We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love it!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Picture House Bar & Kitchen - CLOSED

Picture House Bar & Kitchen
Price range: US$9 - US$22
Cuisines: American, British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Originally built as a cinema as far back as 1910, the building has been carefully and thoughtfully re-designed with dramatic affect! Launched in mid-September PICTURE HOUSE is without doubt, fast becoming Canterbury's top eatery and night-spot... Our kitchen team prepare and cook everything from scratch. From our Burgers, Salads and Scotch Eggs, to our Ketchups and Mayonaise - it's all made fresh in our kitchen! ** COME IN AND CHECK OUT OUR XMAS MENU **
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I love it!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

my family came from london i took them to picture house... what a fab decision!!! my mum loved the chicken salad with couscous rice inside. and another two ordered full English breakfast and chips fro my little brother and high chair was available with 4 diet coke and we only paid £29!!! nothing i am so glad we went, thank you so much keep up the work guys, i am a student by the way :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dilara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    17
    13
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yummy salad and burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I had a Caesar salad and it was lovely, the rest of the family had burgers and they looked and tasted amazing. Easy dining with good service and friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Salstrawberry44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very accommodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

I booked for 21 people for a hen meal on Saturday night and was very pleased with everything. They provided my group with a set 3 course meal especially for the evening and it was great value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The food was good quality and the portions were a good size. The general ambiance was fantastic and the staff were all really friendly. However it is a bit pricey.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bethanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We found this restaurant by chance having a wander through Canterbury. It is in an old cinema.Great surroundings. High up on the wall a projector is showing old silent movies.
The burger was great as was the veggie meze. The staff were very attentive. We will go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank royvasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Picture House Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 
Sturry, Canterbury
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing