We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay within walking distance of city centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Magnolia House

Magnolia House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnolia House
Ranked #59 of 78 Canterbury B&B and Inns
ibitufizz
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent stay within walking distance of city centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

My wife and I have just had a wonderful, relaxing and peaceful stay. We stayed in the Garden Room which was spaceous and well appointed, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was really big as well.

The room was finished with lots of nice touches, like decent coffee, fruit teas, wine and beer in the fridge, fresh milk, bisuits, trouser press, Sky TV etc etc.

The breakfast was superb with decent portions of good quality locally sourced food with homemade marmalade and jams.

There was enough parking on site for a number of cars.

The location is only about 5-10 easy walk to the centre of Canterbury with a wide range of resturants and shops.

I have stayed in a lot of places recently and would say that this was one of the best, fully deserving of its 5 diamonds and numerous rewards - well done, keep up the great work.

Room Tip: Best room is the Garden Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibitufizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    17
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
9
45
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here for 1 week this past week for a business trip. It was a wonderful stay. All of the rooms are nice. The best room is the Garden Room, followed by room 6. We had to switch rooms for a while due to a miscalculation on our part, but room 3 was nice as well. Breakfast was always hot and ready on time. I would recommend if you are American be aware that traditional English breakfast means just that. I loved both the English breakfast and the continental. The scrambled eggs and smoked salmon are for the adventurous types. If you are sort of the typical American traveler, just stick with the croissants...which are freshly baked and buttered. The tea and hot porridge was wonderful. If you order mushrooms and tomatoes be aware to ask for just 1 of each because they are quite large and very filling.

The hotel is right around the corner from high street which is the main center of town. On high street you can get to the cathedral and all of the restaurants. There are plenty of nice cabs that can also take you around the city and to the Canterbury west train station. Be aware that the Train Station is also just a short walk away from the Magnolia House.

Isabelle the manager and cook was wonderful. Penney is the maid and was terrific as well. Isabelle's son is a wonderful young man and a delight to chat with. This is the best place to stay when visiting Canterbury.

Room Tip: There is no pool or gym...but there are gyms locally that you can get a day pass for...All rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luqman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

I returned to Magnolia House again. The owner and staff are so pleasant, helpful and friendly. The room, as always, was wonderful; clean, comfortable and with everything you could need and more! I wish that I could stay for longer. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

I booked this place as a surprise treat to celebrate our 20th anniversary. We stayed in the Garden Room which we thought was lovely.

As a surprise the owner had left us a welcome card and a bottle of bubbly - a lovely touch.

There was a well stocked fridge / mini-bar in the room and we had fresh milk delivered daily. A nice touch was the fresh coffee and cafetiere in our room.

Breakfasts on all 3 mornings were good - we tried the eggs benedict, haddock and finally the full English. The full English was our favourite.

The owner was extremely helpful and gave us some great recommendations of places to visit / suggested restaurants etc.

We'd definitely recommend this place to others - it's close to the city centre yet still quiet enough for a good nights sleep and the addition of a free car park was very much appreciated as we only used our car on one occasion.

We'll definitely return in the future.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodbutcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Great room and breakfast, lots of attention to detail and charming hostess. Beautiful garden and location. I'm very surprised to read comments here calling Magnolia House 'shabby and criticising the breakfast which was always fresh and delicious (including the lovely fruit salad with yogurt and honey etc, fresh juices, etc). There is a certain English style to the place which some might call 'cluttered' but others would call homely and nice. And all this for less than the price of a soulless room in the A2 Holiday Inn!! No criticisms from me and I shall be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

Spent a couple of nights here at the beginning of November as the nights are drawing in and chilly. This hotel catered for our every need. The room was cosy and well stocked with tea biscuits wine beer and small fridge for fresh milk. The china was beautiful and included a teapot, just as I like it! Bed was very comfortable and sky tv included the movie channel. Canterbury itself was beautiful with lots to do and see, restaurants catered for every food preference and the townsfolk really friendly. Will return!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Not our cup of tea....B&B is tired and shabby. Breakfast was awful...I don't like to write negative reviews but felt I had to. Maybe I have been spoiled with the many amazing B&Bs we have stayed at, but I felt this was tatty and overpriced. The fruit salad (which is portioned out in advance) was inedible :-( I found it odd that the eggs for breakfast came on a plate and then the rest of the breakfast came in a plastic dish, until it dawned on me that the food had probably been cooked in advance and then put into the dishes to keep warm.... good. The mushroom was raw, watery and inedible...maybe it was microwaved? The dining room was cramped and our table top rocked every time it was leant on. Bedrooms were tiny and could not justify the cost. Could not recommend and would not return, sorry. On a positive note, it is situated close to the
town centre, which is clearly what you are paying for.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank totallyloveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia House C, Owner at Magnolia House, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
I am sorry you had such a bad impression of Magnolia House, which has just recently undergone extensive refurbishment and the bedrooms enlarged. I am also sorry that our award-winning breakfasts were not to your taste. The accompaniments to the eggs are served separately in Italian porcelain dishes in order for the guests to help themselves to the quantity they want, as most do not like their plates piled high on initial serving. All breakfasts are cooked fresh to order, using locally sourced produce. Great care has gone into sourcing high quality ingredients, which is constantly under review. As is the standard and quality in the rooms. Everything is done to make the guest's stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible with attention to detail to make this happen. For example, complimentary water and drinks and fresh milk in the fridge. Fresh ground coffee for the cafetieres and a selection of teas and chocolates is also in the room. There is everything that might be needed in the bathroom, including disposable razors and nail files. As stated above, the house has been extensively refurbished and decorated, so shabby it is not! All guests are asked if they have enjoyed their stay with us and it would be so much more helpful if these comments could be made at this time, when we could dispel misconceptions in person. We do not want anyone to be unhappy with their stay for any reason and will always do our best to try and make sure this doesn't happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Retro B&B
The Retro B&B
#7 of 78 in Canterbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#56 of 78 in Canterbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arthouse b + b
Arthouse b + b
#35 of 78 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
House of Agnes
House of Agnes
#2 of 78 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia House

Property: Magnolia House
Address: 36 St. Dunstans Terrace, Canterbury CT2 8AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Magnolia House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A five star gold award winning Georgian home, set in a quiet residential street ten minutes stroll from Canterbury city centre. It is close to the universities and public schools and is ideally situated for exploring the city, coastline or Kent countryside and is an ideal location for short breaks, long weekends or business trips. All of the guest bedrooms have been professionally designed with a close eye to detail to make your stay as relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magnolia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia House Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing