We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Mother Church of Canterbury Cathedral

St. Martin's opens at 11am on Saturdays, and we visited it in February. It is a short walk from St... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
samsmom2006
,
Houston, Texas
Well worth a visit

...but you need to be aware that it is only open at certain times. Part roman walls and part reuse... read more

Reviewed 23 December 2018
Gavin R
,
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Read all 171 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Canterbury
from US$68.24
More Info
from US$103.67
More Info
from US$90.55
More Info
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
106
49
13
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
49
13
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews english speaking opening times roman walls king ethelbert baptismal font interesting cemetery unesco site anglo saxon roman times donation box well worth the effort peaceful place from france city centre worth a visit pleasant walk historical significance
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

St.Martin's is the oldest English-speaking church still active. It is a small church with little to explore but rich History. It is surrounded by a cemetery and it is quiet and peaceful. We were greated at the entrance with a map of the church with descriptions of what we could see.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Carolina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Th story of this church I sjust amazing. You can also follow the walk of queen Bertha from the church into canterbury cathedral. Amazingly atmospheric

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Enka29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

Whether you are exploring for religious or secular reasons, this is a place that you should visit if in Canterbury. The principal section represents literally the oldest functioning church in England, but there is one part of the building that may even be Roman in origin. It is also surrounded by an interesting cemetery. We arrived just after Sunday Mass, and a friendly parishioner made sure that we had a guide card. I wish it were more of a museum, but since it still has an obviously active congregation, that is probably neither possible nor desirable.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank rodney3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

The grounds are quite lovely here to see some old tombstones surrounding one of the oldest (if not oldest) active churches in England. The building is petite and charming.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

St. Martin's is said to be England's oldest church in continuous use. It's located off a fairly busy road in Canterbury, but the church yard itself is quiet and secluded, and seems more like a country church than a big-city church. It is not far from the ruins of St. Augustine's Abbey. The church is definitely not a ruin, but we were only able to see it from the outside due to the lateness of our arrival, Signage was minimal, so we were not able to learn much about the various architectural components of the church. At the time we visited, there was a large group of teenagers inhaling nitrous oxide in the church yard, so that sort cast a pall over an otherwise tranquil visit.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Northern_Ibis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews