We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply perfect !!”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I arrived on the Friday afternoon to be greeted very warmly by the 2 young ladies on reception, within minutes I was checked in and set off up a small set of stairs to my room in the old part of the hotel. It brimmed with character! it was clean and had unexpected air con, a perfect room.

The staff were ALL very friendly and particularly Iain (the Assistant Manager) and Gary (in the bar) who both went beyond the call of duty to accommodate my somewhat merry group and myself, my only regret was that I didn’t get to thank them both properly and personally on my departure.

Our evening meal was in the function room and almost 40 of us sat down to eat, the service and food was first class, served with smiles and appropriate banter….. the staff were faultless.

Well done to all at the hotel, you should be proud of yourselves, keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the old part of the hotel, it has that little bit more character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Abbots Barton, we are very pleased you enjoyed it. Ian and Gary send their regards and were delighted with your comments.

The bedrooms in the old part of the hotel are exceptional, we only have 5 of these of which 3 are suites and have bags of character.

I was away on annual leave during you weekend visit, I did however hear from Ian that all went very well.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Best regards

Christine Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    424
    125
    48
    30
See reviews for
172
597
40
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

We had the honeymoon suite, so I guess our review will be a little out of context. Was pretty impressive, really comfy bed, jacuzzi bath etc. they gave us a good reasonable deal for this too.
Staff were helpful, although didn't actually see many if them all that much...don't know why this was, maybe it was a quiet period?!
Breakfast was delicious.
All in all, a good experience with this hotel, but think this may be to do with the fact that we paid extra.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burkeybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
It was a delight to read your review, thank you.

Indeed our Honeymoon Suite is a special room with lots of space and traditonal style 4 poster bed.
The hotel had a very very busy weekend prior to your arrival, so yes, we had a quieter week during your stay.

Even though your room was a deluxe bedroom, we pride oursleves on treating all our guests well and trust they have an enjoyable stay, glad you did.

Best regards

Christine Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed here for a two night break in Canterbury. We originally chose it as it is dog friendly but are glad we did overall! The staff were friendly and welcoming on our arrival and our room was large and very comfortable. There was a comfy bed laid out for our dog along with a special mat for her bowls. The room and the whole hotel was remarkably clean. We met the head housekeeper (another friendly chatty staff member) and congratulated her on her efforts! Breakfast was great with more friendly and efficient service (particularly the charming Pietro!!). The full english was good quality and not greasy!. There is a lovely lawned area to the front for exercising the dog last thing at night. also very convenient location for the city itself. Good experience all round. Thankyou!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schnauzermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your recent stay at the BW Abbots Barton.

We are very pleased to know you all enjoyed your stay and it was our pleasure. Both Jenny and Pietro send their regards and we do hope to see you again, if you should visit Canterbury in the future.

Best regards

Chistine Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

indifferent and unhelpful staff at check-in and the bar, musty bedroom which was not cured by the ac, ok breakfast; yes it is within walking distance of the cathedral but I would look for better options

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roadtrip58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you for your interesting comment about the hotel.

My staff are very welcoming, I am a little surprised that you felt this did not live up to your expectations.

Most of the reviews of the hotel, compliment us on our excellent customer service.

Musty bedrooms.....? If you mean hot and stuffy due to current temperatures, then I can understand and air conditioning is helpful, but open windows with a breeze is always the best option. The problem is, there was has not been the nice summer breeze we usually experience in August , but hot and humid as per our British climate.

Thank you once again.

Regards

Christine Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed at Abbots Barton for two nights for wifes birthday so that we could visit Canterbury Cathedral, Howletts and Port Lyme wildlife parks. Booked over the internet no problem. Hotel a good 3 star room was clean, free tea and coffee making facilities, bath and shower. On both Friday and Saturday two weddings were held not really a problem but on both days hotel was overflowing and car park space at a premium. Website states 70 spaces must be using the multi storey in town as maximum 50 at hotel and that is using the waste ground at the back. All the smokers were regulary out at the front of the hotel and we had a room that looked out over them, we had to close our windows but the room had A/C so kept just right. Restaurant is a bit gloomy as no outside windows, I was looking forward to eating at the hotel on the first night but we went into town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Many thanks for your review. I am pleased to know that your experience at the hotel met all your requirments with location, quality and facilities offered.

It is high season for weddings, weekend breaks etc, therefore our car parks, large though they are do fill up quickly. While we offer car parking space we do not guarantee it.

We are looking to change the area for smokers, as not very pleasant smoke coming back through the front door of the hotel, however, always a difficult one to police.

It is a shame you did not sample our modern British farye, with ethical produce sourced from local suppliers and farms, you missed a real food experience. The Fountain restaurant is not at all gloomy in the evening, when it opens the doors at 7pm, it is a lovely welcoming atmosphere with candelit tables and excellent customer service.

Perhaps next time you will give us a try.

Best regards

Christine Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I don't normally use chain hotels but I was asked to book this one for a small group - and I'm glad I did. We booked for 3 nights and took a chance on the rooms. Needn't have worried; the rooms were a good size with loads of storage space (the trouser press even had its own cupboard in our room). Thick curtains to keep out early sunlight and, as our visit coincided with a heat wave, a very efficient air conditioning unit. The room style seemed a little dated but everything worked and it was very clean - no yellowing grout in the bathroom here!
Large size flat screen TV (Freeview) and free wifi. The only downside was the pillows which had lost their bounce.
We all ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was excellent, but a little pricey which meant we ate elsewhere for the rest of our visit. Good help-yourself breakfast with plenty of choices but £12.95pp seems a bit steep to me.
The staff, without exception, were friendly and helpful.
The hotel's location means you can stroll into the centre of Canterbury within 10-15 minutes. Great range of shops, restaurants, bars, entertainment, places to visit. We loved it. Vibrant city that has something for all ages.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel and would certainly use it again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PyeRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you for your comments with regard to your recent stay in Canterbury.

So pleased your room was to your satisfaction, we take great pride in offering all our guests a warm and friendly welcome. We boast a modern British Fayre with ethical produce sourced from local suppliers and farms where possible, this does reflect in the price which is excellent value for a 3 course meal @ £26.50.
Breakfast too is an array of appetising produce with an assortment of continental and a varied menu for the tradtional English cooked breakfast.

My team and I thank you once again and if you return to our vibrant city of Canterbury, we would be very happy to offer you our unique hospitality.

Best regards

Christine Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We held our wedding reception here a few weeks ago. The hotel was fab all the way through. When we arrived on the day, all our guests staying (15 rooms) checked in easily and liked their rooms! We loved ours... 103 I think, in the turret with jacuzzi bath. Staff throughout the wedding reception/evening/next morning were good and thanks also to the duty manager who searched the hotel for a missing article afew days later! The hotel did there best for us all the way through!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you, Laura and Scott for writing a review about your special day.

We are so very pleased you enjoyed your reception and delighted to hear that the honeymoon suite was to your liking.

My staff and I wish you all the best in your married life and good luck for your future together.

Best regards

Chrsitine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,908 reviews
0.9 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,151 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
725 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel

Property: Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Address: 36 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbots Barton Hotel is situated in a quiet area of Canterbury and just a 10 minute walk to the City Centre. We have parking which is available free of charge for Hotel Residents. (Generally there is not an issue with parking but on exceptional busy days free street parking maybe necessary) The hotel offers traditional facilities with Bar, Restaurant, Bar Food and Room Service all available. Free HSIA via 'The Cloud' network is provided. Our staff will endeavour to entertain any special requests wherever possible. The Hotel is also pet friendly (for a small charge per day) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Canterbury
Canterbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing