We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced, greasy, small portions”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of City Fish Bar

City Fish Bar
Ranked #71 of 364 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced, greasy, small portions”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

A disappointing experience, the portion sizes are very small, the food was greasy and expensive, especially for what it was. Won't be going back

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrfisko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    24
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasteless cod”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Nice staff but fish was tasteless (presumably one of their suppliers sent them old frozen stock). Only ate a small amount and couldn't eat the rest. Asked the manager if it was really cod. Said first complaint he'd had! No offer of money back or deduction. Very disappointing when they claim to be best in Canterbury!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This has to be one of the best chippies in Canterbury. Good selection of fish. Friendly staff. As it so popular, it ca get quite crowded at busy periods.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Came across this gem of a chip shop the cone of chip brilliant value staff very friendly well worth a visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank localtripman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great fish n' chips!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

I've enjoyed delicious fish n' chips in Galway and Dublin, Ireland, as well as in London, so my expectations were very high - "City Fish Bar" was great! The fish n' chips were delicious, and may I say perhaps the best I've had! My partner and I ate there three times during our three day stay in Canterbury. The service was friendly and the portions generous. If you like fish n' chips, you're in for a treat!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JourneyTaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Fish Bar also viewed

 
Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to City Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing