We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and lovely place. ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Solo

Cafe Solo
Ranked #75 of 361 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great food and lovely place. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This is not your usual greasy spoon': the staff are efficient but very cheery. The food is above normal cafe fare. The plum crumble is something else!

I always come here now. There are other (very good) cafés, but this place is a cut above.

Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Radioheadkiduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    28
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What miserable staff 😒”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Don't get me wrong the food is ok if a little pricey & they didn't get my order quite right (was missing a sausage from the breakfast) it wasn't overly busy but some staff sitting at a table & the rest were truly miserable looking. I won't be stopping here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank AlexWills72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely mug of tea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We go to this cafe regularly for tasty, cheap, basic meals, great tea and coffee and quick cheerful service. Always busy and full of people from all walks of life. My favourite thing about this place is that they give you a little dish to put your used tea bag in ... This makes me happy:)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester England
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“simple, well cooked food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Having had several meals at different times of the day and year, I can say that this cafe is consistent with the quality of its food.
An enjoyable meal in friendly surroundings. Staff are efficient and helpful.
Worth a visit if you are that side of town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gnomemother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friendly, excellent value, and consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I've visited Cafe Solo a couple of times in the past (usually when I venture to the huge Morrisons next door), but never thought to review it before! I was having my car serviced a couple of miles down the road, and thought I'd kill a couple of hours by walking the dog into Canterbury (he goes everywhere with me!) and having breakfast in Cafe Solo.

Poor dog had to wait outside while I enjoyed a large mug of latté and a cooked breakfast from the huge variety of combinations available. As always the staff were friendly, service was excellent, and the food more than filled the breakfast-sized hole in my ever-expanding stomach!

Not just for breakfast though - they have a wide-ranging menu that lasts throughout the day.

Excellent value for money and I urge you to give it a try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CMW999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Solo also viewed

 
Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to Cafe Solo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing