We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Castle House Hotel(Canterbury)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Victoria Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Falstaff in Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City of Canterbury B&B(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cathedral Gate Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,314)
Filter reviews
1,314 results
Traveller rating
607
476
145
50
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
476
145
50
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive roomcity centrebridal suitebar menulovely hotelbuilding workbuilding sitethird floorten minute walkrestaurant staffjacuzzi bathquiet locationreception staffplenty of parkingbuffet breakfastvisiting canterburywithin easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
1,159 - 1,164 of 1,314 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed for a weekend family celebration. The food was excellent, although disappointingly some of the starters on the second evening were nothing like as good as they had been on the first night. The location was ideal for visiting Canterbury city centre. The lounge areas were comfortable and relaxing. The bedrooms were tastefully furnished, but there was a safety issue with some of the bathrooms. Two of our four rooms had a step up into the bathroom behind the door, with no warning sign. Shortly after arrival, my 80 year old father tripped up the step, fell against the sink badly bruising his arm, and ended up on the bathroom floor. We reported this to the duty manager, who put a report in the accident book. He was very apologetic at the time. We said we thought there should be a warning sign - he thought there was one already, and would check the room. He also said that someone would check that my father was okay later in the day. No warning sign materialised over the next 2 days, and no-one ever checked on my father's welfare.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to place a review regardimg your stay in May.

I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit and that the hotel was ideal for walking into Canterbury. We pride ourselves on the tradtional style of the hotel, we feel it compliments the old part of the house.

Thank you also for your comments with regard to your evening meal experince. I am sorry the starters did not meet your expectations on the second night, I will speak to the chef. This was a new menu and introduced Spring's seasonal produce.

I understand that my Assistant Manager, Ian looked after your father when he had his fall and a report was fed back to me and also entered in the accident book as you commented. However, there does appear to have been a lack of communictaion on the following day. I do aploogise for this and I will look into why this did not happen. It is the hotels policy to ensure that all our guests are made aware of who is the Duty Manager of the day during their stay, should any type of incident arise.

I trust your father has fully recovered, I do hope that if you visit Canterbury in the future, you will stay at the Abbots Barton.

Best regards

Christine Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed here for a business trip but it appears that this establishment is in urgent need of an update.

The room was stuffy and hot, with an outside window view of overgrown greenery and wasteland. If the windows were opened then there was the constant noise during daylight hours of what sounded like a compressor. The air conditoning unit in the room was such that when it was switched on it was so cold it was only possible to leave it on for a short time In addition the hot towel rail in the bathroom was so hot you could burn you fingers!!.

Each morning a dust type lorry drove into the waste area around 6am .......not a tranquil stay and very restful ??........not!!

Breakfast was very good but there are no windows in the dining area so again very stuffy.

The hotel says it plans an upgrade.......not before time I would say............

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet cool room with a nice view
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for writing a review with regard to your stay at the hotel.

The Abbots Barton Hotel dates back to 1830, when it was originally built as a private home, in true Victorian Gothic style. The owners of the hotel have kept the same style in order to enhance the original features of the old building and the decor inside of the hotel reflects this.

All the bedrooms have modern facilities and have been tastefully furnished throughout.

There are plans for a new extension to the hotel and part of this has started, therefore the rear of the hotel is under developement.

All bedrooms have air condition units and these are thermostatically controlled by the guests with a remote control. The bath rails are the source of heat in the bathroom and can become very hot at times.
The Fountain restaurant also incorportaes the Gothic theme, with stained glass windows, fountain and tables dressed with white linen to enhance the room, albiet internal.

We do have supplier deliveries for the hotel and deliver throughout the morning. These times vary and can be quite early.I will be speaking to the suppliers to ensure they drive into the hotel area in a quieter fashion.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we take on board your comments in order to improve.

Best regards

Christine Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel suited us because we were traveling with our dog. The hotel is not far from the city centre and the front lawn is a good feature.
The receptionist was bad. She had her speech ready but her delivery was terrible. You were left wondering why someone like this worked in the service industry.
The food was good and the staff in the restaurant were friendly. However there is no windows in the restaurant and this makes it a little boring and dull.
Bedrooms could do a a makeover.
The receptionist who checked us out was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul1953uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the hotel. I am pleased we were able to accommodate your dog and that overall your stay was an enjoyable one.

The receptionist that checked you in sends her apologies, she was not feeling too well during her shift and we did send her home to recover.

Our Fountain restaurant is indeed an internal one, however, traditionally decorated in keeping with the Gothic style of the rest of the hotel. Should you have wished for a view of the garden, we would have been delighted to serve your meal in the Garden room, overlooking the lawns.

We are currently updating some of our bedrooms with new bedding and carpets. If you plan a return visit to Canterbury, we would be able to offer you one of these bedrooms, subject to availability.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards

Christine Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just spent Easter weekend at this well run Hotel, the location is just 10 minutes easy walk from the underpass which leads straight into the pedestrian area and another 4-5minites walk from the Cathedral. My single room was well furnished and spotlessly clean, the en suiite bathroom immaculately clean and with toiletries supplied, (also shoe clean, sewing kit).The hospitality tray had regular and decaff. coffee sachets ,breakfast tea and fruit tea bags and chocolate drink and biscuits.
The BIG BONUS was that withour exception the staff were smiling, friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Penfold22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regard to your Easter weekend in Canterbury.

My team and I are were delighted to hear you had a very enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Many thanks

Christine Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stayed here with my partner for one night in an Executive room. The staff were polite, friendly and very helpful throughout. The room was lovely - clean, nicely furnished with a super king sized bed. The bathroom was larger than average with an excellent shower. We had our evening meal at The Fountain restaurant and were very pleased - the food was delicious and reasonably priced. We had a very restful night's sleep, thanks to the blackout blinds, the comfy bed and the general quietness. In the morning we had a lovely breakfast and the waiter was extremely attentive and helpful. I am surprised that this is just a three star hotel as it seemed worthy of four stars, in my opinion. We would love to come back here again and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: We had an Executive room in the original building that overlooked the car park. It was lovely and quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regard to your recent visit.

My staff and I are delighted to hear that all our facilities met your requirements and we do hope that you will return in the not too distant future.

Thank you,

Christine Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews