We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed at Cathedral Gate Hotel for 5 nights in April and would recommend the house in all ways! On first because of the central location in the city center, next to the Cathedral and Christ Church Gate as its access. From here everything was really easy to reach on foot.
In advance of my stay, directly after booking, the staff made every effort via email to offer me a "suitable" room for my stay. So it turned out to be the just renovated room "Dawn" with splendid views towards the Cathedral and the very peaceful precincts. The room was small, cute, very clean and quiet, nicely furnished and equipped with TV and tea and coffee making facilities. As a single room it had a shared bathroom; on my floor with 4 rooms in total there were two freshly and very tastefully renovated bathrooms that were spotlessly clean at any time of the day. The house itself was originally built in 1230 (I hope I remember right) and breathes the Middle Ages pure. Narrow staircases that open up several tracts, here a few steps, there some low lintels, sloping floors. All very charming if you are not physically restricted. My continental breakfast, included in the price of the room, has always been a good basis for the day out. There were tea / coffee / chocolate, cereals, croissants, toast, jam, yogurt and every morning a fresh fruit salad only made by fresh – and often exotic - fruit without a single piece of canned fruit. Every morning it was served in a most friendly way by the staff in the 2 charming breakfast rooms overlooking the Butter Market. This unexcited friendliness of both the owner and all staff has to be mentioned at last: You could feel their desire, to make every guest's stay as pleasant as possible.
So if you are looking for a house with soul, history and authenticity, choose the Cathedral Gate Hotel! You won´t regret!

Room Tip: ask for freshly renovated rooms rooms towards the precincts have stunning views and are very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigitte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed at the Cathedral Gate for 3 nights a few weeks ago - What a fabulous, Quaint hotel.
Couldn't be any closer to the Cathedral and centrally located for all of Canterbury.
Excellent Staff and Management . Lovely room overlooking the square. and great value for money.
Looking forward to going back again

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the Cathedral - others a view of the Town Square out front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We loved the location and views as well as the amazing silence! Literally by the Cathedral gate, we had a very nice and clean room with view on the square. Staff was nice and helpful and breakfast was excellent. Only down side: out room was not en-suite, we had to share but must admit I did not ask when booking... We unloaded the suitcase at the hotel and got directions and a discount for a nearby parking! A good address!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Caroline C,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you mentioned, some of the rooms have en-suites while some have shared bathroom and toilet facilities. This allows us to offer accommodation to suit all budgets in this fantastic location. Booking websites will display both options (provided there are rooms of that type available), or if booking by phone, you can ask the receptionist for whichever type of room you prefer.

We hope to see you again when you're next in Canterbury - perhaps staying in one of our gorgeous en-suite rooms!

Kind regards,
Iida
Cathedral Gate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Stay here. If you want great character, service and a location that can't be beat, stay here. The hotel dates from the 1400's and literally leans against the Henry VII gate to the cathedral precinct and runs across the tops of a number of the street level retail stores. They give parking permits for the city lots that lie just outside the old city walls and so we parked and then didn't move the car for the two days we were here. Loved Cantabury.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My boyfriend and I just returned from a night in Canterbury and were really impressed with this hotel. The staff went above and beyond, particularly the manager who came with us in our car to the car park, as it was a little tricky to find with the one way system and narrow cobbled roads. The hotel was quaint, with sloping floors and lots of character. The room was refurbished to a high standard and the views of the cathedral were simply stunning. Overall an excellent place to stay- if we return to Canterbury we would definitely stay at the Cathedral Gate again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Caroline I,

Thank you for the glowing review! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in excellent customer service, and all of our staff are always happy to help with whatever they can!

We look forward to welcoming you back when you're next in Canterbury.

Kind regards,
Iida
Cathedral Gate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

What can I say, stayed there bank holiday weekend in May, two adults two children. Can't do enough for you, excellent location, really friendly, the boy's were really helpful, nothing is to much trouble, would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyblundell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words - we're happy to hear your stay with us during the busy Bank Holiday weekend was enjoyable!

We hope to see you here again when you're next in Canterbury.

Kind regards,
Iida
Cathedral Gate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The room I had was tiny, the floor was slanted and I had to use the shared bathroom. BUT I had a view of the cathedral! And it was all so romantic and... cute. The old house has a lot of charm and it just fits with the whole vibe of the town. (Almost like escaping from this century.) The hotel's staff were very friendly. ((My stay was back in the end of November 2012, I have been wanting to write this because I really did want to share my thoughts.))

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We're glad your stay was enjoyable.

Since your stay with us in November 2012, the hotel has had a change in ownership, and majority of the rooms and bathroom facilities have undergone a significant refurbishment, while still retaining its many original features. We hope these updates will make staying here even more enjoyable.

We hope to see you again when you're next in Canterbury!

Kind regards,
Iida
Cathedral Gate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
1,179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Gate Hotel

Address: 36 Burgate, Canterbury CT1 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £50 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cathedral Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Gate Canterbury
Hotel Cathedral Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing