We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“funnest hotel for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Region of Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“funnest hotel for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Canterbury pilgrims have slept in this quaintly creaky place since the 1400's. We were rewarded with a magnificent view of the cathedral. It’s easy to spend an entire day touring this cathedral, if you’re interested in church history. The hotel staff were fantastic, helpful, friendly. Hotel is clean, room fitted in fresh modern style, lounge, small bar, fun slanted dining room...only disappointment was missing Basil Faulty come running through opening and slamming doors!

Room Tip: couple roooms have Cathedral view...just ask and ye shall revieve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonandSydBellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    123
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
65
178
53
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

One of the best historic buildings I've stayed in. Very quirky with sloping floors and slanted windows! Great friendly staff and clean rooms. Fabulous location right next to the cathedral, a real find!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words -- we are delighted to hear your stay with us was enjoyable and hope to see you soon again!

Kind regards,
Iida
Cathedral Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This is quite simply a fantastic hotel right in the heart of Canterbury. Rooms are spacious,light and airy with unfussy,good quality furniture. Staff are friendly,helpful and create a warm atmosphere. Price is great too - we paid £120 per night for 3 of us. If you visit Canterbury this is the place to stay - just the best.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I finished our first trip to the U.K with a three night stay at this lovely little hotel in Canterbury. We loved that we were right in the middle of everything - literally right next to the Cathedral Gate, and amidst lots of shops, pubs and historical site.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was clean, and the lounges much appreciated.

If you like charming and quirky, this is the place for you.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sydney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I would not visit canterbury again without staying in this hotel. The location and charm can't be beat and the room was great, with superb fuzzy towels. High quality amenities across the board, while still being in a centuries old building. Best of both worlds.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuckluchador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this lovely review -- we're so happy you had an enjoyable stay with us, and hope to see you again when you're next in Canterbury!

Kind regards,
Iida
Cathedral Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We spent our honeymoon in Joy, the rooms have different names! Ours overlooked the cathedral. The staff allowed our family to decorate our room which was a lovely touch, nice food, old and quirky building and great staff, thank you, we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for Joy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We ended up booking a room with a shared bathroom, which I have to say I've never done before, but we booked late, so we took the risk. The room was delightful, with a view over the square, and a very cosy and comfortable feel. You get some noise from the street below, but personally I loved hearing the hustle and bustle, and didn't cause us any concern at all. The bathroom, quite honestly looked like it had been refitted for our arrival, as it was absolutely immaculately clean, and we had absolutely no qualms about it being shared at all. Lovely to be able to see the cathedral out of the window while having a morning shower.

On our arrival to Canterbury, we were able to leave our luggage at reception, so that we could explore the city without any luggage, and our bags were waiting in our room when we arrived. The reception will also sell you highly reduced parking permits, allowing access to most of the city's car parks for an evening or 24 hour rate - perfect for us!

Breakfast itself was very tasty, although it all felt like a bit of a fraught affair, as they were experiencing a real rush, and some other guests were getting a little uptight.

So overall, we would highly recommend this hotel. The location is absolutely perfect for exploring the city, the rooms are very comfortable and clean, and the staff are really friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: If you want to save some money, go for the shared bathroom. If thou are likely to be disturbed by s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the thorough review - it's great to hear your stay with us was enjoyable!

Most of the shared bathroom facilities have undergone a refurbishment this spring, and we're glad they were a positive surprise to you.

We'd also like to thank you for your feedback regarding breakfast. We acknowledge the current issues which are mainly caused by the limited space available, and are working very hard to improve where we can to ensure the breakfast service goes as smoothly as possible.
We offer a free of charge 'Breakfast in bedroom' service as well -- a great option for those wanting to enjoy their breakfast in the tranquil of their room (or even on the back terrace facing the cathedral!), without having to worry about hitting the breakfast rush hour.

Hopefully we will see you again when you're next in Canterbury!

Kind regards,
Iida
Cathedral Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Gate Hotel

Property: Cathedral Gate Hotel
Address: 36 Burgate, Canterbury CT1 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cathedral Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Gate Canterbury
Hotel Cathedral Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing