We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing for Best Western” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbots Barton Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Abbots Barton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very disappointing for Best Western”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed at Abbots Barton Best Western Hotel for two nights in June as it was the closest hotel to clients I was visiting and I had also stayed at the Best Western in Peterborough previously. Based on my Peterborough experience I was expecting the Abbots Barton Hotel to offer similar standards in terms of rooms, facilities and food.

My room was OK. Comfortable enough and reasonably large. There was easy connection to the free WiFi which was very helpful as, travelling alone for business, I planned to work in the evenings before and after dinner.

What really let the hotel down was the standard of food. It was extremely disappointing. Breakfast was a self-service buffet, including all the elements of a continental breakfast but also full english. The bacon on both mornings was barely cooked. It was fatty and anaemic looking and the skin still had pig hairs in it - very off putting. Many of the breakfast items were also cold, or at best lukewarm and I only ate on the second morning because there were no cafes or other alternatives within easy reach.

Dinner service was slow and the quality of food disappointing. I had rabbit one night, which was dry and of a cardboard like texture.

Service was very slow and not particularly friendly.

The Peterborough Best Western served delicious food at breakfast (with service from staff rather than self service) and the evening meals were great - fresh, seasonal and local produce, prepared with care and attention.

Had it not been for the dining experience at Abbots Barton, I would have considered the hotel 'average', but the food badly lets it down.

I have to travel again to Canterbury in the new year and will definitely be seeking an alternative hotel, even if it means longer journeys to visit my clients.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Thank you for writing a review with regard to your stay in June at the hotel.

We have since the summer changed suppliers and we work very much now with locally sourced produce. All our menus reflect this in both the main restaurant with our seasonal menus, bar menu and breakfast items.
During the busy summer months when we have tour groups, wedding and leisure guests, we do operate a breakfast buffet, however, there is always the option for a guest to order their own choice of breakfast, which would be freshly cooked to order.

My apologies for your disappointment, we do hope that you will give the hotel another chance fo you to experience an improved stay in the future.

Regards

Christine Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    383
    111
    44
    29
See reviews for
156
543
34
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed for a 2 night break to explore Canterbury and have to say what a great place to stay. The staff were polite and helpful. (Special thanks to the young blond girl on reception who was extremely helpful with directions). Both check in and check out was efficiant.
Breakfast is one of the best I've had. The choice was excellent as was the service.
The room (219) was lovely, the housekeepers obviously pride themselves on their high standards of cleanliness as it was immaculate.
A short walk into the city centre makes this hotel an excellent choice for anyone wanting to explore the area. We will definately not think twice about returning here. Thanks to the manager and staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemgem_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thank you for comments with regard to your stay at the Abbots Barton Hotel, Canterbury.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit, I have passed your comments to the team, we do hope that you will be able to return to our lovely city in the future and hopefully stay with us.

Regards

Christine Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

The hotel is in an excellent location just 10 minutes walk from the centre of Canterbury. Our room was comfortable, spacious and very clean, indeed the whole hotel looked as though it had recently been refurbished, don't know if it had! The staff were most helpful and although we only ate in the hotel one evening the food was very palatable and reasonably priced. My only minor complaint is that we were asked to order for dinner as the restaurant was extremely business so we chose one of the later times. When we went into the dining room we were the only diners there and the staff were preparing for breakfast! Still, we weren't terribly bothered and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We also were able to take advantage of an offer, book 3 nights and pay for two. Will definately use this hotel again!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden at the front would have had a pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Thank you for your recent review.I am glad that you had an excellent stay, especially taking advantage of our weekend specials.

The hotel only has one restaurant, so when we have a tour group in the hotel, we have to accommodate them in the dining room and we tend to give them the first hour from 7 to 8pm to enjoy their evening meal. This is why you would have been asked to book a table for the evening at a later time.I do hope this did not inconvenience you. The group would have left the restaurant by 8pm, leaving it looking relatively empty.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on another weekend break.

Best regards

Christine Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

The property is easily accessible from the main roads into Canterbury, and being set back from the road there is no problem with noise. It is a short walk into Canterbury centre so a great choice for a city break. I had a room on the third floor in the attic which was clean, spacious and well presented. The room was light with velux windows and great black out blinds for a good night's sleep. The bathroom was also clean and spacious and had a jaccuzzi bath with shower over. There was a well supplied tea tray, including tea pot and biscuits - always a bonus! There is free wifi throughout the hotel, and the large flat screen television also had a notebook and usb connection.

Breakfast was the usual buffet with cereals, fresh and dried friuts, several different fruit juices, pastries, rolls and a hot buffet. The breakfast menu is on the buffet and alternative items can be ordered such as pancakes, kippers, smoked haddock etc. I ordered the haddock which took a long time to arrive and was overcooked, I also asked for soya milk which was not available otherwise the breakfast was good.

The hotel is in an old building so some of the corridors are narrower than modern hotels, and it is a bit of a labrynth, but this is all part of the character of the property.

The staff were freindly, efficient and polite, and I would definately stay again. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleDollyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the hotel.
We are pleased to hear that your experience was a memorable one.

Thank you for your comments on the breakfast menu, we do pride ourselves on the varied choice of items we have. I am sorry to hear that your fish choice was overcooked,I will speak to the chef as i am sure this must be a small training issue that we can correct.

We trust that should you come to Canterbury in the future, you would consider staying at the Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel.

Best regards

Christine Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

This was our first English hotel to stay in after arriving from the United States. Our stay was only one night, but we were quite pleased with the accommodations. We chose the property because of its "old estate charm" and also because it offered plenty of free parking. It is not located directly in town, but it was no problem at all to take a ten minute walk from the hotel to the historical sights in the beautiful city. The grounds were beautiful and well-groomed, and the rooms were clean and had all of the necessary amenities. We did find the shower tub area quite slippery, as there was no available rubber bath mat or anti-slip stickers. We had dinner in town, but had the hotel's breakfast buffet, which was tasty and adequate. Our two rooms were separated by several hallways that seemed to change direction often, plus there was a small stairway in the midst of it all. Nevertheless, it did not bother us at all, and only added to the charm of the facility since it was a former estate. Staff was friendly and courteous and we would definitely stay here again if our travels took us to Canterbury.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mejulaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the hotel.

We are pleased you were able to soak up the old world charm of the property and so near to the city centre.

We do provide rubber bath slip mats, they are available on request from reception and it is noted in the compedium on the dressing table. I am sorry you missed this information.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Best Regards

Chrustine Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We only stayed one night here as we were attending a wedding at a nearby location however we found it more than satisfactory. The hotel itself is charming and set back from the road so noise wasn't a problem. We had specifically requested an early check in due to the start time of the wedding and although our original room wasn't ready on check in, the reception staff quickly arranged another room. The room itself was clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. When we returned in the evening, the receptionist who had dealt with us earlier remembered us and asked whether we had enjoyed our day. A small gesture, but it made us feel special and appreciated. Breakfast in the morning was busy but the waiting staff were always on hand to assist. The food itself was of good quality and freshly cooked.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay there and plan to return soon for a weekend getaway. The staff are friendly and the hotel is well situated for visiting the city.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p-williams67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regard to your stay at the hotel.We are very pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel, we aim to ensure that all our guests have a memorable experience and we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Best regards

Christine Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Two of us stayed DB&B for 4 nights and the dining experience really spoiled our break. We only received a breakfast menu with choices on one morning (the only day there wasn't a group booking staying), otherwise it was buffet only. The dinner menu was the same every day, no menu rotation here. Main courses looked good on paper but were tasteless or overcooked on delivery. Had broad bean risotto one night which resembled bland rice pudding with no evidence of broad beans. I sent it back and was told it would be taken off the bill (it wasn't). Lamb cutlets were the exception - excellent but as for the rest.......
As for the desserts....an example was the triple strawberry offering - it consisted of a dried up custard tart with bits of strawberry in, vanilla ice cream (they had run out of strawberry!) and a few macerated strawberries. Actually they had run out of 3 types of ice cream for the full 4 days of our stay, but yet they remained on the menu. Room cleaning was also a bit haphazard - every day there was something amiss - eg a bin not emptied, towels not folded up, floor not hoovered. We also had to request extra hangers as only 8 were provided for 2 of us on a 4 day stay. Plus points were that all the staff were charming & helpful - but was the chef on holiday?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jude0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and bringing these points to my attention.

The breakfast menus are always available on the buffet island, when we have tour groups in the hotel, it is your choice if you would like to eat from the buffet or have your breakfast freshly cooked for you from the menu. The evening menu is a seasonal one, the hotel does not offer a different choice every day, unless of course you were with a tour group.

The Broad bean Risotto reflects a typical true Italian risotto, the Chef sends his apologies that you were not happy with the dish, Chef would have been delighted to cook another dish for you.
All the desserts are freshly home made, the egg custard tart would be served with sliced strawberries and Kentish ice-cream of your choice.
We do apologise with regard to the ice-cream choices, we had placed an order and awaiting a delivery from our suppliers.

The towels in your room are never folded if they are damp, they would be placed over the towel rail and allowed to dry. True, the standard in our wardrobes are 8 hangers, however, more are available on request. It was a possible oversight with regard to the bin and hoovering, as this is always done every day. It may have been due to new staff, which of course will be addressed asap with more training.

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for your comments, I am sure the hotel will improve and be able to offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Best regards

Christine Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
2.5 mi away
Howfield Manor Hotel
Howfield Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chartham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbots Barton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbots Barton Hotel

Property: Abbots Barton Hotel
Address: 36 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbots Barton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Abbots Barton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Canterbury
Canterbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing