We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, room, and view in the city I love”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, room, and view in the city I love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I studied abroad at the University of Kent in Canterbury in 2011. During that time, I fell in love with Canterbury, and made lifelong friends and memories. I have been lucky enough to be able to come back and visit a couple of times in the past few years.

During my last visit to this beautiful city, I stayed in the Canterbury Gate Hotel. It is such a charming little place right in the middle of the city center, and right next to the famous Canterbury Cathedral. Somehow, my girlfriend and I managed to get what I think must be one of the best rooms in the hotel! It was light, clean, airy, and a great view of the cathedral took up the entire window! In addition, you can request breakfast be delivered to your room at no extra cost. Of course, we took the hotel up on that offer since we were so happy with our room.

The hotel staff was also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    123
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
65
177
53
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is an old building, with floors on three stories and a steep staircase. Has been fitted out to modern facilities to a very high standard. Wi fi works right up to the attic. Excellent view of the cathedral from one side but looks over a noisy square to the other side. Continental breakfast free, full English comes at extra cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myjlcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Price for the location and standards was excellent, room at the front was lovely room but noisy at night. I would still stay again even at the front as it's great value for money, nice breakfast and rooms and bathrooms were great and no problem being shared

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MclellanD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don Lorenzo
Level Contributor
203 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Cathedral Gate Hotel, adjoining Canterbury Cathedral, harks back to its founding in 1436 when it served as a hospice for pilgrims and the establishment has been serving travelers continuously since that time. The Inn is certainly quaint and gives the guest a feeling of its long history but it also has been tweaked enough to provide guests with basic comforts without destroying the historical ambiance. Floors slant, narrow hallways and stairways meander, but these are historic essentials. Our room named “Joy” was the very best in the Inn since it overlooked the entrance to the Cathedral itself. Large bright multi-paned windows filled the room with light and provided that glorious view of the Cathedral. The bed was excellent with a washstand and small table completing the furniture. The adjoining bathroom was tiny but adequate. There were good reading lamps. A beautiful orchid framed in the window was a joy in the morning light. The whole room was a judicious melding of the historical with the functional to provide a wonderful experience. I should add that the accompanying breakfast was good and the coffee excellent. For us it perfectly set the stage for a visit to the historical Cathedral.

Room Tip: The room named "Joy" is the best in the house. The view is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roamer70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear roamer70,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We're happy to hear your stay in Canterbury and Cathedral Gate was pleasant. I couldn't agree with you more -- the view from the room 'Joy' is simply stunning!

'Joy' is actually one of the few rooms that haven't been refurbished yet. The owners of the hotel, Debbie and Rob, have been working hard renovating the rooms since taking over the business about 18 months ago, and have been doing a great job. Hopefully in the near future they will get a chance to do 'Joy' as well, and make it even better!

Kind regards,
Iida
Cathedral Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

A friendly place with perfect location, my top floor room ('Dawn') had a stunning view of the cathedral. This back of house room was quiet and the windows could be left open all night. Bathrooms were newly done up and more than adequate, the towels and linens were a high quality, and the continental breakfast gave a good start to the day. If I could change one thing I would eliminate the small green light in the main bedroom light fixture, which cast an eerie glow in the room at night.

Room Tip: choose a room at the back for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Dawn definitely has most stunning views!

We understand that some people are bothered by the little green light. This is why we have had some covers made, so that those who find the light obtrusive can cover it. I apologise if you were not informed about the covers, and will remind our staff members that they should be offered to all of our guests.

We hope to see you again when you're next in Canterbury.

Kind regards,
Iida
Cathedral Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a great stay here recently and we really enjoyed the quaint and gorgeous hotel. it is full of history and the the room is so amazing with its sloping floor and the view of the square. The host is so friendly and kind and offering us a nice coffee whilst we sat in the garden courtyard which look out to the cathedral- amazing view , even though we had our breakfast. i really recommend this place for its quaintness, history, great location and such polite host,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annieben2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Loved the stay at this gorgeous quaint hotel in the heart of Canterbury. Staff were polite and friendly with the room being beautifully traditional. What really was the cherry on the cake for me was that I accidentally left one of my favorite dress's behind & rather than the staff/maids flinging it out, they kept it for 3 months (I couldn't rathem out where I had lost it) and when I called up last week they posted it back to me! Really chuffed & would recommend anyone who wants to visit Canterbury to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Claire D,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We're so pleased to hear your stay was enjoyable, and so glad we could reunite you with your favourite dress!

Hopefully we will meet you again when you're next in Canterbury.

Kind regards,
Iida
Cathedral Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Gate Hotel

Property: Cathedral Gate Hotel
Address: 36 Burgate, Canterbury CT1 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cathedral Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Gate Canterbury
Hotel Cathedral Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing