We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel - highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is quite simply a fantastic hotel right in the heart of Canterbury. Rooms are spacious,light and airy with unfussy,good quality furniture. Staff are friendly,helpful and create a warm atmosphere. Price is great too - we paid £120 per night for 3 of us. If you visit Canterbury this is the place to stay - just the best.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I finished our first trip to the U.K with a three night stay at this lovely little hotel in Canterbury. We loved that we were right in the middle of everything - literally right next to the Cathedral Gate, and amidst lots of shops, pubs and historical site.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was clean, and the lounges much appreciated.

If you like charming and quirky, this is the place for you.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sydney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I would not visit canterbury again without staying in this hotel. The location and charm can't be beat and the room was great, with superb fuzzy towels. High quality amenities across the board, while still being in a centuries old building. Best of both worlds.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chuckluchador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this lovely review -- we're so happy you had an enjoyable stay with us, and hope to see you again when you're next in Canterbury!

Kind regards,
Iida
Cathedral Gate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We spent our honeymoon in Joy, the rooms have different names! Ours overlooked the cathedral. The staff allowed our family to decorate our room which was a lovely touch, nice food, old and quirky building and great staff, thank you, we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for Joy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We ended up booking a room with a shared bathroom, which I have to say I've never done before, but we booked late, so we took the risk. The room was delightful, with a view over the square, and a very cosy and comfortable feel. You get some noise from the street below, but personally I loved hearing the hustle and bustle, and didn't cause us any concern at all. The bathroom, quite honestly looked like it had been refitted for our arrival, as it was absolutely immaculately clean, and we had absolutely no qualms about it being shared at all. Lovely to be able to see the cathedral out of the window while having a morning shower.

On our arrival to Canterbury, we were able to leave our luggage at reception, so that we could explore the city without any luggage, and our bags were waiting in our room when we arrived. The reception will also sell you highly reduced parking permits, allowing access to most of the city's car parks for an evening or 24 hour rate - perfect for us!

Breakfast itself was very tasty, although it all felt like a bit of a fraught affair, as they were experiencing a real rush, and some other guests were getting a little uptight.

So overall, we would highly recommend this hotel. The location is absolutely perfect for exploring the city, the rooms are very comfortable and clean, and the staff are really friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: If you want to save some money, go for the shared bathroom. If thou are likely to be disturbed by s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the thorough review - it's great to hear your stay with us was enjoyable!

Most of the shared bathroom facilities have undergone a refurbishment this spring, and we're glad they were a positive surprise to you.

We'd also like to thank you for your feedback regarding breakfast. We acknowledge the current issues which are mainly caused by the limited space available, and are working very hard to improve where we can to ensure the breakfast service goes as smoothly as possible.
We offer a free of charge 'Breakfast in bedroom' service as well -- a great option for those wanting to enjoy their breakfast in the tranquil of their room (or even on the back terrace facing the cathedral!), without having to worry about hitting the breakfast rush hour.

Hopefully we will see you again when you're next in Canterbury!

Kind regards,
Iida
Cathedral Gate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We went there a couple of weeks ago, first time in Canterbury, the hotel is very, very nice. The staff is very good and the experience sure we will repeat again. Very good value for money in every sense

Room Tip: Any room will do they are in a building with a lot of history, lots
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiegoAriasL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed at Cathedral Gate Hotel for 5 nights in April and would recommend the house in all ways! On first because of the central location in the city center, next to the Cathedral and Christ Church Gate as its access. From here everything was really easy to reach on foot.
In advance of my stay, directly after booking, the staff made every effort via email to offer me a "suitable" room for my stay. So it turned out to be the just renovated room "Dawn" with splendid views towards the Cathedral and the very peaceful precincts. The room was small, cute, very clean and quiet, nicely furnished and equipped with TV and tea and coffee making facilities. As a single room it had a shared bathroom; on my floor with 4 rooms in total there were two freshly and very tastefully renovated bathrooms that were spotlessly clean at any time of the day. The house itself was originally built in 1230 (I hope I remember right) and breathes the Middle Ages pure. Narrow staircases that open up several tracts, here a few steps, there some low lintels, sloping floors. All very charming if you are not physically restricted. My continental breakfast, included in the price of the room, has always been a good basis for the day out. There were tea / coffee / chocolate, cereals, croissants, toast, jam, yogurt and every morning a fresh fruit salad only made by fresh – and often exotic - fruit without a single piece of canned fruit. Every morning it was served in a most friendly way by the staff in the 2 charming breakfast rooms overlooking the Butter Market. This unexcited friendliness of both the owner and all staff has to be mentioned at last: You could feel their desire, to make every guest's stay as pleasant as possible.
So if you are looking for a house with soul, history and authenticity, choose the Cathedral Gate Hotel! You won´t regret!

Room Tip: ask for freshly renovated rooms rooms towards the precincts have stunning views and are very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigitte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,017 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
1,141 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
748 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Gate Hotel

Address: 36 Burgate, Canterbury CT1 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £61 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Cathedral Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Gate Canterbury
Hotel Cathedral Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing