We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Magnolia House
Nearby Hotels
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$220
US$210
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Victoria Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Falstaff in Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$116
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Broome Park Hotel(Barham)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Castle House Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cathedral Gate Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$105
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
45
17
13
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
17
13
8
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Not our cup of tea....B&B is tired and shabby. Breakfast was awful...I don't like to write negative reviews but felt I had to. Maybe I have been spoiled with the many amazing B&Bs we have stayed at, but I felt this was tatty and overpriced. The fruit salad (which is portioned out in advance) was inedible :-( I found it odd that the eggs for breakfast came on a plate and then the rest of the breakfast came in a plastic dish, until it dawned on me that the food had probably been cooked in advance and then put into the dishes to keep warm.... good. The mushroom was raw, watery and inedible...maybe it was microwaved? The dining room was cramped and our table top rocked every time it was leant on. Bedrooms were tiny and could not justify the cost. Could not recommend and would not return, sorry. On a positive note, it is situated close to the
town centre, which is clearly what you are paying for.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank totallyloveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia House C, Owner at Magnolia House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

I am sorry you had such a bad impression of Magnolia House, which has just recently undergone extensive refurbishment and the bedrooms enlarged. I am also sorry that our award-winning breakfasts were not to your taste. The accompaniments to the eggs are served separately in Italian porcelain dishes in order for the guests to help themselves to the quantity they want, as most do not like their plates piled high on initial serving. All breakfasts are cooked fresh to order, using locally sourced produce. Great care has gone into sourcing high quality ingredients, which is constantly under review. As is the standard and quality in the rooms. Everything is done to make the guest's stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible with attention to detail to make this happen. For example, complimentary water and drinks and fresh milk in the fridge. Fresh ground coffee for the cafetieres and a selection of teas and chocolates is also in the room. There is everything that might be needed in the bathroom, including disposable razors and nail files. As stated above, the house has been extensively refurbished and decorated, so shabby it is not! All guests are asked if they have enjoyed their stay with us and it would be so much more helpful if these comments could be made at this time, when we could dispel misconceptions in person. We do not want anyone to be unhappy with their stay for any reason and will always do our best to try and make sure this doesn't happen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Fantastic top quality place to stay. Very handy for the town centre. Breakfast is excellent and the room are first class. A friend told me about this place and I wold also highly recommend it. The staff are efficient and friendly, the room are comfortable and clean and the property has ambience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binky59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed here for a couple of days and was very happy with the lovely quiet location but only 10 minutes walk to the centre of Canterbury. Room was very well equipped with nice touches in the bathroom and individual bottles of wine, beer and water in the fridge. The room and bathroom were smaller than expected but very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely - very fresh with good quality ingredients. Owner was very welcoming and helpful regarding eateries etc.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Pretty house handy for Canterbury. The double room we shared was very small and extremely cluttered with bric a brac. The large bed (2 x 3ft. singles together) was in need of new bedding, duvet was old and lumpy and pillows not good. Pillow slips appeared not to have been ironed. Good fridge with individual bottle of wine, water, mints.

The rest of the house was dark and the stairs very steep, there was a lot of clutter as well.


Nice breakfast happily served with lots of choice in room overlooking pretty garden, available to guests. Rain stopped that however!

Not enough parking when B & B is full. I had to park some way down the road as it is residents parking only. Not advised about this, which is important to me. Owner quite cavalier about this.

Would not stay again. Plenty of B & Bs. in the area to choose from

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vixmum7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I was looking for somewhere to stay I would feel safe and comfortable as I was staying on my own. This b and b was wonderful. The owner was very warm and helpful. The room was cosy and clean with everything you could want in it. You even had complimentary wine, water and beer plus a range of hot drinks including fresh ground coffee. Amazing! Very quiet too and very comfortable bed. Breakfast was served quickly and was delicious. Very close to the city centre and parking available which is a must for staying in Canterbury. Will always stay here when visiting Canterbury.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank euja6919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews