We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable, shame about the food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable, shame about the food”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

A group of us stayed here for 3 nights whilst touring Kent. The group deal through Best Western was very good value and the hotel itself was clean and comfortable with nice, firm mattresses and plenty of parking. The only down side was the catering. From its web site the hotel appears to have a good restaurant; however, for our DB&B deal, they served 'buffet style'. There were only two (dull) choices for each course, the vegetarian option was vegetable pasta each night and we had to go and get our food from a serving area in the middle of the room. Perhaps the chef was away - certainly the cooked breakfast on our last day was much improved, being cooked to order rather than kept warm in display units. We would stay again, as a stopover - but next time we'll go for B&B - Canterbury has lots of interesting looking restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharraBey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Abbots Barton Hotel,

My staff and I are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with your tour group. I am sorry you found the evening meal and service disappointing.
The hotel operates dinner for groups in a buffet style, as this gives overall effecient service. We offer a 3 course, 3 choice with coffee and tea, all of which is served by our staff from the buffet table.

The Fountain Restaurant, provides an A la Carte menu for all private guests, should you wish to choose to dine during your stay.

Best regards

Christine Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    425
    126
    48
    30
See reviews for
173
601
41
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I made reservartions for 1 night, 2 rooms.
When we arrived at the hotel the lady at the desk was very kind to us.
She told us where and when we had to go for dinner and breakfast and told us the way to our rooms.
We had a special sunday saver booked, wich included diner, B&B, this was very good value for money!
The girls in dining room were from eastern Europe, and less friendly then the lady at the reception, but it was OK. The food was good, only when we asked for some more chips, this was not possible, they said it was hand made and we had to wait 15 minutes for extra...
The hotel has a large private parking area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navigator-871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regard to your stay at the Abbots Barton hotel.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and all the staff made you welcome.

The Fountain Restuarnt menu boasts home made, local and seasonal produce, we cook to order and so for "extra" chips, it would have taken a small amount of time to accomodate your request.

Best regards

Christine Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2011

A massive thanks to everyone that day for making such a perfect day happen, all the staff were first class throughout the whole day, Everything was arranged and prepared just perfect, A thankyou should be passed to the chef as everyone said how nice and good the food was and again it was just perfect,

This is a massive credit to all those involved that day and to the hotel.
We thank everyone for all u have done and hope to come back again one day

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMrs290411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

First impression of this Victorian gothic hotel very good. The receptionist on arrival was friendly and our room was small but adequate. The public areas were were well maintained and the food was very good. The only complaint is that during our stay they had a large conference staying and at breakfast on the second morning they were more interested in serving the people attending the conference than their other guests. Having ordered our breakfast, it took 20 minutes for them to inform us that they had run out of kidneys and so we had to change the order. It then took a further 15 minutes or so for our our breakfast to arrive. At one point, my husband even asked the manageress if they needed assistance, as he would be prepared to help! Obviously we knew that wasn't possible but we were assured things would be better next day, which they were. It did appear that it depended on who was on duty at meal times as to how efficient the service was run. Nevertheless, our stay was most enjoyable and with only a ten minute walk to the centre of Canterbury, it is very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PicklesFarnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regard to your stay at the Abbots Barton Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

The conference that you refer to was in fact a large breakfast networking event and I would like to thank you for being patient.

We hope that you will visit Canterbury in the not too distant future.

Best Regards

Christine Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Stayed here because Best Western allow dogs to stay. This is great, but why charge £10 per night extra "for the extra cleaning"? There was no extra cleaning that we detected. I asked if dogs were allowed in the bar, but was told "no dogs in the bar or restaurant, but they can go in all the other public areas". All the other public areas turned out to be the reception. The bar food was atrocious. I ordered a well done steak - something similar to a child's flip-flop turned up, along with seven chips (I counted them!) and some very limp green stuff. Definitely not worth £22. On the plus side, the hotel is a very short distance from the centre of Canterbury, the blackout blinds on the window were very good, although the pillows were like bricks.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Abbots Braton Hotel.

The hotel does welcome "dogs" and it appears there are not many that do in Canterbury. We have a set charge of £10, thus providing a dog bed and bowl.
It is true, we do not allow animals in areas where we serve food, there is both the reception and a seating area at the front of the hotel, where you can sit with your dog. Only guide dogs would be allowed in food areas.

My apologies for your disappointment with your steak, when a guest requests a steak well done, we do advise that this may impair the quality of the meat. Our chips are large, hand cut & home made, which accompany the steak and garnish.

You will be pleased to know, we have replaced the uncomfortable pillows you have brought to my attention.

Best Regards

Christine Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

I had hoped we were in for a treat and my first glimpse of the hotel lit up at night looked v appealing. however a few things disappointed us, the welcome from the receptionist was polite rather than friendly, our ground floor room overlooked the car park, the restaurant closed at 9 and a very limited room service menu (basic sandwiches) was available. It's a nice hotel but for the price we paid, we expected more in both service and ambience. Would I stay in theis hotel again, probably not.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz_Cols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment with regard to your stay at the Abbots Barton Hotel.

The hotel is traditional in style, Gothic period and our staff welcome all of our guests and our attentive throughout their stay.
It is true the few ground floor rooms we do have, are situated at the side of the hotel, where cars do sometimes park. We have a small section of grass with trees, that form a screen in that area.

The last orders are taken at 21.15 hours in the restaurant,therefore for any late arrivals we do have either a bar food menu or as you have mentioned a room service menu, with a choice of both hot and cold food, available at all times.
My aplogies if you found nothing suitable.

Best regards

Christine Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

This hotel is all you would ever require for a weekend break. Comfortable lounges, great food [especially the breakfast selection!] large, well equipped rooms with huge TVs!
An all round perfect hotel in a good location and adequate on site parking.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank margatekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,157 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
725 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel

Property: Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Address: 36 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbots Barton Hotel is situated in a quiet area of Canterbury and just a 10 minute walk to the City Centre. We have parking which is available free of charge for Hotel Residents. (Generally there is not an issue with parking but on exceptional busy days free street parking maybe necessary) The hotel offers traditional facilities with Bar, Restaurant, Bar Food and Room Service all available. Free HSIA via 'The Cloud' network is provided. Our staff will endeavour to entertain any special requests wherever possible. The Hotel is also pet friendly (for a small charge per day) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Canterbury
Canterbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing