We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Bramley, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I stay here once a year when in Canterbury for the Kent beer festival. Perfect location being on the doorstep of Cathedral Gate, opposite Butter Market in the heart if old Canterbury. Management and staff only too happy to help, great breakfast and very reasonably priced too!
It's like going back in time with the maze of rooms, creaking corridors , shared WC & showers on some floors - but I wouldn't want it any other way. See you next year!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    127
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
68
180
56
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My room was in the attic! It was a single room, you would never get a double bed in one so small.It boasted "Cathedral views" Well, I could see the towers! The building is very, very old and it was hard to find a bit of floor that was not on a slant. made one feel a bit tipsy! The continental breakfast was substantial, provided the staff got the message that you wanted the FULL continental.(the full English breakfast was £7.50 extra!) It cost £6 a day to park the car. The nearest car park was 5 minutes walk away! Its main attraction was that it was next to the gate of the cathedral (hence the name) right in the centre of the town. Too many staff to get to know any of them but, they were friendly and helpful to a man and woman.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lower floors and avoid all the narrow stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzielu62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stunning hotel (older than the Cathedral gate itself) run by a lovely couple whom did everything they could to make our stay memorable. Dont be put off by the shared bathrooms 9I must admit, I was a little when I read about it) but the bathrooms have just be redone and are stunning (The one on the top floor facing the cathedral has the most incredible view). Our room (Daybreak) looked out over the cathedral and the view was stunning mornign and night. The breakfast (which you can have in your room) was absolutely delicious and the character of the hotel is exceptional/ Loved it! excellent location, would definately come back!

Room Tip: Our room (Daybreak) had an amazing view of the Cathedral - def worth mentioning you want a view (may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ericapLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay at the Cathedral Gate hotel for two nights in July.

We were in the "Joy" room which has amazing views of the cathedral, which is right opposite. The room has not yet been refurbished but was nevertheless clean, with a comfy double bed and en suite bathroom. There were the usual amenities in the room, including a small TV (although it didn't seem to get many channels), tea and coffee making facilities, a hair dryer and toiletries. I think once refurbished it will be very nice indeed. The only thing that was a little disappointing was the bathroom, which was very small and only had a bath (not even a shower attachment), which would have been good to know in advance as my partner doesn't like having baths. Also the basin was in the room itself rather than the bathroom, which was a bit inconvenient.

Staff were very nice and friendly, and always on hand. The continental breakfast was good, and you could pay extra for a cooked breakfast. We didn't go for that option as £7.50 per person in addition to the price of the room seemed a little steep when continental breakfast was free. You could also opt for breakfast to be served in your room for no extra cost which seemed like a very nice idea. The common areas of the hotel (except for the bar and dining room) are a bit shabby and in need of refurbishment, but I'm sure this is next on the owners' list.

One thing that is really nice about the hotel is how central it is, you are right next to the cathedral, and all roads seem to lead back to the square it is in. That can be very handy when looking to drop off souvenirs or pick up a jacket. It is also useful to be able to drive up and drop off bags, and the nearest car park is only a short walk away. The hotel is able to sell 24 hour parking passes at a significant discount to the standard hourly charge, which is well worth it.

It is a shame the website for the hotel isn't a bit better. It would have been nice to have pictures and descriptions of all the rooms (and even better, an opportunity to book each room) and I think it would be useful to have information about the parking tickets, as well as something explaining that wifi is available in the hotel.

Overall I would recommend this hotel, but I don't think it is a bargain at the price, and I was a bit disappointed that the common areas were not nicer and that our bathroom wasn't great. However, the history of the building and it's central location, as well as the great views of the cathedral, override these concerns.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Principessaleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I studied abroad at the University of Kent in Canterbury in 2011. During that time, I fell in love with Canterbury, and made lifelong friends and memories. I have been lucky enough to be able to come back and visit a couple of times in the past few years.

During my last visit to this beautiful city, I stayed in the Canterbury Gate Hotel. It is such a charming little place right in the middle of the city center, and right next to the famous Canterbury Cathedral. Somehow, my girlfriend and I managed to get what I think must be one of the best rooms in the hotel! It was light, clean, airy, and a great view of the cathedral took up the entire window! In addition, you can request breakfast be delivered to your room at no extra cost. Of course, we took the hotel up on that offer since we were so happy with our room.

The hotel staff was also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is an old building, with floors on three stories and a steep staircase. Has been fitted out to modern facilities to a very high standard. Wi fi works right up to the attic. Excellent view of the cathedral from one side but looks over a noisy square to the other side. Continental breakfast free, full English comes at extra cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myjlcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Price for the location and standards was excellent, room at the front was lovely room but noisy at night. I would still stay again even at the front as it's great value for money, nice breakfast and rooms and bathrooms were great and no problem being shared

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MclellanD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
1,051 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Gate Hotel

Property: Cathedral Gate Hotel
Address: 36 Burgate, Canterbury CT1 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cathedral Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Gate Canterbury
Hotel Cathedral Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing