We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ancient and quaint - not for the fainthearted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

What a fantastic old hotel! Our room overlooked the grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, the view as you lie in bed is the main body of the Cathedral. Stuffed with old beams, wonky floors and charm, this is the place for you if you appreciate character. Topped off with nice staff and breakfast in bed delivered free of charge, this place was a delight to stay. Worth it if you can live with the shared toilets and shower room!.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Cathedral, although the front is nice too.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Sue S,

Thank you for the lovely review - we're glad to hear your stay was enjoyable!

As you mentioned in your review, some of our rooms have shared bathroom and toilet facilities, while others have en-suites. This allows us to offer accommodation to suit all budgets, giving those traveling on a budget, too, a chance to enjoy the fantastic location and cathedral views.

We hope to see you staying with us again when you're next in Canterbury.

Regards,
Iida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
There are newer reviews for Cathedral Gate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Could not be more handy for touring Canturbury! What a treat to lie abed in a lovely fourposter and hear the cathedral chimes and birdsong.
The hotel is not for those with bad backs or knees as the terrain shifts (floors sag, ceilings dip, there's a short trip across the roof tops...) and there is no lift but the charm more than makes up for the surprises.
The staff was lovely and the breakfast delicious.
I recommend this to anyone looking for a delightful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review - we're pleased to hear your stay with us was enjoyable.

The hotel certainly has some character: the wonky floors and exposed beams really make it what it is. However, at times such things as not having a lift can cause a bit of inconvenience, but our staff are always more than happy to give their helping hand with luggage.

We hope to see you again when you're next in Canterbury!

Regards,
Iida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

It is literally at the gate of the Cathedral - 10 steps from the entrance of the Cathedral!! It is right within the shopping/dining area of the town and hence everything is so convenient.

The building itself certainly has long history. But the room is clean, comfortable and modern. The backyard of the hotel is facing the Cathedral - nice view. There are quite a few of stairs from the street level to the lobby and within the hotel building. Hence moving large-size luggage is an issue. But the staff there are very kind and very willing to offer their helping hands.

The downsize of the location is that the carpark is about 5-10 minutes walk to the hotel. Fortunately we can drive to the hotel entrance and drop the luggage before parking the car. But do not rely on the GPS as it cannot avoid the street that is restricted to pedestrian only.

All in all, we like it and certainly money for value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunnsHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear guest,

We'd like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Due to the nature of the building, there are quite a lot of stairs and no lift, which can make moving luggage a bit difficult. However, our staff are always happy to help with this.

Thank you for bringing the GPS issue to our attention. We have added a note about this to our confirmation email along with further instructions on how to get here, hopefully making it easier for our future guests to find us!

Regards,
Iida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We actually stayed here a few months back but I forgot to review at the time... We chose this hotel because of the excellent historical location (cathedral gate!) and this is certainly impressive and the hotel building itself has kept it's original features and charm. However, after taking in the oldy worldy selling points of this hotel, I remember feeling distinctly underwhelmed!
The place was quite un-atmospheric and the rooms were a bit old and tired (yes I know the building is old, but decor and furnishings could be better kept!).
The staff although friendly, were a bit too relaxed - there was a young lad hoovering with his pants hanging out when we went to check out! I thought he might just be cleaning, but turns out he was reception staff too...
Overall, I feel that this hotel gets away with a lot because of it's location. If you're looking for an interesting place to stay, go for it. But a romantic getaway or a touch of luxury, shop elsewhere!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Owner at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We note that you stayed in September 2013. We took over the hotel at the end of March 2013 and immediately began refurbishing rooms and are continuing to do so. Indeed by the end of next week 80% of the rooms will have been fully refurbished. The remaining 20% of rooms have had makeovers, including new carpets and furniture. In the past the hotel has relied on its location alone to attract guests but our approach is very different. We want people to enjoy their stay and return when they are in Canterbury.

Our cleaning staff are on duty until 3 o'clock and after that time receptionists are responsible for ensuring the hotel's high level of cleanliness is maintained.

Regards
Debbie and Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Thank you Debbie & colleagues for a relaxing stay & a friendly accommodating welcome. Your hotel really is in a fabulous central location with the Cathedral directly behind so couldn't be better for enjoying the delights of Canterbury. The rooms we & our friends stayed in were spotless, comfortable & tastefully furnished. The hospitality, breakfast & value is fantastic!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HANDR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear HANDR_12,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We're all so pleased you and your friends enjoyed the time you spent here at Cathedral Gate, and look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in Canterbury!

Regards,
Iida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is a beautiful little hotel in a beautiful location with staggering views of the cathedral and ideally located in the city centre. The room was clean and comfortable having been recently renovated to a very high standard. We were moved rooms on arrival due to renovation works to higher priced rooms with no extra cost to ourselves. The hotel itself was lovely and quiet at night and the staff are a true credit to the management. The cost of the hotel was very reasonable and we will definitely be returning soon!

Room Tip: Cathedral facing rooms are definitely worth the extra few pounds!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HannahD17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear HannahD17,

We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and would like to thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review!

We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

Kind regards,
Iida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

What a marvellous find. The location was perfect - near, indeed overlooking, the Cathedral. The room was both clean and comfortable, recently renovated, with fluffy towels and quality toiletries. The breakfast was copious, and brought to our room. The price was eminently reasonable. Most of all, though, the team running the place could not have been more welcoming, kinder or more helpful. Every person we met went out of their way to help. You would not get better service in a deluxe hotel. If I came again to Canterbury, I'd stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David2H_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Owner at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We are pleased that you had such an enjoyable time at our hotel

Regards
Debbie and Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,955 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
1,113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#10 of 16 in Canterbury
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Gate Hotel

Address: 36 Burgate, Canterbury CT1 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £76 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Cathedral Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Gate Canterbury
Hotel Cathedral Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing