We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house, great location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Dining Room
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
Kitchen
Living Room
Bedroom 1
View over the orchards
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Pam H
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely house, great location.”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Kath's Cottage is in a great location for exploring north Kent. It is a very comfortable cottage and my husband and I felt really at home here. We liked to sit in the conservatory after a long day out with our gin and tonic. The Red Lion round the corner was good for a friendly drink or an evening meal, food is excellent. Colin was very helpful with any queries we had and booking through him was made really easy. There are many lovely places to visit in the area and everyone is really friendly. We would definitely want to stay here again if we were visiting the area. Thank you Colin.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Many thanks for your review Pam; we're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and particularly pleased that you felt at home in Kath's Cottage. We hope to see you back again at some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Date of stay: July 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jocelynDa...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in rural location.”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had the pleasure of staying here for the past week. The cottage is beautifully clean and well equipped. The enclosed garden was a bonus for us with a young dog. What made this stay so enjoyable was the lovely local villagers we meet in the pub not 50 yards from the house. The food was excellent in the pub and everyone was friendly. The walks in the fields were amazing and just down the lane at the side of the house. We have seen foxes, rabbits and all sorts of wildlife. This is a great cottage to unwind and enjoy family time. Close to all the tourist spots if that is what you like.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely walks and the relaxed feel to the cottage, a home from home.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
So pleased that you and Mark enjoyed your stay Jocelyn. We love the house and the village and the ability to walk straight out into the orchards and woods with the dog has always been a great joy. Thank you for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy and hope to see you back again at some time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoR9087...
Province of Malaga, Spain
1 review
“Great and very comfortable cottage close to Canterbury”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a lovely time in this very well equipped cottage. Thank you Colin for all the information. had everything we needed.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay Claire. Hope to see you back again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
damienmur...
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
“A really lovely well equipped house”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had the pleasure of staying in Kaths cottage. This cottage is set in the village of Broad oak less than three miles from Canterbury with the village pub only 50 yards away. It is very well equipped and is pet friendly. I spoke to the owner Colin by phone and found him very friendly and helpful. We hope to come back here again in the future.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it was a good experience
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
It was our pleasure Damien and you will be welcome back at any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon K
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Tale of a Great Cottage”
Reviewed 28 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I am very well travelled, but this was my first English cottage experience and it turned out to be a great one. For this trip I travelled together with my partner and young son.

Kath's Cottage is very clean, fully stocked with everything you may need (incl. cot, high chair and fast wifi), well located and the owner Colin is a pleasure to do business with. We felt at home the minute we walked into the door.

It's not too far from the city center but I would recommend you have a car. Which you can park in front of or in the garage that comes with the cottage.

The bath room is functional, water pressure leaves somewhat to be desired, but I've encountered that before in the UK, and they're probably old pipes.

All the information from and communication with Colin is easy, fast and friendly. Easy to book via Trip Advisor and none of that deposit nonsense.

Food and drinks are in the pub right around the corner, or my tip is the butchers & artisans foods (farm shop) a few minutes away to stock your kitchen with fresh and delicious food: Alworths (.co.uk) in Sturry Hill, Canterbury.

My conclusion: no doubts or reservations needed, I'm confident your stay in Kath's Cottage will be as wonderful as ours was. And the Canterbury Cathedral is one of the most beautiful I've seen anywhere in the world so a must see if you're in the South of England.

Date of stay: May 2016
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2016
Many thanks for this review Leon. Our aim has always been to provide our guests with the kind of holiday experience that we hope to find when we go away ourselves. It's always gratifying to hear that we are managing to do that and I am really grateful to you for taking the time to write such a full review. Colin Thompson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W
1 review
“Very comfortable cottage and helpful landlord”
Reviewed 5 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The cottage was very comfortable and warm (we were using it a a bolt-hole while a central heating boiler was replaced). Visitors were impressed with the decor and cleanliness.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The heating very good for an older person
Liked least: Stairs rather steep
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay Sarah. We hope to see you back again at some time in the future. Many thanks. Colin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.