the view, it is something truly special!

Hopefully we will see you again when you're next in Canterbury.

Best regards,
Iida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I've stayed here three times now, twice on business and once with the family. The location is perfect right next to the cathedral, I would always try and get a cathedral facing room, as its quieter and has a nice view. The rooms are always clean and full of character, I really like this hotel ! If there's one fault they could make the breakfast choice easier to understand. On my last visit I was offered a cooked breakfast which isn't included, if they put a menu board up in the breakfast room it would make it simpler to choose.
I would always stay here when visiting canterbury.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us again - we are delighted to hear that you have had another enjoyable stay with us.

We are currently in the process of getting menu cards printed for the tables, which we hope will make the breakfast service easier for both guests and our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you here again soon!

Best regards,
Iida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Nice little hotel in the heart of Canterbury. Nice, friendly, welcoming staff. Nicely preserved rooms, clean and comfortable beds with flat screen TV. The hotel is in the middle of town, so no need to walk very far. Downsides: Some rooms face out on to the street, so is very noisy. The hotel provides earplugs, but not nice NOT to get any sleep. Not all rooms are on suite. The guests are usually very nice, so don't mind sharing bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dharm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Dharm P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your kind words.

We're sorry to hear you found your room noisy. All the rooms facing the street have secondary glazing which helps to block street noise very effectively, but as we're aware some people are lighter sleepers, we do also place earplugs in the rooms.

As you mentioned in your review, some of our rooms have shared bathroom and toilet facilities. This allows us to offer accommodation also for those traveling on a budget, giving them, too, a chance to enjoy the hotel's magnificent views and location.

We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

Kind regards,
Iida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel 2nights, and can not wait to return, a warm welcome from the owners on arrival, bags taken to rooms, which are warm cosy and immaculate , the owners have it just right.
Canterbury is a beautiful town , the view of the cathedral from the hotel is amazing, So to find this Gem of a Hotel was the icing on the cake. highly recommended,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.

We make every effort to ensure our guests enjoy their stay, so it is great to hear you had a nice time staying with us. We look forward to seeing you here again soon!

Best regards,
Iida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night short break at this most delightful hotel which has a very central location (the Cathedral can seen from many of the windows) and is full of character due to the age of the building but being brought up to 21st Century by incorporating modern facilities.

The welcome by Nick at reception was excellent helping us with our bags to the room and advising us on where best to park the car. The nearest car park is very handy only a few minutes’ walk away and very reasonable at only £6 a day.

Don’t be put off by the reception area the owners are refurbishing the hotel and have completed a great job on the bedrooms but are yet to get to reception area.

We stayed in a double room called Tranquillity the room was spacious spotlessly clean and very tastefully furnished. The bed was very comfortable and the linen was high quality and changed every day. The en-suit was very modern and the power shower luxuriant, high quality fluffy towels again changed every day.
Price includes a very substantial continental breakfast but can also recommend the full English option.

The owners and all the staff were very friendly and helpful and make you feel as a friend straight away.

We really enjoyed our stay at The Cathedral Gate Hotel and will definitely be going back so please don’t tell too many of your friends let’s just keep it to ourselves or we might not be able to get a reservation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noxof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Owner at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough and positive review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your break with us and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Canterbury

Kind Regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushmills
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous hotel. It's a real boutique experience in the center of the old town. Eating, shopping and the Canterbury Cathedral. Could it be any better? I wanted to read Canterbury Tales while there, but everything at the Gate was so beautiful, I decided to put that on hold. Thanks Debbie, Nick and Oliver.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanPhyllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Owner at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Canterbury

Kind Regards

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Gate Hotel

Property: Cathedral Gate Hotel
Address: 36 Burgate, Canterbury CT1 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cathedral Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Gate Canterbury
Hotel Cathedral Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing