We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Quaint Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Quaint Hotel”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed at the Cathedral Gate for 3 nights a few weeks ago - What a fabulous, Quaint hotel.
Couldn't be any closer to the Cathedral and centrally located for all of Canterbury.
Excellent Staff and Management . Lovely room overlooking the square. and great value for money.
Looking forward to going back again

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the Cathedral - others a view of the Town Square out front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    125
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
66
179
54
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We loved the location and views as well as the amazing silence! Literally by the Cathedral gate, we had a very nice and clean room with view on the square. Staff was nice and helpful and breakfast was excellent. Only down side: out room was not en-suite, we had to share but must admit I did not ask when booking... We unloaded the suitcase at the hotel and got directions and a discount for a nearby parking! A good address!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Caroline C,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you mentioned, some of the rooms have en-suites while some have shared bathroom and toilet facilities. This allows us to offer accommodation to suit all budgets in this fantastic location. Booking websites will display both options (provided there are rooms of that type available), or if booking by phone, you can ask the receptionist for whichever type of room you prefer.

We hope to see you again when you're next in Canterbury - perhaps staying in one of our gorgeous en-suite rooms!

Kind regards,
Iida
Cathedral Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Stay here. If you want great character, service and a location that can't be beat, stay here. The hotel dates from the 1400's and literally leans against the Henry VII gate to the cathedral precinct and runs across the tops of a number of the street level retail stores. They give parking permits for the city lots that lie just outside the old city walls and so we parked and then didn't move the car for the two days we were here. Loved Cantabury.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My boyfriend and I just returned from a night in Canterbury and were really impressed with this hotel. The staff went above and beyond, particularly the manager who came with us in our car to the car park, as it was a little tricky to find with the one way system and narrow cobbled roads. The hotel was quaint, with sloping floors and lots of character. The room was refurbished to a high standard and the views of the cathedral were simply stunning. Overall an excellent place to stay- if we return to Canterbury we would definitely stay at the Cathedral Gate again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Caroline I,

Thank you for the glowing review! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in excellent customer service, and all of our staff are always happy to help with whatever they can!

We look forward to welcoming you back when you're next in Canterbury.

Kind regards,
Iida
Cathedral Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

What can I say, stayed there bank holiday weekend in May, two adults two children. Can't do enough for you, excellent location, really friendly, the boy's were really helpful, nothing is to much trouble, would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyblundell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words - we're happy to hear your stay with us during the busy Bank Holiday weekend was enjoyable!

We hope to see you here again when you're next in Canterbury.

Kind regards,
Iida
Cathedral Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The room I had was tiny, the floor was slanted and I had to use the shared bathroom. BUT I had a view of the cathedral! And it was all so romantic and... cute. The old house has a lot of charm and it just fits with the whole vibe of the town. (Almost like escaping from this century.) The hotel's staff were very friendly. ((My stay was back in the end of November 2012, I have been wanting to write this because I really did want to share my thoughts.))

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We're glad your stay was enjoyable.

Since your stay with us in November 2012, the hotel has had a change in ownership, and majority of the rooms and bathroom facilities have undergone a significant refurbishment, while still retaining its many original features. We hope these updates will make staying here even more enjoyable.

We hope to see you again when you're next in Canterbury!

Kind regards,
Iida
Cathedral Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It all seems very idyllic having a room right in the centre and across from the square and right by the entrance to the
cathedral.

We walked from the public car park to the hotel. We were being served the receptionist but was rudely interrupted
by another patron. The receptionist was then going to serve him before finishing with us as we had to rush to put the car park ticket on.
If she had gone off we well may have had a fine !

The rooms were nice but we didn't have an en-suite bathroom. Also the room was sloped which at first was obviously charming but it impacted sleep !

The MAIN problem was sleep. Outside was loud all night long with people shouting drunk outside. WE literally had no sleep but low and behold in the morning when
double checking the draws we found ear plugs. This suggests that this must be a known issue so why were we not told the ear plugs were there !

Breakfast was nice but too long and drawn out. It would be far easier to have a the continental breakfast on a table rather than course by course which took an hour.

Overall, I was glad I paid less through late rooms if I paid the usual rate I would have been quite unhappy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zola123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Gate Hotel

Property: Cathedral Gate Hotel
Address: 36 Burgate, Canterbury CT1 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cathedral Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Gate Canterbury
Hotel Cathedral Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing