We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conveniently situated hotel for all amenities in Canterbury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Conveniently situated hotel for all amenities in Canterbury”
Reviewed 21 April 2011

First impression of this Victorian gothic hotel very good. The receptionist on arrival was friendly and our room was small but adequate. The public areas were were well maintained and the food was very good. The only complaint is that during our stay they had a large conference staying and at breakfast on the second morning they were more interested in serving the people attending the conference than their other guests. Having ordered our breakfast, it took 20 minutes for them to inform us that they had run out of kidneys and so we had to change the order. It then took a further 15 minutes or so for our our breakfast to arrive. At one point, my husband even asked the manageress if they needed assistance, as he would be prepared to help! Obviously we knew that wasn't possible but we were assured things would be better next day, which they were. It did appear that it depended on who was on duty at meal times as to how efficient the service was run. Nevertheless, our stay was most enjoyable and with only a ten minute walk to the centre of Canterbury, it is very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PicklesFarnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regard to your stay at the Abbots Barton Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

The conference that you refer to was in fact a large breakfast networking event and I would like to thank you for being patient.

We hope that you will visit Canterbury in the not too distant future.

Best Regards

Christine Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    406
    116
    45
    29
See reviews for
163
566
38
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Stayed here because Best Western allow dogs to stay. This is great, but why charge £10 per night extra "for the extra cleaning"? There was no extra cleaning that we detected. I asked if dogs were allowed in the bar, but was told "no dogs in the bar or restaurant, but they can go in all the other public areas". All the other public areas turned out to be the reception. The bar food was atrocious. I ordered a well done steak - something similar to a child's flip-flop turned up, along with seven chips (I counted them!) and some very limp green stuff. Definitely not worth £22. On the plus side, the hotel is a very short distance from the centre of Canterbury, the blackout blinds on the window were very good, although the pillows were like bricks.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Abbots Braton Hotel.

The hotel does welcome "dogs" and it appears there are not many that do in Canterbury. We have a set charge of £10, thus providing a dog bed and bowl.
It is true, we do not allow animals in areas where we serve food, there is both the reception and a seating area at the front of the hotel, where you can sit with your dog. Only guide dogs would be allowed in food areas.

My apologies for your disappointment with your steak, when a guest requests a steak well done, we do advise that this may impair the quality of the meat. Our chips are large, hand cut & home made, which accompany the steak and garnish.

You will be pleased to know, we have replaced the uncomfortable pillows you have brought to my attention.

Best Regards

Christine Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

I had hoped we were in for a treat and my first glimpse of the hotel lit up at night looked v appealing. however a few things disappointed us, the welcome from the receptionist was polite rather than friendly, our ground floor room overlooked the car park, the restaurant closed at 9 and a very limited room service menu (basic sandwiches) was available. It's a nice hotel but for the price we paid, we expected more in both service and ambience. Would I stay in theis hotel again, probably not.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz_Cols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment with regard to your stay at the Abbots Barton Hotel.

The hotel is traditional in style, Gothic period and our staff welcome all of our guests and our attentive throughout their stay.
It is true the few ground floor rooms we do have, are situated at the side of the hotel, where cars do sometimes park. We have a small section of grass with trees, that form a screen in that area.

The last orders are taken at 21.15 hours in the restaurant,therefore for any late arrivals we do have either a bar food menu or as you have mentioned a room service menu, with a choice of both hot and cold food, available at all times.
My aplogies if you found nothing suitable.

Best regards

Christine Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

This hotel is all you would ever require for a weekend break. Comfortable lounges, great food [especially the breakfast selection!] large, well equipped rooms with huge TVs!
An all round perfect hotel in a good location and adequate on site parking.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank margatekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We were very impressed with the standard of this Hotel. The overall decor was warm and inviting and the cleanliness of the Hotel was outstanding.
We have recently been fortunate to visit several hotels around the country,(compliments of a certain Supermarket's Vouchers!) and have been able to compare this Hotel with other 3 and 4 star Hotels.
There was a fair sized car park and we found a space easily. The Reception staff were friendly and helpful although there was no one to help with luggage. This didn't bother us but it would have been awkward if we had been elderly. However , I'm sure a porter would have appeared if we had asked for one. There was a lift but we couldn't find it so we carried our luggage up two flights of stairs.
The food in the restaurant was of a good standard and was hot! The staff were friendly.
The cooked breakfast was lovely although I would have liked a slightly larger selection of foods for the continental breakfast. Saying that, the Continental breakfast was more than adequate.
The decor of the rooms was of a high standard ( as good as some 4 star hotels) and the rooms were very well stocked with things that you would need ( infact there was a better selection of tea, coffee sachets etc in the room than a 5 star hotel we recently stayed in!) We had rooms at the back of the hotel and the view out of the bedroom window was of a building site where the hotel is expanding its conference rooms. This again didn't bother us - one of our last views in a 4 star hotel was that of a wall!
We had 3 twin rooms, two of our rooms had a shower on suite and one had a bath/shower on suite. None of the rooms had expelair extractors but did have windows that you could open. The cleanliness of the rooms and bathrooms was outstanding.The beds were firm and fairly comfortable. We were off season so there was very little noise in the corridors at night and we got plenty of sleep! The conference/function room was being used when we were there but we were not disturbed or kept awake by noise.
The hotel was about a 10 min walk from the town centre and the Cathedral, along a busy , not very attractive main road but the Hotel itself is set back from the road in its own grounds.
We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Nice place at great value. The staff is very friendly and food is lovely. The Indian Man at front desk is the most professional with excellent knowledge about most of the things. We stayed overnight during the new years time that was the reason it was extra special.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller18181818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

My colleagues and I had our work xmas party here and the food was disgusting and they had no beer in the bar. The Duty Manager said there was nothing she could do and that everyone should write to the General Manager. PASS THE BUCK.

We emailed the General Manager who admitted there were problems, however did not offer to put it right and has ignored all correspondence since

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel

Property: Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Address: 36 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Canterbury
Canterbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing